SLC blacklists supplier over substandard nets

A supplier who had supplied Sri Lanka Cricket with a stock of sub-standard nets, had been blacklisted with immediate effect and payments would not be made until a new stock is supplied, Treasurer of Sri Lanka Cricket Shammi Silva said. He also added that the supplier will no longer be permitted to participate in future tenders. The supplier in question is said to have followed stringent protocol procedures and had even produced samples which were in line with the necessary requirements. However upon inspection it was revealed that he had supplied inferior nets. The management of SLC has halted all payments and has requested the supplier to resupply the correct nets. The substandard ones would be removed indefinitely.

Record-breaking Herath spins Sri Lanka to victory


Home side captain becomes most successful left-arm spinner as Bangladesh goes down by 259 runs in first Test Rangana Herath became the most successful left-arm spinner in Test cricket history as Sri Lanka defeated Bangladesh by 259 runs in the first Test in Galle on Saturday (March 11). Herath picked up 6 for 59 as Bangladesh was 197 all out in its chase of an improbable 457-run target to help the home side go 1-0 up in the two-match series. The Bangladesh batsmen cut a sorry figure, unable to counter Sri Lanka’s relentless spin attack on the final day. Resuming on 67 for no loss and needing 390 runs more for victory on the final day, Bangladesh lost Soumya Sarkar,… Read More →

SLC records net income growth of Rs. 400 million for 2016

President SLC Presents the Minister of Sports the financial acounts for 2016

Sri Lanka Cricket’s (unaudited) financial statements for the year 2016 have demonstrated a steady upward trend characterized by greater accountability, transparency and financial discipline. “We had a very successful first year in office. 2016 saw a combination of unprecedented milestone and well met challenges. When we took over, we were up against a budgeted cash deficit of Rs. 320 million for 2016 as envisaged by the Interim Committee. We saw this as a challenge and spearheaded initiatives to increase our revenue whilst curtailing our expenditure,” President of Sri Lanka Cricket Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala said. He added that the organization had to take drastic measures to curtail expenses whilst prioritizing the national team and investing in avenues that would pay dividends… Read More →

Sri Lanka ‘A’ team OD squad against England Lions

Sri Lanka A Squad

7 th March 2017, Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of the 14 players who will form the OD squad which will play the 4th and 5th One-day games against the England Lions. The team captained by right-handed batsman Ashan Priyanjan will consist of the following players: Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Ron Chandraguptha, Sadeera Samarawickrama (WK), Angelo Perera, Charith Asalanka, Irosh Samarakkody, Lahiru Madushanka, Dhusmantha Chameera, Vikum Sanjaya, Dasun Shanaka, Chathuranga de Silva, Sanjaya Chathuranga, Ramith Rambukwella. The England Lions tour of Sri Lanka began on 17th February. The 4th One-day (OD) is scheduled to take place at CCC on 9th March while the 5 th and final OD will also be at the same venue on 11th March.

Sri Lanka A Team squad to face England Lions series announced

1 st March 2017, Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of 15 players who will form the Sri Lankan ‘A’ Team squad for the first three ODI matches against England Lions which begins tomorrow. The list includes: Milinda Siriwardana (Captain), Kusal Janith Perera (WK), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sandun Weerakkody, Shehan Jayasuriya, Charith Asalanka, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Thisara Perera, Lahiru Madushanka, Vikum Sanjaya, Asitha Fernando, Amila Aponso, Jeffrey Vandersay, Malinda Pushpakumara. The Sri Lankan A team will play five ODI’s against the England Lions. The first match is scheduled for 2nd March at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, the second is on the 4th at the same venue, the third match will be on 6th at Kurunegala Cricket Stadium. The… Read More →

Sri Lanka President XI Team squad for Bangladesh series announced

Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of 15 players who will play the warm-up match against the Bangladesh National Team. The Bangladesh National Team is currently in the country and will play their first test match against Sri Lanka on March 7th . The 15 players who have been selected are: Batsman: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Irosh Samarakkody, Ron Chandraguptha, Avishka Fernando, Leo Fransisco (WK), Kamindu Mendis, Wanidu Hasaranga, Roshene Silva, Kavinda Kulasekera, Romesh Buddhika. Fast bowlers: Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Samarakoon, Uditha Madushanka. Spin bowlers: Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Ambuldeniya. The team will play two-day match on the 2nd and 3rd at Moratuwa.