Buoyed new look Sri Lanka on 1-month long tour of South Africa

Angelo Mathews

Sri Lanka’s predictably gruelling one and a half month long  December 26, 2016 to February 10, 2017 Test and ODI series tour does hold much interest. While the odds are heavily tacked in favour of South Africa for the home advantage the hosts will enjoy, what sparks the interest around the 3-match Test series and 5-match ODI series is the fact that Sri Lanka has gone a notch up the ladder in equalling South Africa in terms of Test ratings. This status raising credentials that must indeed buoy Angelo Mathews and his charges came in the wake of Sri Lanka’s recent sweeping away Test and ODI triumphs against Zimbabwe. Consequently, both teams are sitting at 96 marks in the ratings… Read More →

Sri Lanka Test Squad for the South Africa tour 2016/17


Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce that subject to the ratification of the Hon. Minister of Sport the following Test team has been selected by the National Selection Committee for the Sri Lanka tour of South Africa 2016/2017. The team will depart Colombo on 10th December 2016 on flight QR 655 after the official photograph at 5.40 pm at SLC. 1. Angelo Mathews – Captain 2. Dinesh Chandimal – Vice Captain 3. Dimuth Karunarathna 4. Kaushal Silva 5. Kusal Janith Perera 6. Dhananjaya de Silva 7. Kusal Mendis 8. Upul Tharanga 9. Dushmantha Chameera 10. Suranga Lakmal 11. Lahiru Kumara 12. Nuwan Pradeep 13. Vikum Sanjaya Bandara 14. Rangana Herath 15. Dilruwan Perera. Support Staff Ranjith Fernando – Manager… Read More →

බොක්සිං දිනයේ සිට ශ‍්‍රී ලාංකිකයන් දකුණු අප‍්‍රිකා තරඟ බිමේ


බොක්සිං දිනයේ (දෙසැම්බර් 26* සිට ශ‍්‍රී ලංකා ක‍්‍රිකට් ක‍්‍රිඩකයින් දකුණු අප‍්‍රිකාවේදී ජාත්‍යන්තර තරග එකොළහකට සහභාගී වීමට නියමිතය. පස් දින ටෙස්ට් ක‍්‍රිකට් තරඟ තුනක් ඕවර් 50 හේ එක්දින සීමිත ඕවර තරඟ පහක් ටී-20 තරග තුනක් මේ තරගාවලියට අයත්ය. දකුණු අප‍්‍රිකාවේ වේගවත් තණතිලි වලදී ලොව වේගවත්ම පන්දුයවන්නන්ට ශ‍්‍රී ලංකා පිතිකරුවනට මුහුණ දීමට සිදුවන මේ සංචාරය ශ‍්‍රී ලංකා ක‍්‍රීඩකයනට තීරණාත්මක වේ. පසුගිය මාස තුන තුළදී ශ‍්‍රී ලංකා ක‍්‍රීඩකයන් එංගලන්තය, ඕස්ටේ‍්‍රලියාව හා සිම්බාබ්වේ කණ්ඩායම් සමග ටෙස්ට් එක්දින හා ටී20 තරග රැුසකටම සහභාගී වී ජාත්‍යන්තර තරඟ අත්දැකීම් සමුහයක් ලබා සිටියත් දකුණු අප‍්‍රිකාවේදී ඔවුනට මුහුණ දීම බලවත් වු අභියෝගයකි. ස්ටීව් ස්මිත්ගේ නායකත්වයෙන් යුත් ප‍්‍රබල ඔස්ටේ‍්‍රලියා කණ්ඩායම පසුගිය මාස එකහමාරක කාලයක් තුළදී දකුණු අප‍්‍රිකාවේදී තරඟ වැදුණු අතර ඕස්ටේ‍්‍රලියානුවන්ට එම තරඟ වලදී දකුණු අප‍්‍රිකානුවන්ට සැසදිය හැකි නොවීය. එහිදී… Read More →

SLC President and Wasim Akram recall cricket’s poignant past at Dialog Cricket Awards


The game of cricket is all about performance and the stage and awards of trophy glitter the culminating reward for sweat, blood and tears for players who risk limb and life. It is the colorfully decorative ceremonial awards stage that brings together a cast who have performed for country and self. It is the fusion of performance in a calendar year and what a fusion it was of Sri Lanka Cricket’s (SLC) 2016 Dialog Cricket Awards night in what as the presenter put it was a fusion of cricket and music with the SLC President Thilanga Sumathipala leading the way. There he was flanked by the legendary former Pakistan fast bowler Wasim Akram gangling tall as ever on stage as… Read More →

