Sri Lanka ‘A’ take flight to the West Indies

Dhananjaya de Silva

Colombo, 6th October 2017 The Sri Lanka ‘A’ Team will take flight to the West Indies for a 3 Test (4 day) and 3 One Day Series commencing on the 11th of October in Trelawny. The following team which was ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekera, is scheduled to depart the Island tonight. 1. Dhananjaya de Silva (Captain) 2. Charith Asalanka (Vice Captain) 3. Ron Chandragupta 4. Sandun Weerakkody (WK) 5. Dasun Shanaka 6. Shehan Jayasuriya 7. Roshen Silva 8. Sadheera Samarawickrama 9. Malinda Pushpakumara 10. Wanidu Hasaranga 11. Amila Aponso 12. Lahiru Kumara 13. Vimukthi Perera 14. Asitha Fernando 15. Kasun Rajitha 16. Chamika Karunaratne. The team is coached by Avishka Gunawardena, who also oversees the… Read More →

ශ්‍රී ලංකාවේ ප්‍රථම දිවා-රාත්‍රී ටෙස්ට් තරගය පාකිස්තාන-ශ්‍රී ලංකා දෙවැනි ගැටුම 6-10

Rangana Herath

එක්සත් අරාබි එමීර් රාජ්‍යයේ දැන් පැවැත්වෙන ශ්‍රී ලංකා-පාකිස්තාන ටෙස්ට් ක්‍රිකට් තරගාවලියේ දෙවැනි පස්දින ටෙස්ට් ක්‍රිකට් තරගය ඔක්තෝබර් 6-10 දක්වා ඩුබායි හි පැවැත්වීමට නියමිතය.  ශ්‍රී ලංකාව දැනටමත් තරග 1-0කින් ඉදිරියෙන් සිටින හෙයින් ඔවුනට මෙවර සංචාරයේදී තරගාවලියේ ජය්‍රහණය හෝ ජය පැරැදුමින් තොරව නිමවීමක්  පමණක් හිමිවේ.  රෝස පන්දුවෙන් ශ්‍රී ලංකාව තරග කරන ප්‍රථම දිවා-රාත්‍රී ටෙස්ට් තරගය මෙය වේ. එක්සත් අරාබි එමීර් රාජ්‍යයේදී පාකිස්තාන කණ්ඩායමේ ක්‍රිකට් තරග සංවිධානය කිරීම ආරම්භවීමෙන් පසු 2011 පැවැති තරග දෙකක තරගාවලිය පාකිස්තානය තරග 1-0කින් ජයගත් අතර, 2013/14 තරගාවලය තරග 1-1 බැගින් ජය පැරැදුමින් තොරව නිමවිය.  ශ්‍රී ලංකාව මෙවර දෙවැනි තරගය ජයගතහොත් හෝ තරගය ජය පැරැදුමින් තොරව කෙළවර කළොත් ශ්‍රී ලංකාවට තරගාවලියේ ජය හිමිවේ.  ශ්‍රී ලංකාව මෙහිදී පරාජය වුවහොත් පමණක් 1-1 බැගින් සමවේ. ශ්‍රී ලංකා කණ්ඩායමේ හිටපු නායක ඇන්ජලෝ මැතිව්ස්… Read More →

Gunathilaka suspended for misconduct and breach of contract

Danushka Gunathilaka

Sri Lanka Cricket today (5) announced the suspension of Mr. Danushka Gunathilaka from International Cricket for six (6) International Matches together with a 20% fine of his applicable annual contract fee for violations of Section 30 (a-ii ) and 30 (b) of the Constitution of Sri Lanka Cricketand of clauses 3.1.2, 3.1.9, 3.3.1, and 3.4 of his contract with Sri Lanka Cricket during the recently concluded India Series in Colombo. The suspension is effective 30th September 2017, and is issued by the Executive Committee by the powers vested in it vide Section 30 (c) of the SLC Constitution and Clause 10. 3 of the contract entered into with the said player. Mr. Gunathilaka pleaded guilty to the charges on 29th… Read More →

