National cricketers refute Pramodya’s baseless allegations; request SLC for inquiry


22nd September 2017 The national cricketers including 40 contracted players have called for an immediate inquiry in to certain ‘shocking’ allegations made by former Sri Lanka cricketer and selector, Pramodya Wickremasinghe insinuating unnatural and mysterious match patterns. The cricketers, in a petition signed by all including both captains Dinesh Chandimal and Upul Tharanga to Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), have drawn attention in to what they say was shockingly disparaging and hurtful statements by Wickremasinghe to a private television station that tend to give the general public a suspicious impression about them. The players have drawn exception to Wickremasinghe’s ‘serious’ allegations highlighting nine issues that unnatural and mysterious match patterns take place. They have refuted the allegations as totally baseless and… Read More →

Blessings from SLC President, cricketers who receive Sports Festival torch

Torch photos 1

The country’s ongoing 41st National Sports Festival is the rage these days, and it took on the pomp and pageantry associated with this colorful annual event as the torch wended its way through the city metropolis to the Ministry of Sports. The spotlight of this traditional showpiece did attract the cricket loving fraternity as well who were lined up to shower their blessings on the grand spectacle. Some of the national cricketers were on hand with Sri Lanka Cricket’s (SLC) President, Thilanga Sumathipala showing the way. Here, they are pictured opposite the SLC headquarters receiving the torch bearers.

Sri Lanka Test Squad against Pakistan announced

Sri Lanka Test Team

Colombo, 20th September 2017 Sri Lanka has declared the following Test Squad ahead of their 2 Test series against Pakistan commencing on the 28th of September in Abu Dhabi, UAE next week. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain, Lahiru Thirimanna – Vice Captain, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Sadheera Samarawickrema, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishva Fernando, Lahiru Gamage. Standby: Dhananjaya De Silva, Jeffery Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Kumara, Dasun Shanaka.

Sri Lanka qualify for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019


ICC Media Release The 1996 champions join hosts England, Australia, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa to progress automatically for the ICC’s pinnacle 50-over event The Windies can still qualify for the World Cup by finishing in the top two of next year’s ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier Sri Lanka have qualified for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 after the Windies lost the first ODI against England at Old Trafford on Tuesday. With 30 September 2017 set as the cut-off date for automatic qualification for the ICC’s pinnacle 50-over tournament, the Windies (78 points) now cannot move ahead of Sri Lanka (86 points) on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings irrespective of how their remaining matches against England… Read More →

New Selections Panel announced


Colombo, 19th September 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket today (19) announced the newly appointed panel of Selectors as ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekera a short while ago. Graeme Labrooy – Chairman Gamini Wikramasinghe Jeryl Woutersz Sajith Fernando Asanka Gurusinha The new Selectors will begin their term with the selection of the Test Squad to take on Pakistan in their tour of UAE commencing early next week. The National team is due to depart Colombo on Sunday the 24th of this month for a two Test, 5 ODI and 3 T20 Series against Pakistan to be played across the UAE, with the final T20 slated to be played in Lahore.

Match Fixing inquiry against Panadura CC and Kalutara PCC

P Sara Oval Ground

The Committee of Inquiry has found that two teams (Panadura CC & Kalutara PCC) have been found guilty of misconduct and not playing to the Spirit of the game, and NOT of match fixing. Therefore Executive Committee of SLC at an ExCo meeting that ended at 8 pm today, has unanimously decided to 1.) Declare the match and result void and adjust the Points table for 2016/17 accordingly. 2.) To recover Match fees for the match from both Clubs and impose a fine of Rs. 500,000/- on each club. 3.) To Suspend the two Captains – Manoj Deshapriya and Chamara Silva from all Cricket related activities (including playing, coaching and administration) for 2 years with immediate effect. 4.) To Suspend… Read More →

Sri Lanka Squad for one off T20 against India announced


Colombo 4th September 2017, The following 15 member squad has been ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekara for the one off T20 game against India on Wednesday the 6th September at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium. Upul Tharanga – Captain, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilshan Munaweera, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Isuru Udana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Vikum Sanjaya.

Provisional Test Squad for Pakistan tour announced

Sri Lanka Test Team

Colombo, 4th September 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket today announced the following provisional squad for the forthcoming Test series to be played against Pakistan from the 28th September to the 10th of October. The 2 – Test series which will be worked out in UAE will be comprised of one day Test, and one D/N Test match. 1. Dimuth Karunaratne 2. Kaushal Silva 3. Kusal Mendis 4. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain 5. Angelo Mathews 6. Lahiru Thirimanne 7. Niroshan Dickwella 8. Sadeera Samarawickrama 9. Rangana Herath 10. Suranga Lakmal 11. Nuwan Pradeep 12. Lakshan Sandakan 13. Vishwa Fernando 14. Lahiru Kumara 15. Jeffrey Vandersay 16. Milinda Siriwardana 17. Dhananjaya de Silva 18. Dushmantha Chameera 19. Dilruwan Perera 20. Malinda Pushpakumara 21…. Read More →