Under 23 Provincial Tournament 2017 – 15th – 16th July Match results

 UNDER 23 INTER PROVINCIAL CRICKET TOURNAMENT 2017 – GROUP A Western Province Central 249 (53.2) Himasha Liyanage 75, Akeel Inham 53, Mohammed Shiraz 4/55, Lakshan Fernando 4/60 & 226/6 (59) Manilka de Silva 67, Janith Liyanage 59*, Sadeera Samarawickerama 51, Mohammed Shiraz 2/66, Charith Sudaraka 2/70, Lakshan Fernando 2/52 Vs Central Province 298 (77.4) Ron Chandraguptha 99, Thanuka Dabare 70, Janith Liyanage 3/63, Lasith Embuldeniya 2/57, Sahan Nanayakkara 3/58 MATCH DRAWN (CENTRAL PROVINCE WON FIRST-INNINGS POINTS) 2-day match at CCC ground (Toss: Central Province won & chose to field)  UNDER 23 INTER PROVINCIAL CRICKET TOURNAMENT 2017 – GROUP B Uva Province 163 (45.1) Navindu Nirmal 64, Meedum Dineth 37, Binura Fernando 5/20 & 121 (43.3) Lisula Lakshan 54, Nishan Pieris 5/27, Duvindu Thilakarathne 4/38 Vs Western Province North 292 (76.5) Shammu Ashan 108, Pathum… Read More →

Gunaratne picks up Hamstring injury


Colombo, 15th July 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket today (15) confirmed that middle order batsman and all-rounder Asela Gunaratne has picked up a left hamstring injury during the morning session of the second day’s play in Sri Lanka’s Test against Zimbabwe. Gunaratne has been recommended a 7-10 day recovery period and will not bowl or field in the remainder of the single Test match in the Hero Cup Zimbabwe tour of Sri Lanka.

Angi steps down; Chandimal & Tharanga appointed as Test & Limited over captains respectively

Angelo Mathews resigns

Colombo, 12th July 2017: Sri Lanka Cricket today (12) confirmed that National captain Angelo Mathews has stepped down from the captaincy. Speaking with the board ‘Angi’ stated he felt it was time to take a step back and concede the reigns, and thanked the board for the unstinted support it has extended to his captaincy over the past 18 months. In a letter to the board, Angelo stated: I am immensely thankful [to you] for being extremely considerate of my reasoning and accommodative of my decision to resign as the National Cricket Captain with immediate effect. When I was bestowed with this great Honour of Captaining the Sri Lankan National Team in 2013, I was overwhelmed to say the least… Read More →

Under 23 Inter Provincial Tournament -11th, 12th July Match Results

UNDER 23 INTER PROVINCIAL CRICKET TOURNAMENT 2017 Western Province South U23 39 (15.2) Charana Nanayakkara 7/22, Binura Fernando 3/17 & 188 (52.1) Madhawa Nimesh 53, Sandakan Pathirana 36, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 35*, Rashmitha Opatha 20, Binura Fernando 3/14, Nuwan Thushara 2/31, Duvindu Tillakarathne 2/61 Vs Western Province North U23 155 (53.3) Sahan Arachchige 41, Salinda Ushan 25, Binura Fernando 24, Nishan Pieris 22, Mishen Silva 4/41, Sandakan Pathirana 3/54, Lakshitha Manasinghe 2/12 & 74/1 (19.3) Salinda Ushan 32*, Kaveen Bandara 27 WESTERN PROVINCE NORTH WON BY 9 WICKETS At Police Park Grounds – 2-Day Match (Toss: WPN) UNDER 23 INTER PROVINCIAL CRICKET TOURNAMENT 2017 – GROUP A Northern Province U23 166 (49.4) Revan Kelly 39, Salith Fernando 30, Tharusha Fernando 30, Janith Liyanage 3/38, Sahan Nanayakkara 2/15, Manelkar de Silva 2/15, Lasith Embuldeniya… Read More →

