Rain ruined game on ton up Mendis’ day puts onus on Sri Lanka in must win final ODI

Kusal Mendis

Sri Lanka did post a humdinger type of 311 on the back of a 107 ball 102 by Kusal Mendis, but that rain had to be a spoiler to the effort of evening things in the second ODI at the Dambulla Stadium in Tuesday’s day-night game was dampening to that cause. On a day that the second wicket pair of Upul Tharanga and Mendis ruffled the Bangladesh bowlers in a 111-run alliance, the rains were a blow to Sri Lanka’s chances of pulling off a win that would have put the home team in contention in the 3-match series. As it is, Sri Lanka is left with the prospect of having to play the final match to square the series…. Read More →

ECB Bunbury XI against SL Under-16 Development Squad

28th March 2017, Colombo: The ECB Bunbury XI started their short tour by playing at the Colts Ground in Colombo against a Sri Lankan Development U16 Squad. Having elected to bat first the tourists found themselves under pressure through some excellent new ball bowling from Niduka Malshith and Ashan Dilhara (man of the match). From 19 for 5 it took good application from the tourists to reach 134 with Hamidullah Quadri (Derbyshire) and Sean Sullivan (Essex) showing the way. The tourists needed to be at their best with the ball to apply any pressure, and if a straightforward chance had been accepted at 55 for 3 could have created some nervousness in the home dressing room. This was not to be, and… Read More →

Sri Lanka Under-19 squad announced


28 th March 2017, Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of the 20 players who will represent Sri Lanka Under 19s in a six-match series against Australia Under-19s in April in Tasmania. Accordingly the names are: Kamindu Mendis (Captain) – Richmond College Vishva Chathuranga (WK) – Prince of Wales’ College Ashen Bandara – St. Aloysius College Lasith Croospulle – Maris Stella College Nipun Sumanasinghe – St. Joseph’s College Ayana Siriwardena – Isipathana College Hasitha Boyagoda – Trinity College Krishan Sanjula – De Mazenod College Jehan Daniel – St. Josephs’ College Nipun Malinga – Mahinda College Thisaru Rashmika – Trinity College Nipun Ransika – P.D.S Kularatne MMV Thilan Prashan – St. Servatius’ College Praveen Jayawickrama – St. Sebastian’s College… Read More →

Suranga Lakmal to remain in the ODI squad against Bangladesh


Sri Lanka Cricket confirmed that right-arm fast bowler Suranga Lakmal who sustained an injury during the first One-day International match against Bangladesh will remain in the squad. However Niroshan Dickwella who was injured will be replaced by Dilruwan Perera for the second ODI against Bangladesh. Two additional players, Nuwan Pradeep and Nuwan Kulasekara have also been added to the squad for tomorrow’s match. *Subject to ratification by the Minister of Sports

Tamim ton leads Bangladesh to 90-run win


Bangladesh rode on a splendid ton from Tamim Iqbal and disciplined bowling from its pacers to record a 90-run win against Sri Lanka in the first One-Day International in Dambulla on Saturday (March 25). It was Bangladesh’s fifth victory against Sri Lanka in the 50-over format, and its first since 28 March, 2013, when it had won by three wickets in Pallekele. Tamim had powered Bangladesh to 324 for 5, and Sri Lanka could only put together 234 before being bowled out in 45.1 overs at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium. The visiting side’s pacers combined for six wickets to help the side take a crucial 1-0 lead in the three-match series. Mashrafe Mortaza, the captain, trapping Danushka Gunathilaka lbw… Read More →

Kusal Janith Perera injured, to be replaced by Milinda Siriwardena

Sri Lankan cricketer Milinda Siriwardana (2L) throws a ball as teammates look on during a practice session at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium in Dambulla on March 23, 2017.
Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will play the first of three One-Day Internationals (ODI) at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium in Dambulla on March 25. / AFP PHOTO / Ishara S. KODIKARA

Sri Lanka Cricket confirmed that Kusal Janith Perera who was included in the One Day International squad against Bangladesh has sustained a left hamstring during a practice match on 22nd March at the Colombo Cricket Club. He has been advised to rest and will not be available for the first two ODI’s. The first ODI is on 25th (Saturday) and the second is on 28th (Tuesday). Both matches are to be played at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium. Milinda Siriwardena, has been recommended as a replacement for him for the first two ODIs.

Official ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in Sri Lanka


The official ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which is travelling to all eight participating nations, arrived in Colombo yesterday. The Nissan Trophy Tour symbolises the global nature of the tournament and provides cricket fans in Sri Lanka and around the world the unique opportunity to engage with the coveted trophy. The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will be held between June 01 and 18 in England and Wales. During the Sri Lankan leg of the tour, the trophy will be taken on a city tour on Thursday. An event was held at the Sri Lanka Cricket premises on Thursday morning which saw the trophy being unveiled by CEO Mr. Ashley de Silva and national player Angelo Mathews. On the same day, the… Read More →

Board President’s XI squad against Bangladesh announced

Sri Lanka's cricketer Milinda Siriwardana delivers the ball during a practice session at the P. Sara Oval Cricket Stadium in Colombo on October 21, 2015, ahead of the second Test match against West Indies on October 22.  AFP PHOTO/ Ishara S. KODIKARA / AFP PHOTO / Ishara S.KODIKARA

21st March 2017, Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of 12 players who will form the Board President’s XI squad against Bangladesh for a one-day practice game. The team which will be captained by Milinda Siriwardana will also comprise of the following: Kusal Janith Perera, Dilshan Munaweera, Sandun Weerakkody, Dhananjaya de Silva, Chaturanga de Silva, Thisara Perera, Lahiru Madushanka, Dasun Shanaka, Akila Dananjaya, Sachith Pathirana. The inclusion of Binura Fernando is subject to his fitness report. The Bangladesh team will play one warm-up match against the Board President’s XI on the 22nd of March at CCC.

Bangladesh caps 100th Test with landmark four-wicket win


Bangladesh celebrated its 100th Test match with only its fourth overseas win and first against Sri Lanka as Tamim Iqbal’s 82 helped the side chase down 191 on the fifth and final day at P Sara Oval in Colombo on Sunday (March 19). This was Bangladesh’s ninth Test win overall. Two of its previous wins in away Tests came against a West Indies side in 2009, while the other win came against Zimbabwe in Harare in 2013. Bangladesh had taken a 129-run lead after the first-innings exchanges, and stopped Sri Lanka at 319 in its second innings to set up the achievable target. Sri Lanka, defending just 35 runs in the final session and requiring six more wickets, kept the… Read More →

Sri Lanka ODI squad against Bangladesh announced

Sri Lanka ODI Team

#AMatterOfPrideSL 17th March 2017, Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of the 15 players who will form the squad for the One-day International matches against Bangladesh which starts on 25th March at the Dambulla International Cricket Stadium. The team which will be captained by Upul Tharanga will also comprise of the following: Niroshan Dickwella Dhananjaya de Silva Kusal Mendis Asela Gunaratne Dinesh Chandimal Kusal Janith Perera Danushka Gunathilake Suranga Lakmal Lahiru Kumara Vikum Sanjaya Bandara Thisara Perera Sachith Pathirana Seekkuge Prassanna Lakshan Sandakan