SLC Coaches to obtain ICC Level 3 certification. Coaching staff get a further bolster

Sri Lankan cricketer Thilan Samaraweera speaks during a press conference in Colombo on March 6, 2013. Samaraweera, 36, said his decision to quit was fuelled by the decision of the selectors to drop him from the opening Test against Bangladesh which starts in Galle from Friday.  AFP PHOTO / STR / AFP PHOTO / STR

Colombo 5th November 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket today (5) announced that 4 of its Specialist Consultant Coaches – namely Hashan Thilakaratne, Avishka Gunawardena, Hemantha Devepriya and Oshadi Weerasinghe would be travelling to the UAE later this month to complete their ICC Level 3 Coaching certification. The Specialists coaches who have been working the National teams over the past months will participate in the ICC Acadamy Level 3 Coaching Course at the Dubai Sports City on the sponsorship of Sri Lanka Cricket which views it as a strategic investment into Specialist resources. The selected coaches are currently employed as SLC Specialist Consultant Coaches and are assigned to various National teams. Meanwhile SLC also announced today the recruitment of former Sri Lanka… Read More →

India tour Test Squad announced

Sri Lanka Test Team Celebration

Colombo, 5th November 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce the following squad selected for the Sri Lanka tour of India commencing on the 16th November at Eden Garden’s in Kolkatta. The squad which was ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekera, is as follows: 1. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain 2. Dimuth Karunarathne 3. Dhananjaya de Silva 4. Sadeera Samarawickrema 5. Angelo Mathews 6. Lahiru Thirimanne 7. Rangana Herath 8. Suranga Lakmal 9. Dilruwan Perera 10. Lahiru Gamage 11. Lakshan Sandakan 12. Vishwa Fernando 13. Dasun Shanaka 14. Niroshan Dickwella 15. Roshen Silva The squad will depart the island on 8 th November 2017.

Under 19 Squad departs for Under 19 Youth Asia Cup 2017

SL Under 19 team for Asia Cup 2017

Colombo, 5 th November 2017 The Sri Lanka Squad participating the Under 19 Youth Asia Cup 2017 which is as follows will depart the island on 8 th November for the Under 19 Asia Cup to be held in Malaysia from the 9th to 20th November 2017. The Squad which has received the ratification of the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekera is as follows; 1. Kamindu Mendis – Captain 2. Jehan Daniel – Vice Captain 3. Ashen Bandara 4. Dhananjaya Lakshan 5. Nishan Mathushanka 6. Nipuna Dhananjaya 7. Hasitha Boyagoda 8. Krishan Sanjula 9. Navindu Fernando 10. Randir Ranasinghe 11. Thisaru Rashmika 12. Nipun Ransika 13. P Jayawickrama 14. Kalana Perera 15. K. K. Kevin The selected 15, have… Read More →

Dinesh Chandimal’s statement

Dinesh Chandimal

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to draw your attention to the following transcript of the statement made by Test Captain Dinesh Chandimal at the press briefing held at SLC on (31) which has been deliberately misrepresented by sections of the media Sinhala: ” English : Q- “There were various reports on Social Media stating that you had received blessings from a “maniyo” prior to the Test series. This this help you win, and If so how?” A- “It’s like this – any religion blesses, furthermore no religion enables wrongdoing. Therefore not only this particular person but even if any member of the clergy blesses me I will gladly accept that blessing. Ones beliefs in the effectiveness of this blessing is a… Read More →

Herath is Dialog Cricketer of the Year 2016

Dialog Crickter of the Year - Rangana Herath

Colombo, 1st November 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket’s annual awards night, The Dialog Sri Lanka Cricket Awards 2017, which honours the performances and achievements of players in both the national and international arena from the period June 2016 – June 2017, was held at the Water’s Edge, Battaramulla last evening. Awards were presented to 58 men’s and women’s cricketers who have excelled in their respective specialist areas over the period June 2016 to June 2017. The adjudicatory panel, which consisted of the Sri Lanka National Selectors – Mr. Graeme Labrooy, Mr. Gamini Wickramasinghe, Mr. Jerryl Wouterz, Mr. Sajith Fernando, Mr. Asanka Gurusinha, the National Women’s Selectors – Ms. Rasanjalee de Alwis, Ms. Thilaka Nilmini and Ms. Indika and the Awards Committee… Read More →

2016 Performances lauded

Colombo, 30th October 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket’s annual awards night, The Dialog Sri Lanka Cricket Awards 2017, which honours the performances and achievements of players in both the national and international arena from the period June 2016 – June 2017, will be held at the Water’s Edge, Battaramulla on the 31st of October 2017. This year’s award ceremony sees awards presented in 59 categories, with both women’s and men’s cricket being felicitated. The highlight of the evening will be the ‘Dialog Cricketer of the Year’ award, which is awarded in both Men’s and Women’s categories, the “Emerging Cricketer of the Year” which this year will laud both National and International level, and the “Most Promising Cricketer” which is also awarded… Read More →

Western Province Central clinch Prima Under 15 Inter Provincial Tournament Title


Western Province Central won the Prima Under 15 Inter-Provincial Cricket Tournament after obtaining first innings points against Western Province South in the final played at the SSC ground in Colombo on Saturday Brief Score: Western Province South 96 all out (Pasindu Pathum 28, Chamod Gihan 23: Sampath Nissanka 5/26, Tashik Nirmal 4/23) and 187 for 9d (Prabashwara Herath 27, Sukitha Manoj 74 n.o.: Tashik Nirmal 4/59, Kavindu Pathiratna 2/31) Western Province Central 170 all out (Tashik Nirmal 37, Bawantha Harith 49 n.o.: Chamod Gihan 2/15, Vinuja Ranpul 2/30, B. Mendis 2/35, B. Ninuka 2/47) and 75 for 6 (Vinuka Rubasinghe 24: Ashan Fernando 3/16, Piyanga Mendis 2/11)

Pakistan win T20 opener by 7 wickets


By Srian Obeyesekere reporting from Abu Dhabi Pakistan won the first T20 day-night match against Sri Lanka by 7 wickets making 103 for 3 wickets in 17.2 overs having bowled out Sri Lanka for 102 in 18.3 overs at the Sheik Sayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.  Sri Lanka started well reducing Pakistan to 2 wickets for 18 runs in 5.1 overs. First to go was Fakhar Zaman bowled by Vikum Sanjaya for 6 off 10 balls and Pakistan had lost the first wicket for 10 in 2.3 overs. Off spinner sachith Pathirana struck in the very first ball of his second over accounting for the prize wicket of Babar Azam for 1 off 8 balls stumped by Sadeera Samarawickrema and… Read More →