SLC U-19 Provincial Tourney concept prioritising cream of schoolboy talent

FullSizeRender (12)-horz

Prioritizing Under-19 cricketers is one of Sri Lanka Cricket’s (SLC) top drawer initiatives in recognizing school cricket as the stepping stone cradle to driving national cricket at large. Accordingly, the accent is on the annual Under-19 Provincial Limited Overs Tournament at its grassroots level aimed at creating a pathway to fine-combing exceptional schoolboy latent talent. The bottom-line of this cricket take drawing in to one basket the cream of culminating teenage talent is aimed at enabling exceptional school cricketers to graduate up the ladder to the next levels; a comprehensive concept to sustaining the feed to mainstream national cricket. SLC’s immediate priority by this programme would be to identifying and developing high performance players to represent Sri Lanka at the… Read More →

Jayasuriya and Fernando take Colombo to final in style A

Shehan Jayasuriya

As the heat mounted in the countdown to finding the finalists in the SLC Super Provincial Tournament, Colombo was first to the post upstaging Kandy by 4 wickets on day 6 on Wednesday at the R. Premadasa Stadium. It was a truly remarkable all-round performance by Colombo anchored by the bowlers that set up Colombo’s win in consummate ease in what turned out to be an anti climax in what had carried a pre-match hype of a tight match. That was given the strong clout Kandy had enjoyed throughout the tournament having won all but one of their matches, and of course the fact that Colombo had limped in to the reckoning from a poor start to the tournament. But… Read More →

කොළඹ අවසාන තරගයට තේරේ


අන්තර් පළාත් ක්‍රිකට් තරගාවලියේ අවසාන මහා තරගයට මෙතෙක් පෙරමුණේ සිටි මහනුවර පරදා කොළඹ කණ්ඩායම සුදුසුකම් ලැබීය.  කණ්ඩායම් දෙකම අඩු ලකුණු රැස්කළ මේ තරගයේ දී කොළඹ කණ්ඩායම ජය ලැබුවේ කඩුලු 4 කිනි. ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රිකට් ආයතනයේ මෙහෙයවීමෙන් මාලිගාවත්ත ආර්. ප්‍රේමදාස ක්‍රීඩාංගණයේ දිවා/ රාත්‍රී  තරගයක් ලෙසින් පැවැති මේ තරගයේ දී මුලින් පන්දුවට පහරදුන් මහනුවර ඕවර 31 ක දී සියලු ක්‍රීඩකයන් දැවී ලබා ගත්තේ ලකුණු 136කි.  කොළඹ කණ්ඩායම ඕවර 25.5ක දී කඩුලු 6ක ට ලකුණු 139ක් ලබමින් මේ ජයග්‍රහණ ලැබීය.  කණ්ඩායම් දෙකම ඕවර 56.5ක දී ලැබුවේ ලකුණු 275ක් පමණෙකි. මහනුවර කණ්ඩායම පන්දුවට පහරදෙන අවස්ථාවේ ලකුණු 96ක ට කඩුලු 9ක් දැවී විදුලි ආලෝකය ඒමටත් පෙර තරගය නිමවන ලකුණු පහළ වූවත් මහනුවර අවසාන කඩුල්ලට අමිල අපොන්සු සහ නුවන් ප්‍රදීප් පන්දු 42ක දී ලකුණු 40ක් ලබමින්… Read More →

SLC Super Provincial Tournament – Day 6 Results


All-rounder Shehan Jayasuriya bagged 3 wickets and top scored with 30 runs helping Colombo beat Kandy by 4 wickets in a low scoring game. Kandy 136 all out in 31 overs. A Aponso 22*, M Udawatta 22: V Fernando 4/61, Shehan Jayasuriya 3/14, W Hasaranga 2/19 v Colombo 139/6 (25.5 ovs) S Jayasuriya 30*, W Hasaranga 29, K Vithanage 26, S Senanayake 22* : A Aponso 2/34, S Pathirana 2/35 Result – Colombo won by 4 wickets

Ton up Banuka Rajapakse ignites old form: Dambulla upset Colombo; Galle down Kandy


SLC Super Provincial Tournament – Day 5 Results Dambulla’s Banuka Rajapakse, the former Royal College, SSC, and Chilaw Marians fiery batsman, did fire straight from the hip in a scorching three figure innings of 117 in mounting an upset 44-run win over Colombo on Monday, the fifth day’s proceedings of the Super Provincial Tournament. Rajapakse was in full cry reviving memories of his hey day Royal College batsman ship that made him quite a batting sensation at that level. It was Man of the Match rewarding stuff for the 25-year old Rajapakse. He set up the base for a huge Dambulla total of 316 for 8 wickets in 50 overs having figured in a productive 155- run third wicket alliance… Read More →