SL women’s cricketers have prepared hard for tour of West Indies

Sl Womens Team - Tour of WI 2017

The Sri Lanka women’s cricketers, who will embark on a tour of the West Indies from October 5 to 27, have improved with the experience derived from this year’s world cup, according to Team Manager Indrani Abeyratne. The 15-member national women’s squad will meet the West Indies in three (03) ODIs on October 11, 13 and 15, and three T20s on October 19, 21 and 22. “The players have worked hard on their preparations, and there is a changed outlook as a whole,” she said while adding that there was a new inclusion in wicket-keeper batsman Rebecca Vandert. Expressing optimism of getting the better of the West indies, she said that Sri Lanka’s captain Inoka Ranaweera was an exceptional player…. Read More →

Sri Lanka ODI Squad against Pakistan announced

Sri Lanka ODI Team

Sri Lanka has declared the following ODI Squad ahead of their 5 ODI series against Pakistan commencing on the 13th October in Abu Dhabi, UAE and Sharjah. Upul Tharanga – Captain, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay.

Players to continue engagement in domestic cricket pending appeal process


Sri Lanka Cricket today (30) confirmed that on the recommendation of the Appeal Committee appointed to look into the appeals made by the players of the Panadura SC and Kalutara PCC following their suspension from Cricket activities for being found to have not upheld the spirit of the game, the accused players would be permitted to engage in domestic cricket activities pending the outcome of their appeal. The Committee headed by President of the Schools Cricket Association, Mr. Oshara Panditharathne, informed the Executive Committee of SLC that they would require more time to conduct a comprehensive inquiry, and recommended a temporary lifting of the cricket suspensions imposed on the players pending the completion of a full inquiry by the Appeal… Read More →

Sri Lanka Cricket salutes Sangakkara

Sri Lankan cricketer Kumar Sangakkara as he is carried by unseen teammates at close of play on the fifth and final day of the second Test match between Sri Lanka and India at the P. Sara Oval Cricket Stadium in Colombo on August 24, 2015.  Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara bid a tearful farewell to international cricket on August 24, 2015 and was immediately offered the post of the island's top envoy in Britain where he plays county cricket.   AFP PHOTO / Ishara S. KODIKARA / AFP PHOTO / Ishara S.KODIKARA

Sri Lanka Cricket takes pleasure in saluting one of its greatest stars of recent times on the latest honour bestowed upon him by the County of Surrey of offering him an honorary life time membership in the club. This follows Sangakkara’s three year stint of playing for the county for the County Championship following the ex Sr Lankan cricketer’s retirement from playing in the national team. This act of appreciation follows Sangakkara’s honorary membership at MCC a couple of years ago. * This is a great tribute to Sangakkara and to cricket in Sri Lanka’ said Sumathipala the President of SLC. ‘We at SLC are proud of him and value the prestige bestowed on him and thank him for the… Read More →

Three-member SLC committee to hear appeals of Panadura CC and Kalutara PCC

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has appointed a three-member committee to consider the appeals of the two captains, players and coaches of Panadura Sports Club and Kalutara Physical Culture Circle consequent to the recent penalties imposed on them for breaching the spirit of the game in a Premier League match 2016/2017. The committee members from SLC’s Executive Committee are Samantha Dodanwala, Oshara Panditharatne and Channa Weerakkody. The captains were suspended for 2 years, players and coaches for 1 year and match points deleted as well as the clubs fined on them being found guilty. පානදුර – කලුතර අභියාචනා පරීක්ෂණයට කමිටුවක් පානදුර ක්‍රීඩා සමාජය හා කලුතර කායවර්ධන කවය අතර ක්‍රිකට් තරගයේ වාරණයට ලක් වූ එම කණ්ඩායම් වල ක්‍රීඩකයන් හා නිලධාරීන් ශ්‍රී ලංකා… Read More →

SLC donates Rs. 1.6Mn. for Association of Cricket Umpires office complex

p Sara2

The Association of Cricket Umpires (ACU) realized a long felt dream of getting a headquarters office of its own after 74 years, Friday September 22. The ceremonial opening took place on an auspicious note with the President of the Association of Cricket Umpires, Member of Parliament, Dr. Buddhika Pathirana and its 744 strong membership attending with a special feature being the President of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), Thilanga Sumathipla as the Chief Guest. A highlight was the donation of Rs.1.6 million by Sri Lanka Cricket towards the setting up of the office complex. The cheque was handed over by SLC president to the ACU Treasurer, Roshan Dhammika soon after the opening. Making the welcome speech, Located at the P. Saravanamuththu… Read More →