SLC announces Test Squad for single Test against Zimbabwe at the RPICS

Dinesh Chandimal

Colombo, 12th July 2017; Sri Lanka Cricket today announced its 15 man squad picked to play the single Test against Zimbabwe on the 14th – 18th July at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo. The selected players, subject to ratification by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekera, are as follows;  Dinesh Chandimal – Captain  Upul Tharanga  Angelo Mathews  Niroshan Dickwella  Dimuth Karunaratne  Danushka Gunathilaka  Kusal Mendis  Asela Gunaratne  Rangana Herath  Dilruwan Perera  Lakshan Sandakan  Vishwa Fernando  Suranga Lakmal  Dushmantha Chameera  Lahiru Kumara SLC also announced, that Dinesh Chandimal has been appointed captain of the National Test Team whilst Upul Tharanga has been… Read More →

Incident occurred with the causal workers at MRICS

MRICS Workers

Colombo, 12th July 2017; The President & Executive Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket are perturbed by the reported incident that had occurred with the causal workers engaged as ground laborers at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Sooriyawewa last evening (11th). An inquiry has been initiated into the matter and whilst stern action will be taken against those responsible, Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to apologize to those subjected to this ignominy, and will take steps to ensure they are compensated. ඉකුත් 11 දින හම්බන්තොට මහින්ද රාජපක්ෂ ජාත්‍යන්තර ක්‍රිකට් ක්‍රිඩාංගනයේ තාවකාලික පදනමෙන් බදවාගත් සේවකයින් පිරිසකට ක්‍රිඩාංගන බලධාරීන් වෙතින් සිදුවූ අතපසුවීම සම්බන්දයෙන් ශ්‍රි ලංකා ක්‍රිකට් සභාපති ඇතුලු විධායක කමිටුව සිය කනගාටුව පළකරන්නේමු. මේ වනවිට අදාළ නිලධාරීන්ගෙන් සිද්ධිය සම්බන්දයෙන් කරුණු විමසා ඇති… Read More →

Substitution of Nuwans


Hambanthota, 7th July 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket today (7) confirmed the inclusion of veteran pacie Nuwan Kulasekera into the ODI Squad ahead of the 4th ODI against Zimbabwe at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Sooriyawewa tomorrow (8) Kulasekera replaces Nuwan Pradeep who strained his right quadricep during the 7th over of the 3rd ODI yesterday (6) and has been ruled out of the remainder of the ODI tournament in which Sri Lanka lead 2-1. Also joining the squad is youngster Asitha Fernando, who impressed at the recent Super Provincial Tournament with 12 wickets in 6 games at 30.75. Sri Lanka’s camp has been largely pillaged by an outbreak of a viral ‘flu but Nuwan Pradeep is the first… Read More →

Sri Lanka fined for slow over-rate against Zimbabwe

Lasith Malinga

Mathews has been fined 20 per cent of his match fee, while his players have received 10 per cent fines. Sri Lanka has been fined for maintaining a slow over-rate against Zimbabwe during the third One-Day International in Hambantota on Thursday. Chris Broad of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees imposed the fine after Angelo Mathews’ side was ruled to be one over short of its target when time allowances were taken into consideration. In accordance with Article 2.5.1 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to minor over-rate offences, players are fined 10 per cent of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted… Read More →

SLC announces ODI Team for 3rd, 4th & 5th ODI’s against Zimbabwe


Colombo, 5 th July 2017; Sri Lanka Cricket today announced its 14 man squad picked to play the 3 rd , 4 th and 5th ODI games of the Zimbabwe tour of Sri Lanka 2017, at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Sooriyawewa, Hambanthota. The selected players, ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekera, are as follows; 1.) Angelo Mathews – Captain 2.) Upul Tharanga – Vice Captain 3.) Niroshan Dickwella 4.) Dhanushka Gunathilaka 5.) Kusal Mendis 6.) Asela Gunaratna 7.) Wanidu Hasaranga 8.) Chamara Kapugedera 9.) Lakshan Sandakan 10.)Akila Dananjaya 11.)Nuwan Pradeep 12.)Lasith Malinga 13.)Dushmantha Chameera 14.)Lahiru Kumara

Extension of the National Selections Committee


Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce the ratification of the Honourable Minister of Sport Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekera MP to the extension of term of the National Selection Committee (Men’s) comprised of: Mr. Sanath Jayasuriya – Chairman Mr. Romesh Kaluwitharana – Member Mr. Ranjith Madurusingha – Member Mr. Eric Upashantha – Member Mr. Asanka Gurusinha – Member for a further period of 6 months, ending 31st December 2017.