Bailey steers chase as Australia goes 2-1 up


George Bailey’s 99-ball 70, and his fifth-wicket partnership of 81 runs with Matthew Wade (42 off 46 balls), stood out in Australia’s tricky chase of 227 in the third One-Day International against Sri Lanka at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium on Sunday (August 28). It overshadowed Tillakaratne Dilshan’s last ODI and Dinesh Chandimal’s century, as Australia’s thrilling two-wicket win with four overs to spare helped the visiting side take a 2-1 lead in the five-match series. On a pitch where the ball stopped and turned, Sri Lanka bowled well to remove David Warner, the stand-in captain, Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh in the first 8.5 overs. The home team had a good grip on the context, but Bailey used all… Read More →

ක්‍රිකට්‌ හැදෙන අලුත් ක්‍රමය ගැන සභාපති කියයි

Thilanga Sumathipala

* “පරණ නම් වලට 11 ට ගහන්න දෙන්නෙ නැහැ. දක්‍ෂතම එකොළහ මැදට ගෙනාවා” * “ජයන්ත සමග මගේ ප්‍රශ්නයක්‌ නැහැ. මෙතනට එන්න ඉන්න අය තමයි ඔය ප්‍රචාර කරන්නෙ” * “මට අයි.සී.සී. යන්න බැහැ කියල පට්‌ටපල් බොරු කිව්වා. කුසල්ව නිදහස්‌ කරගෙන වන්දිත් ගත්තෙ මම. ලෝකයේ කවුරුත් එහෙම කරල නැහැ.” ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රීඩාවේ කොඳුනාරටිය බඳු ක්‍රිකට්‌ ක්‍රීඩාවට ජවය දීමේ ප්‍රධාන සුක්‌කානම තිලංග සුමතිපාල මහතාගේ අතට පත්ව අට මසක්‌ ගෙවී ගොස්‌ය. ක්‍රිකට්‌ පරිපාලනය විටෙක නොයෙකුත් විවේචනයන්ට භාජන වෙද්දී ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රිකට්‌ කණ්‌ඩායමද පරාජයේ කුණාටුවකට හසු විය. නමුත් දැන් යළිත් ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රිකට්‌ අළු ගසා නැගිටිමින් තිබේ. එබැවින් තිලංග සුමතිපාල මහතාගේ පරිපාලන ව්‍යqහය සංකල්පය මොන වගේදැයි දැන ගැනීමට “දිවයින ඉරිදා සංග්‍රහය” ඔහු සොයා ගියෙමු. සුමතිපාල මහතා අධික රාජකාරී වලින් හෙම්බත් වන චරිතයකි. ඔහු නියෝජ්‍ය කථානායකවරයාය…. Read More →

Sri Lanka squad for 3rd ODI against Australia


The National Selectors have drafted Under 19 youth player Lahiru Kumara into the National squad for the 3rd ODI to be played at RDICS, Dambulla. Left Hand batsman & Right-arm medium-fast bowler Lahiru Kumara who is from Kandy replaces Milinda Siriwardena. The rest of the squad remains the same as given below: 1. Kusal Janith Perera 2. Kusal Mendis 3. T.M. Dilshan 4. Dinesh Chandimal – Vice Captain 5. Angelo Mathews – Captain 6. Danajaya De Silva 7. Angelo Perera 8. Avishka Fernando 9. Danushka Gunathilaka 10. Suranga Lakmal 11. Thisara Perera 12. DilruwanPerera 13. Seekuge Prasanna 14. Lakshan Sandakan 15. Amila Aponso 16. Lahiru Kumara

T.M Dilshan to retire from ODI Cricket


Sri Lanka’s Opening batsman T.M. Dilshan has decided to retire from One Day Cricket after the 3rd ODI in Dambulla. Born on 14th October 1976, the former ODI Captain Dilshan made his debut to the one day team on 11th December 1999 against Zimbabwe. He has played 329 matches scoring 10,248 runs and is the fourth Sri Lankan and the 11th overall to pass 10,000 ODI runs. He is the second Sri Lankan to have 3 ODI centuries above 150, with 4 scores above 150 in ODIs. Dilshan who is an effective spinner of the team, has 106 wickets under his name. TM Dilshan has the distinction of being the only player in the world to have a cricket shot… Read More →

