Sri Lanka squad for the T20 Series against Australia

The National Selectors of Sri Lanka Cricket has chosen the below named 14 players for the T20 series against Australia. The T20 matches will be played on the 6th of September in Kandy and 9th of September in Colombo. The squad is : 1. Kusal Janith Perera 2. T.M. Dilshan 3. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain 4. Dhananjaya De Silva 5. Chamara Kapugedara 6. Milinda Siriwardana 7. Kusal Mendis 8. Seekkuge Prasanna 9. Sachithra Senanayaka 10. Suranga Lakmal 11. Thisara Perera 12. Sachith Pathirana 13. Kasun Rajitha 14. Dasun Shanaka

Warner ton studs commanding victory


David Warner became the first Australian batsman to score a One-Day International in Sri Lanka to lead his side to a comfortable five-wicket win in the fifth and final ODI in Pallekele on Sunday (September 4). Standing in for Steve Smith, Warner made a typically robust 106 off 126 deliveries as Australia clinched the series 4-1, having already taken an unassailable 3-1 lead after the previous game in Dambulla on Wednesday. Opting to bat once Dinesh Chandimal, captaining instead of Angelo Mathews who was ruled out through injury, won the toss, Sri Lanka was bowled out for just 195 in the 41st over. Mitchell Starc, the left-arm paceman, did the bulk of the damage yet again with 3 for 40…. Read More →

National Team visits Sri Dalada Maligawa


The National Cricket Team visited the Sri Dalada Maligawa headed by Deputy Speaker and President of the Sri Lanka Cricket Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala. The team was received by Sri Dalada Maligawa officials and was offered white jasmine flowers to be offered at the Sacred Tooth Relic. The Service monks at the inner shrine room blessed the cricketers and tied ‘Pirith Nool’ for a successful competition and wishing them well for the future. The National Cricket Team visited the Dalada Maligawa to pay homage to the Sacred Tooth Relic after winning the Test Series 3-0 against Australia.

Dasun Shanaka, Dickwella & Tharanga joins the squad for the 5th ODI

Sri Lankan cricketer Dasun Shanaka delivers a ball during a practice session at the  R. Premadasa Cricket Stadium in Colombo on July 15, 2016.
Australia and Sri Lanka play three Test, five One-Day Internationals and Two T20 series matches between July 26 and September 9, with the first Test played from July 26 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele. / AFP PHOTO / ISHARA S.KODIKARA

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to inform that Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella & Upul Tharanga have been drafted into the squad for the 5th ODI. The rest of the squad remains the same as given below: 1. Kusal Janith Perera 2. Kusal Mendis 3. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain 4. Danajaya De Silva 5. Angelo Perera 6. Avishka Fernando 7. Danushka Gunathilaka 8. Suranga Lakmal 9. DilruwanPerera 10.Seekuge Prasanna 11.Amila Aponso 12. Lahiru Kumara 13. Sachith Pathirana 14. Upul Tharanga 15. Niroshan Dickwella 16.Dasun Shanaka

Update on Angelo Mathews


Angelo’s MRI and clinical symptoms are both consistent with a medial calf muscle injury. He is not expected to be available for the remainder of the Australian series. His rehabilitation program will be aimed at having him ready for the start of Sri Lanka’s next series.

Crowd Protest in Dambulla


In the consequence of the unfortunate crowd protest that took place in Dambulla during the 04th ODI, SLC wishes to state that SLC together with the Sri Lanka Police applied stringent security measures in place to safeguard the cricket fans who had purchased tickets for the matches. We continuously announced through the media that there will be no tickets sold on the day of the match and fans were thus requested to purchase their tickets prior to the day of the match in a bid to prevent recurrence. SLC would like to stress the fact that SLC will be obliged to secure the seats for the ticket holders who have purchased tickets prior to the match and it considers as… Read More →

Hastings six-for sets up Australia series win


John Hastings plucked six wickets before Aaron Finch and George Bailey’s attacking half-centuries powered Australia to a series clinching six-wicket win over Sri Lanka in the fourth One-Day International in Dambulla on Wednesday (August 31). Australia rode on Finch’s blistering 19-ball 55 and an unbeaten 90 in 85 balls from Bailey to reach 217 for 4 in 31 overs, chasing down the 213-run target and taking an unassailable 3-1 lead in the five-match series. Earlier, Hastings’s career-best figures of 6 for 45 helped bowl out Sri Lanka for 212, despite Dhananjaya de Silva’s fighting 76, after it had elected to bat upon winning the toss. It was Finch’s blitz at the start that launched Australia against a Sri Lanka attack… Read More →

Sachith Pathirana joins the ODI squad in place of TM Dilshan

Sri Lankan cricketer Sachith Pathirana delivers a ball during a practice session at The Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket stadium in Dambulla on August 30, 2016. / AFP PHOTO / ISHARA S.KODIKARA

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to inform that Sachith Pathirana has been drafted into the ODI squad in place of T.M. Dilshan. Sachith joins the squad for the 4 th ODI match to be played in Dambulla. The rest of the squad remains the same as given below: 1. Kusal Janith Perera 2. Kusal Mendis 3. Dinesh Chandimal – Vice Captain 4. Angelo Mathews – Captain 5. Danajaya De Silva 6. Angelo Perera 7. Avishka Fernando 8. Danushka Gunathilaka 9. Suranga Lakmal 10.Thisara Perera 11.DilruwanPerera 12.Seekuge Prasanna 13.Lakshan Sandakan 14. Amila Aponso 15. Lahiru Kumara 16. Sachith Pathirana

The Aussies won, but retiring Dilshan the Larger Hero


Dambulla turned out to be the farewell ground Sunday to veteran all-rounder Tillakaratne Dilshan before a sell out crowd on an emotional day to the 39-year old capping his 333rd ODI. Australia won the match by two wickets with 24 balls to spare, but the day belonged to the big made Sri Lankan who could not hide the tears as he swivelled around bat upraised in a salute to the crowd after his final innings in a final look at his farewell venue before heading for the pavilion. The moment typified how much the game means to a player for whom it all begins as a schoolboy’s ‘First Love’ dream of playing for his country. The start to the proceedings… Read More →