Bowlers, Maxwell help Australia to series sweep


Australia’s bowlers set up a four-wicket victory over Sri Lanka to sweep the two-match Twenty20 International series at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Friday (September 9) and, in the process, spoilt Tillakaratne Dilshan’s farewell party. Australia, which won the first exchange by 85 runs in Pallekele after scoring 263 for 3, rode on a 29-ball 66 from Glenn Maxwell, the hero of the first T20I, to chase down the 129-run target with 13 balls to spare even though there was a major wobble once Maxwell fell. Earlier, James Faulkner (3-19) and Adam Zampa (3-16) were the main wicket-takers as Sri Lanka was restricted to 128 for 9 despite Dhananjaya de Silva’s battling half-century after the home side had opted… Read More →

Senanayake fined for breaching ICC Code of Conduct

(FILES) In this photograph taken on September 6, 2016, Australia's captain David Warner (L) is congratulated by Sri Lanka's Sachithra Senanayake after Australia's victory in the first T20 international cricket match between Sri Lanka and Australia at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele.
Sri Lanka’s off-spinner Sachithra Senanayake was fined 30 per cent of his match fee for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct after he made remarks on taking Australia's David Warner's wicket which could have provoked a reaction form Warner, during the opening T20 match played at Pallekelle. / AFP PHOTO / LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE - NO ARCHIVES

Sri Lanka’s off-spinner Sachithra Senanayake has been fined 30 per cent of his match fee for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct during the opening Twenty20 International (T20I) against Australia in Pallekele on Tuesday. Senanayake was found to have breached Article 2.1.7 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to “using language, actions or gestures which disparage or which could provoke an aggressive reaction from a batsman upon his dismissal during an international match”. The incident happened in the fifth over of Australia’s innings when Senanayake, after dismissing David Warner, made remarks which could have provoked a reaction from the Australia captain. After the match, Senanayake admitted the offence and accepted the sanction… Read More →

Maxwell magic propels Australia to big win


Glenn Maxwell pulverised Sri Lanka on his way to a maiden Twenty20 International century as Australia pulled off a commanding 85-run win in Pallekele on Tuesday (September 6). Put in to bat by Dinesh Chandimal, Australia amassed a world record 263 for 3, and then restricted Sri Lanka to 178 for 9 to take a 1-0 lead in the two-match series. Maxwell, opening the batting for Australia in a T20I for the first time, destroyed the Sri Lankan bowling with an unbeaten 145 off 65 balls, studded with 14 fours and nine sixes. His blitz powered Australia past Sri Lanka’s nine-year record of 260 for 6 against Kenya in 2007. Skipper David Warner gave Australia a fiery start with 28… Read More →

We salute all the spectators who came in thousands to support our One Team


“It is no secret that sport is a universal language that transcends all boundaries, and unifies all, and Sri Lanka especially over the years has proven this adage consistently. In a nation where cultural and religious diversity abounds, Cricket, is the one single unifier, and this has been proven time and time again as Sri Lanka has come together as 1Team for 1Nation in the face of numerous national disasters. Sri Lanka’s love for cricket, is not limited to following a winning team only. Sri Lanka’s love for cricket is for its team, and for its brand of cricket. This passion for Sri Lanka Cricket has seen SELL out crowds at all venues, including the 5th and final ODI, despite… Read More →

1st T20I in Pallekele Sold Out

_D3S8019x (1)

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to inform the general public that tickets for tomorrow’s Sri Lanka vs Australia 1st T20 game in Pallekele, is SOLD OUT. No tickets will be available at the gate on the day of the match. ONLY Ticket holders will be allowed into the stadium. General Public who do not have a valid ticket for the match, are requested not to crowd the gates as there will be no tickets for sale.

Sri Lanka squad for the T20 Series against Australia

The National Selectors of Sri Lanka Cricket has chosen the below named 14 players for the T20 series against Australia. The T20 matches will be played on the 6th of September in Kandy and 9th of September in Colombo. The squad is : 1. Kusal Janith Perera 2. T.M. Dilshan 3. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain 4. Dhananjaya De Silva 5. Chamara Kapugedara 6. Milinda Siriwardana 7. Kusal Mendis 8. Seekkuge Prasanna 9. Sachithra Senanayaka 10. Suranga Lakmal 11. Thisara Perera 12. Sachith Pathirana 13. Kasun Rajitha 14. Dasun Shanaka

Warner ton studs commanding victory


David Warner became the first Australian batsman to score a One-Day International in Sri Lanka to lead his side to a comfortable five-wicket win in the fifth and final ODI in Pallekele on Sunday (September 4). Standing in for Steve Smith, Warner made a typically robust 106 off 126 deliveries as Australia clinched the series 4-1, having already taken an unassailable 3-1 lead after the previous game in Dambulla on Wednesday. Opting to bat once Dinesh Chandimal, captaining instead of Angelo Mathews who was ruled out through injury, won the toss, Sri Lanka was bowled out for just 195 in the 41st over. Mitchell Starc, the left-arm paceman, did the bulk of the damage yet again with 3 for 40…. Read More →

Dasun Shanaka, Dickwella & Tharanga joins the squad for the 5th ODI

Sri Lankan cricketer Dasun Shanaka delivers a ball during a practice session at the  R. Premadasa Cricket Stadium in Colombo on July 15, 2016.
Australia and Sri Lanka play three Test, five One-Day Internationals and Two T20 series matches between July 26 and September 9, with the first Test played from July 26 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele. / AFP PHOTO / ISHARA S.KODIKARA

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to inform that Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella & Upul Tharanga have been drafted into the squad for the 5th ODI. The rest of the squad remains the same as given below: 1. Kusal Janith Perera 2. Kusal Mendis 3. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain 4. Danajaya De Silva 5. Angelo Perera 6. Avishka Fernando 7. Danushka Gunathilaka 8. Suranga Lakmal 9. DilruwanPerera 10.Seekuge Prasanna 11.Amila Aponso 12. Lahiru Kumara 13. Sachith Pathirana 14. Upul Tharanga 15. Niroshan Dickwella 16.Dasun Shanaka

Crowd Protest in Dambulla


In the consequence of the unfortunate crowd protest that took place in Dambulla during the 04th ODI, SLC wishes to state that SLC together with the Sri Lanka Police applied stringent security measures in place to safeguard the cricket fans who had purchased tickets for the matches. We continuously announced through the media that there will be no tickets sold on the day of the match and fans were thus requested to purchase their tickets prior to the day of the match in a bid to prevent recurrence. SLC would like to stress the fact that SLC will be obliged to secure the seats for the ticket holders who have purchased tickets prior to the match and it considers as… Read More →