All-round Mathews stars in 82-run Sri Lankan victory


Angelo Mathews led from the front with an all-round display to help Sri Lanka register an 82-run win over Australia in the second One-Day International between the two sides on Wednesday (August 24) at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. The result helped Sri Lanka level the series at 1-1 after Australia had won the first game by three wickets. Australia, which was chasing a record 289 for victory, was bowled out for 206 in 47.2 overs with Matthew Wade top-scoring with 76 in 88 balls. Amila Aponso, the left-arm spinner playing only his second match at this level, claimed four wickets while Thisara Perera took three wickets to choke the Australian run chase. But it was Mathews’s two wickets and… Read More →

Hon. Prime Minister hosts ACC Delegates


Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prime Minister of Sri Lanka, hosted the ACC delegates at his home, showing his support of the ACC agenda to develop cricket in Asia. Discussions that took place on this occasion included the recognition of Sri Lanka as a neutral venue for regional cricketing events and the need to nurture cricket at both school and national level in the region. While the ACC members expressed their gratitude to Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala, President of ACC and Sri Lanka Cricket for initiating the building of its Head Office in Colombo, Mr. Wickremesinghe assured the ACC of the continued support of the government of Sri Lanka towards realising its goals.

Dialog Sri Lanka Cricket Awards 2016 to Take Place in September

Dinesh Chandimal, Vice-Captain of the Sri Lanka Cricket Team, Angelo Mathews, Captain of the Sri Lanka Cricket Team, Mohan De Silva, Secretary – Sri Lanka Cricket, Harsha Samaranayake, General Manager – Brand and Media, Group Marketing, Dialog Axiata PLC and Ashley De Silva, CEO – Sri Lanka Cricket.

UPDATE:  Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that it is formulating a new selection criteria for the upcoming Cricket Awards, taking into consideration the best Junior & Senior cricketers who have performed exceptionally well during the last year. Hence the Dialog Cricket Awards 2016 which was scheduled to be held on the 21 st of September 2016 has been postponed to the 30th of November 2016. The Dialog Sri Lanka Cricket Awards 2016, the pinnacle of achievement on Sri Lanka’s domestic and international cricketing stage will take on the 21st of September at The Water’s Edge, Colombo. The gala ceremony will recognise the stars amongst ‘Our Lions’, and the accomplishments of our cricketers at domestic and international level. As in… Read More →

Angelo Perera joins the ODI squad in place of injured Pradeep


Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to inform that Angelo Perera has been drafted into the ODI squad in place of Fast Bowler Nuwan Pradeep. Nuwan sustained a hamstring injury during training in the 1st ODI and will not be available for the rest of the home series against Australia. Angelo makes his way into the side after good outings with Sri Lanka A team in England. Under 19 Youth Captain Charith Asalanka called upon to join the SL Development Squad in Zimbabwe in place of Priyamal Perera who returned to the island due to injury.

Finch, Smith set up Australia win


Aaron Finch and Steven Smith hit fifties to help Australia navigate a tricky chase and defeat a determined Sri Lanka by three wickets in the first One-Day International in Colombo on Sunday (August 21). Australia, which endured its first series whitewash against the home side in the preceding three-Test series, needed 46.5 overs to chase down Sri Lanka’s 227 for 8 at the R Premadasa Stadium to go 1-0 up in the five-match series. That Sri Lanka was restricted to a total below 250 was thanks to James Faulkner and Mitchell Starc, who became the fastest to reach 100 wickets in his 52nd match. The two left-arm pacemen shared seven wickets between them after Australia opted to bowl. Finch (56)… Read More →