Sri Lanka name 16 man squad for ODI series against Bangladesh


The following 16 player squad was selected for 1st two ODI games for the Bangladesh Tour of Sri Lanka. Angelo Mathews – Capt Dinesh chandimal- V Capt T M Dilshan – subject to fitness Kusal Janith Kumar Sangakkara Lahiru Thirimanne Jeevan Mendis Thisara Perera Nuwan Kulasekara Lasith Malinga Sachithra Senanayaka Upul Tharanga Kithruwn Vithanage Angelo Perera Shaminda Eranga Sachith Pathirana Rangana Herath was not considered for selections since he required rest. T M Dishan will be considered subject to fitness. Mahela Jayawardana was not considered due to injury. The above has been approved by the Hon.Minister.

Bangladesh earn first draw against Sri Lanka


Bangladesh drew the high-scoring first test against Sri Lanka at the Galle International Stadium on Tuesday to snap their 12-test losing streak against the islanders. Chasing an improbable 268-run victory target with just one session and 37 overs left, Bangladesh were 70 for one wicket in 22 overs when the teams agreed to a draw after five days of batting dominance on a placid track. Only 19 wickets fell in the test while eight centuries were scored, equalling the record set in the 2005 South Africa v West Indies test at Antigua. The 1613 runs scored by both teams also made it the highest match-aggregate in a test in Sri Lanka. Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim, who scored his country’s maiden… Read More →

Sri Lanka Test Squad for the 1st Test against Bangladesh

Kumar Sangakkara and TM Dilshan

At a Selection Committee meeting held at SLC,at 3.00 pm today ,the following Players were selected by the National Selectors for the 01st Test of the Bangladesh Tour scheduled to be held at the Galle International Cricket Stadium from the 8th to the 12th of March 2013. Anjelo Mathews (Capt) Dinesh Chandimal (V.Capt & Wk) T.M Dilshan Dimuth Karunaratne Kumar Sangakkara Lahiru Thirimanna Shaminda Eranga Kusal Janith Jeewan Mendis Kithruwan Vithanage Ajantha Mendis Nuwan Kulasekara Chanaka Welagedara Suranga Lakmal Rangana Herath P.H.T Kaushal   The following Cricketers who were in the original squad of 20 players have since been injured and have not been considered for the 1st Test Match.   Dushmantha Chameera Nuwan Pradeep   The selected players have all duly… Read More →

3 Day Game against Bangladesh – Emerging XI Squad


At a selection meeting held the following players were selected by the National Selectors to represent the emerging XI for the 3 day game against Bangladesh. Angelo Perera  (Capt) Kithruwan Withanage (V Capt) Ashen Silva Shehan Jayasuriya Niroshan Dickwella (Wk) Udara Jayasundara Ashan Priyanjana Ishan Jayratne Dushmantha Sameera Kasun Madushanka Vishwa Fernando Lahiru Gamage Akila Dhananjaya Dulanjana Mendis Chathuranga De Silva It was also decided to include Kumar Sangakkara to the 3 day squad due to lack of cricket since injury and to include Ramith Rambuwella in place of injured Akila Dhananjaya.    

Bangladesh tour of Sri Lanka – Itinerary

Match Date & Time Venue 3 Day Practice Match Sun 03 Mar – Tue 05, 04:00 GMT, 09:30 local Emerging Team vs Bangladesh Uyanwatta Stadium, Matara 1st Test Fri 08 Mar – Tue 12, 04:00 GMT, 09:30 local Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Galle International Stadium, Galle 2nd Test Sat 16 Mar – Wed 20, 04:00 GMT, 09:30 local Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo 1st ODI Sat 23 Mar- 09:00 GMT, 14:30 local Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota 2nd ODI Mon 25 Mar -09:00 GMT, 14:30 local Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota 3rd ODI Thu 28 Mar -09:00 GMT, 14:30 local Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy Only T20 Sun 31… Read More →