ඩයලොග් ක‍්‍රිකට් සම්මාන උළෙල – අක්රම්ගේ ප‍්‍රකාශය වැදගත්

Wasim Akram

තරඟයකදී කලබලයට පත් නොවීම තැන්පත්කම අධිෂ්ඨානය හා අවසාන පන්දුව තෙක් සටන් කිරීම ශ‍්‍රී ලංකා ක‍්‍රිකට් ක‍්‍රීඩාවේ සාර්ථකත්වයට ප‍්‍රධාන හේතූන් ලෙස තමා දකින්නේ යැයි ඩයලොග් ක‍්‍රිකට් සම්මාන උළෙලට ප‍්‍රධාන විශේෂ ආරාධිත අමුත්තා ලෙස සහභාගි වු පාකිස්තානයේ හිටපු ක‍්‍රිකට් ක‍්‍රීඩක වසීම් අක්රම් ප‍්‍රකාශ කරයි. 1986 වසරේ තමා ශ‍්‍රී ලංකාවට පැමිණි ප‍්‍රථම අවස්ථාවේ සිට මේ දක්වාම ශ‍්‍රී ලංකා වාසීනට මෙන්ම දර්ශණීය මේ භූමියටත් තමා දැඩිලෙස ඇළුම් කරන බව කී වසිම් අක්රම් මෙරට ජනතාව තමාට ඇළුම් කරන බව දන්නා අතරම මෙහි ක‍්‍රිකට් සංවර්ධනයට දිය හැකි උපරිම සේවය ලබාදීමට අපේක්‍ෂා කරන බවද එහිදී කීවේය. ශ‍්‍රී ලංකා ක‍්‍රිකට් ආයතනයේ මෙහෙයවීමෙන් බත්තරමුල්ල වෝටර්ස් එජ්හි පැවති මෙම ක‍්‍රිකට් සම්මාන උළෙලේදී 2015 වසරේ විශිෂ්ඨ දස්කම්පෑ ක‍්‍රීඩක ක‍්‍රීඩිකාවනට සම්මාන පිරි නැමිණි. සම්මාන උළෙලට ප‍්‍රධාන අමුත්තා ලෙස සහභාගි වූ ක‍්‍රීඩා අමාත්‍ය… Read More →

Sri Lanka Cricket Awards 2016


Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to unreservedly regret the inconvenience caused to invitees at the Dialog Cricket Awards 2016 held at the Water’s Edge Grand Ballroom on 30th November 2016 caused by the delay in commencement of the event. Due to the unanticipated traffic situation caused by a massive protest at the Parliament roundabout and roads leading thereto during the midafternoon, several VIP guests as well as award recipients informed Sri Lanka Cricket that they would not be able to reach the venue in time. Accordingly a decision was made to delay the commencement of the ceremony by 30 minutes in order to allow the guests, and especially award recipients to arrive at the venue. Sri Lanka Cricket also wishes to… Read More →

Upul Tharanga – A new awakening from cold storage to trophy Glitter

Sri Lanka captain Upul Tharanga celebrates his team's good bowling innings during the opening match of an ODI series Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe in Harare, on November 14 2016.  / AFP PHOTO / Jekesai Njikizana

From cold storage to strolling the park as the Sri Lanka cricket captain holding aloft the championship trophy! It is an apt summing up of 31-year old Upul Tharanga’s international career. Indeed, the left hander, who walked in to the Sri Lanka ODI team on August 2, 2005 against the West Indies in a home series as an opening batsman partnering Marvan Atapattu, soon insulated himself as an aggressive stroke maker in the role. His epoch making double ton partnership pairing with Sanath Jayasuriya versus England in England in a Test match remains memorable to this day. But Upul Tharanga sadly lost his way following a slight lean patch subsequently. Where many batsmen in that situation had benefitted from the… Read More →

Dialog Cricket Awards 2016 – Award Winners


Cricketer of the Year 2015 –  Angelo Mathews Dialog People’s Player of the Year – T.M Dilshan Future Cricketer of the Year – Kusal Mendis Test Batsman of the Year 2015 – Dinesh Chandimal Test Bowler of the Year 2015 – Rangana Herath Test All Rounder of the Year 2015 – Angelo Mathews ODI Batsman of the Year 2015 – Kumar Sangakkara ODI Bowler of the Year 2015 – Lasith Malinga ODI All Rounder of the Year 2015 – Angelo Mathews T20I Batsman of the Year 2015 – T.M.Dilshan T20I Bowler of the Year 2015 – Lasith Malinga ODI Batsman of the Year 2015 (Womens) – Chamari Atapattu ODI Bowler of the Year 2015 (Womens) – Inoka Ranaweera ODI All rounder of… Read More →