SLC Super Provincial Tournament – Day 5 Results


Banuka Rajapakse scored an attacking 117 and was involved in a 155 run partnership with Ashan Priyanjan for the 3rd wicket to help Dambulla beat Colombo by 44 runs. Dambulla 316/8 (50 overs) – B Rajapaksa 117, A Priyanjan 70, M Siriwardana 68: S Jayasuriya 4/29, T Perera 2/31, S Senanayake 2/53 vs Colombo 272 all out (47.5 overs) – D Munaweera 85, D Chandimal 70: A Priyanjan 4/41, AM Fernando 4/44. RESULT – DAMBULLA WON BY 44 RUNS  MAN OF THE MATCH – BANUKA RAJAPAKSE ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Malinda Pushpakumara and Sammu Ashan shared 5 wickets between them after Dimuth and Sadeera struck half centuries to earn Galle a much needed 70 run win. Galle 313/9 (50 Overs) – D Karunaratne… Read More →

කපුගෙදර කළකට පසු ඕවර 50 සූරයන්ගේ තරගාවලියට

Angelo Mathews

එංගලන්තයේ දී ජුනි මස 1- 18 දක්වා පැවැත්වෙන සූරයන්ගේ කුසලාන (චැම්පියන් කුසලාන) තරගාවලියට සහභාගි වන ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රිකට් කණ්ඩායමට කළකට පසුව චාමර කපුගෙදර නැවත කැඳවා තිබේ.  ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රිකට් ආයතනයේ මෙහෙයවීමෙන් මේ දිනවල පැවැත්වෙන අන්තර් පළාත් ක්‍රිකට් තරගාවලියේ මහනුවර කණ්ඩායමට නායකත්වය දෙන චාමර කපුගෙදර ශතක දෙකක් සමග සෑම තරගයක දී ම ලකුණු අතර සිටීමට සමත් වූ පිතිකරුවෙකි.   කළක් ශ්‍රී ලංකා කණ්ඩායමේ නිත්‍ය ක්‍රීඩකයෙකු වූ කපුගෙදරට මෑතක සිට තෝරාගනු ලැබුවේ 20 -20 තරග සඳහා පමණෙකි.  සිමිත ඕවර 50 අන්තර් පළාත් තරගාවලියේ දී කපුගෙදර පෑ විශේෂ දස්කම් මත ඔහුට එංගලන්තයේ හා වේල්ස් හි පැවැත්වෙන සීමිත 50 සුරයන්ගේ කුසලාන තරගාවලියේ දී ශ්‍රී ලංකාව නියෝජනය  කිරීමට දැන් අවස්ථාව උදා වී තිබේ. අන්තර් පළාත් තරගාවලියේ දී  ලකුණු අතර සිටී උපුල් තරංග, දිනේෂ් චන්දිමාල්, කුසල් ජනිත්… Read More →

Sri Lanka Announces Champions Trophy 2017 squad


Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce the following team for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 to be held in England & wales from the 1 – 18th of June 2017. The Team is led by National Captain Angelo Mathews and will be comprised of the following players: 1. Angelo Mathews – Captain, 2. Upul Tharanga – Vice Captain, 3. Niroshan Dickwella, 4. Kusal Janith Perera, 5. Kusal Mendis, 6. Chamara Kapugedera, 7. Asela Gunaratne, 8. Dinesh Chandimal, 9. Lasith Malinga, 10. Suranga Lakmal, 11. Nuwan Pradeep, 12. Nuwan Kulasekera, 13. Thisara Perera, 14. Lakshan Sandakan, 15. Seekkuge Prasanna Standby on Tour: 16. Dilruwan Perera 17. Dhanushka Gunathilaka The following five (5) players have been selected as standby who will… Read More →

Kapugedera, Malinga in squad for Champions Trophy


2017 a fairytale comeback for Kapugedera? The year 2017 could well go down as the comeback year in international cricket for Chamara Kapugedera. At age 30 the right hander, who had conspicuously evaporated off the international cricketing radar appearing and disappearing in fits and starts following an erosion of early promise, has indeed ignited new expectations in the breasts of home cricket fans. What has certainly set off the buzz is the naming of the Kandy born Kapugedera in a 15-man squad for the June 1 to 18 Champions Trophy in England and Wales. Kapugedera’s inclusion has been on suddenly looming from the pedestrian 20 to 30 odd scores in the sparse ODI and T20 outings to mounting a sound… Read More →

SLC set to declare ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Squad


Colombo 23rd April 2017; The National Selections Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket headed by Sanath Jayasuriya – Chairman, met at the SLC Headquarters this afternoon to select the squad for the forthcoming ICC Champions Trophy 2017. National Captain Angelo Matthews who was in India as a member of the Delhi Daredevils for the currently ongoing IPL returned to the country early this morning in order to take an active role in the selections of the team that will be led by him. The Selectors adopted a strategic approach and obtained recommendations from the national specialist coaches prior to making their evaluations based on form, fitness, performance and biometric evaluations of the proposed players. The squad will depart for Kandy on the… Read More →