Dhoni suspended for two ODIs for slow over-rate in Nagpur

India players receive 40-per-cent fines under the revised code Gambhir found not guilty for breach of ICC Code of Conduct India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been suspended for two ODIs for maintaining a slow over-rate during his side’s three-wicket defeat to Sri Lanka in the second ODI in Nagpur on Friday. Jeff Crowe of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees imposed the ban after Dhoni’s side was ruled to be three overs short of its target at the end of the match when time allowances were taken into consideration. In accordance with Article 2.5.2 of the new ICC Code of Conduct, which deals with serious over-rate offences, the captain receives two suspension points while the players are… Read More →

Dennis Lillee inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

One of Australia’s greatest fast bowlers, Dennis Lillee, was formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame at the tea interval on the second day of the third Test between Australia and the West Indies in Perth. The Hall of Fame, run in association with the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA), recognises some of the truly great players from cricket’s long and illustrious history. A commemorative cap was presented to Lillee by the International Cricket Council (ICC) Director and Cricket Australia Chairman Jack Clarke in front of large and appreciative crowd at the Western Australia Cricket Association Ground (WACA). He was then driven around the oval in an open top vehicle to allow his home fans to show… Read More →

Compensation for the family of late Mr S Sivasothy

Umpire S. Sivasothy died under tragic circumstances in June this year. Siva has he was fondly known did yeoman service by officiating as an Umpire for a little over two decades. Mr. Sivasothy’s loss is irreparable to us at Sri Lanka Cricket and also to all his loved ones. Sri Lanka Cricket is proud to state that we have obtained an insurance payment of Rs 500,000/= which will be handed over to his family by our Secretary Mr. Nishantha Ranatunga on Friday the 18th at SLC headquarters. We extend our gratitude to late Mr. Sivasothy, who worked tirelessly for the betterment of the game. His dedicated services will always be at heart with all those who associated with him. May his soul… Read More →

Press briefing- ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to invite the media for the Press Briefing and an inspection of the ICC World Cup 2011 Office – Sri Lanka, on Monday, December 14, 2009 at 9.00 a.m. at Sri Lanka Cricket Head Quarter. We append below the programme, 9.00 a.m. – 9.30 a.m. Inspection and photo opportunity of the World Cup 2011 Office 9.30 a.m. onwards Press Briefing with Mr. James Fitzgerald , Communications Officer and ICC Spokesperson informed on their assessment of the earmarked venues for use during the forthcoming  ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Umpires exchange program

Sri Lanka Cricket has agreed on an exchange program with South Africa and Bangladesh. Umpire Deepal Gunawardena left for South Africa on 21st November and returned to Sri Lanka after officiating in two four day First class matches. South African International umpire Ian Howell will officiate in three premier league matches and leave for South African on 13th December. Umpires Graiten Liyanage and Morris Dela Zilwa will be leaving to Bangladesh during the first week of January to officiate in their domestic tournament. Bangladesh umpires Enamu  Haque Moni and Anisur Rahaman will officiate in four premier league matches in Sri Lanka. Mr Enamu Moni is an international panel umpire for Bangladesh.

ICC Intercontinental Cup 2009-10 fixtures confirmed

The International Cricket Council today confirmed the remaining fixtures in its first-class tournament, the ICC Intercontinental Cup 2009-10, with everything leading towards next November’s final, which will take place in the United Arab Emirates. The next match to be played will start on 23 January between defending champion Ireland facing newcomer Afghanistan in a match to be played in Sri Lanka. Two days’ later, second-placed Kenya will take on 2004 champion and current leader Scotland in a top-of-the-table clash. Remaining fixtures for the second-tier ICC Intercontinental Shield have also been announced. ICC INTERCONTINENTAL CUP 23-26 Jan – Afghanistan v Ireland, Sri Lanka 25-28 Jan – Kenya v Scotland, Kenya 17-20 Feb – Afghanistan v Canada, UAE 10-13 Jun – Netherlands… Read More →