West Indies matches at SSC

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that the matches in the forthcoming West Indies tour, will be played at the SSC Grounds Colombo on 31st January, 3rd February and 6th February 2011. All matches will be day matches. Initially the above matches were scheduled to be played at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota and R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo, which had been identified as World Cup venues. However, SLC wishes to announce that in view of a directive issued by the ICC to the effect that no games should be played at any of the World Cup venues, SLC is compelled to make the above changes.

Premier Tier A & B Limited Over Tournament 2010-11 – Points Table

Tier A Team – Group A M W L NR/TIE BP Points NRR Nondescripts CC 5 5 – - 2 22 1.106 Chilaw Marians CC 5 4 1 – 2 18 0.789 Tamil Union C & AC 5 3 2 – 2 14 0.527 Badureliya CC 5 2 3 – 1 9 -0.270 Colombo Cricket Club 5 1 4 – 1 5 0.247 Lankan CC 5 – 5 – - 0 -2.250 Team – Group B M W L NR/TIE BP Points NRR Colts CC 4 4 – - 2 18 1.107 Singhalese SC 4 3 1 – 1 13 0.625 Bloomfield C & AC 4 2 2 – 1 9 -0.100 Saracens SC 4 1 3 – 1 5… Read More →

President’s Day Programme at MRIS

Sri Lanka Cricket has organized special events on the 18th of November at our newly constructed World Cup venue Mahinda Rajapakse International Stadium to commemorate His Excellency’s second term in office. We append below our agenda on this historic day. Cricket materials will be distributed to 3 district associations from the Southern Province namely Galle, Matera and Hambantota. Coaches from the district to be awarded ICC endorsed coaching booklets. A coaching programme for 200 young hopefuls will be conducted by SLC coaching staff. We wind up the day’s events with a six a side Cricket encounter between the SLC coaching staff team and a team from the Hambantota district cricket association.

Distribution of Cricket gear to 30 more schools

Sri Lanka Cricket distributed cricket gear to 30 schools at a simple ceremony officiated by Chairman D.S.de Silva. 450 schools were recipients of cricket material as per the approved development plan undertaken to distribute cricket materials to schools. Sri Lanka Cricket under the guidance of its Chairman D.S.de Silva selected 30 more schools in addition to the 450 that are already in the development plan and assured all 480 institutions that cricket gear will be upgraded every three years. The investment and the pledge are keeping in line with His Excellency President Mahinda Rajapakse’s   vision of “Gamata Cricket”. In the recently concluded distribution Ceremony, 10 senior kits and 26 junior kits were distributed along with Center matting’s to schools that… Read More →

SLC obtain expert advice in Fielding

Australian “Gavin Fingleson” specialized fielding coach, is pictured here demonstrating modern fielding skills to the men’s National Squad Players at SSC grounds. Gavin was contracted for a two week period by SLC to work exclusively with the National Team in their preparation of the forthcoming tour of Australia which begins later this month and also taking into consideration the World Cup which is around the corner.

Media accreditation opens for World Cup ’11

The media accreditation process for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 is now open. This is an online process that can be followed by clicking on www.dnanetworks.co.in/iccwcaccreditation. As part of the application process you will need to upload a jpeg photograph, a letter of approval/assignment from your editor and a jpeg or pdf version of a relevant piece of identification. As such, it will help you as you fill out your application to have those documents ready in advance to upload. The closing date for applications is 15 November 2010. Important notes: ·         Given the large number of applicants expected, space for media will be limited. Only working journalists with specific assignments will be accredited to the ICC Cricket World… Read More →

Women’s Cricket 30 Over Tournament –-Division II – Final

Air force S.C. vs seenigama ladies Played at Moors Grounds Colombo on 06 September 2010 Seenigama Ladies 115 (M.A.A Sanjeewani 29  ,Harshani Gallage 38,B.Y.A Mendis 14 (Saduni Abeywickrama 4 for 18, Oshadhi Ranasinghe 3 for 16) Air Force SC womens 119 (Chamari Athapaththu 59, Saduni Abeyawickrema 30, Sumudu Fernando 14,( M.S.G Maduwage 1 for 17,D. Shakila Kumari 1 for 36,  ) Air Force S.C.women won by 07 wickets