Unbeaten Navy clinch Womens division one title

Unbeaten Navy clinch Womens L_O title_77f57297-e804-45a6-951d-196529233970

Navy Women, tournament’s only unbeaten team, deservedly won the title of Women’s D1 Limited-over tournament 2015 this afternoon when they comprehensively beat Air Force by six wickets in the finals played at Colts ground proving their supremacy in Women’s cricket. In a final that could not match the excitement after Navy bowlers led by Udeshika Prabodini bowled out Air Force, who took the first lease on winning the toss, for a paltry 86 making this final a completely one-sided affair. Sanduni Abeywickrama and Sripali Weerakkody both started well for the Airwomen, but after they got out when both were on 23, the rest of the batting had no answer to a bowling attack that took the full control of the… Read More →

Dhawan, Kohli tons put India in driver’s seat


Test match batting is as much about situational awareness and adaptability as it is about scoring runs. The art of scoring runs is as much about steady accumulation as about sparkling strokeplay. Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli demonstrated the art of innings-building at the Galle International Cricket Stadium on a warm Thursday (August 13), driving Sri Lanka ragged with their steadfast approach. India began day two of the first Test with its noses in front, 128 for 2 in response to Sri Lanka’s 183. By the time stumps were drawn after an attritional six and a bit hours, it had moved emphatically into the driver’s seat, riding on the back of a gritty hundred by Dhawan and a masterful compilation… Read More →

Ashwin puts India in command


Play didn’t begin until six minutes past the scheduled starting time at the Galle International Cricket Stadium on Wednesday (August 12). Strong winds that savagely ruffled the white cloth serving as the sightscreen forced Sri Lanka openers Dimuth Karunaratne and Kaushal Silva, as well as Virat Kohli and his men to wait for the ground staff to do their thing after Angelo Mathews won the toss and predictably chose to bat. That wasn’t quite the only flutter on day one of the first Test. On a lovely day for cricket with the rain staying away, R Ashwin’s 6 for 46 helped India bowl Sri Lanka out for 183, before the home side reclaimed some ground by rapidly evicting KL Rahul… Read More →

Narammala SC win Donovan Andree DII title

Narammala SC win Donovan Andree D11 title_fbf45b7d-af7c-4f31-8edc-4dacf7107dae

Narammala SC, after they completed a first innings win over Gesto SC, Ambalangoda in the finals of Donovan Andree D11 Tournament concluded this afternoon in a draw at Surrey Ground, Maggona, were declared the 2015-Champions. After Gesto won the toss and put Narammala in, Pathum Gunathilaka who made a hundred and Dilhara Lawrance 46 helped Narammala make 300 in their first innings. Gesto chasing 301 to earn a first innings win were reduced to 164 all out by Narammala bowlers led by Udara Jayamal who claimed three wickets for 35 runs. Damil Nilanka (46), Supun Asela (27) and Saliya Tennakoon (31) all got starts, but their failure to convert them to bigger totals and with little contribution from rest of… Read More →

Air Force & Navy in finals of Womens D1 Tourney

Air Force & Navy in finals of Womens D1 Tourney_007b3bae-769a-4387-94db-53a5a4b0ca69

Navy maintaining their winning streak cruised to the finals of Womens D1 Limited-over Tournament this afternoon when they defeated Colts in one of the semi finals whilst Air Force became the winners of the other semi finals over Army to clinch the other spot in the finals. Air Force beat Army by 5 wickets at Moors Ground Chamari Atapattu’ 49 for Air Force with the bat overshadowed the four wickets captured by Niluka Karunarathne for Army as Air Force chasing the easy target of 121 set by Army after they won the toss and took the first lease, reached the target with 27 overs to spare to win the match by 5 wickets. Chief scores  Army SC WMN  120 (49.3) Imalka Mendis 22, Sherina Ravikumar 15  Air… Read More →

Sri Lanka eyes series win to overtake India in Test rankings

Sanga Test

Sri Lanka and India will face off in the first of a three-Test series at Galle on Wednesday with one eye on the ICC Test Team Rankings as both teams aim to improve their respective positions. Fifth-ranked India knows that a 3-0 victory can propel it up the rankings table, and depending on the final outcome in the ongoing Ashes series, it could even climb to as high as third place, provided Australia defeats England at The Oval. A 2-1 victory would see India gain three points. If seventh-placed Sri Lanka whitewashes India 3-0 then it will gain eight rankings points and could theoretically climb to fifth and India would drop to 89 points, irrespective of the outcome in the final Ashes Test. A 2-1… Read More →

Sri Lanka Squad for Test Series against India – 2015


Media Release At a meeting of the Selection Committee held on the 7th of August 2015, the following squad of 16 was selected for the above series. Angelo Mathews (Captain) Lahiru Thirimanna (Vice Captain) Kaushal Silva Dimuth Karunaratne Kumar Sangakkara Dinesh Chandimal Upul Tharanga Jehan Mubarak Kusal Janith Perera Rangana Herath Dilruwan Perera P H T Kaushal Nuwan Pradeep Dammika Prasad Vishwa Fernando Dushmantha Chameera (subject to fitness) Hon. Navin Dissanayake Minister of Tourism and Sports has approved the above.

Indian team arrive for three-Test series


The Indian national cricket team arrived in Sri Lanka this evening to play a three Test series, starting later this month. India will play three Test series matches in Sri Lanka between August 12 and September 1. The first Test between Indian and Sri Lanka will be played on August 12 at the Galle International Cricket Stadium in Galle.