SLC Under 23 Inter Provincial Cricket tournament Finals get underway


Colombo, 31 st July 2017, Unbeaten Western Province North will meet Central Province in the final of the Under 23 Inter-Provincial Tournament, that begins today (31) at the CCC, Colombo 7. Central Province is led by Ron Chandraguptha and Western Province (North) is led by Binura Fernando. Of the 10 Teams which played in 2 groups in the first round of the tournament, the Central Province team were top of group ‘A’ having earned 47.240 points with a win and 3 drawns. Western Province (North) meanwhile come into the final undefeated with 67.450 points. The two-day game is set to get underway at 9.45 am today and will be telecast LIVE via SLC’s in-house broadcast unit on Dialog One. Western… Read More →

Gunaratne out for remainder of India tour


Colombo, 27th July 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket today confirmed the disappointing news that middle order batsman and all rounder Asela Gunaratne will not return to the side for the remainder of the India tour of Sri Lanka 2017. Man-of-the-Match for his match winning knock of 80* during Sri Lanka’s record breaking chase against Zimbabwe just last week, Gunaratne sustained an intra articular comminuted fracture to his left thumb whilst fielding during the first days play of the first test at Galle International Cricket Stadium yesterday (26) and underwent reconstructive surgery in Colombo last evening. Medical experts have indicated Gunaratne will be out of action for a minimum of 6-8 weeks, and will be returned to full mobility under a strictly… Read More →

Sri Lanka Cricket launches exciting new Arena Technology


Colombo, 26th July 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket today (26) in association with ITW Consulting, and Technology Frontiers Pvt Ltd. – an affiliate of Global Sports Commerce, launched the showcase of a world class technology during the first Test of the India Tour of Sri Lanka 2017. Fans attending the first Test in Galle were treated to the world-class experience of the latest in enhanced signage technology, which was placed in the ground ensuring fans attending the match didn’t miss any access to the latest statistics, celebrations and social media. The matches also witness the world’s largest sightscreen in HD along with 100% led HD quality systems, and usage of crowd facing LEDs for the first time in cricket fan engagement…. Read More →

Second- slip catch attempt fractures Gunaratne’s thumb


Galle, 26th July 2017. Sri Lanka cricket today (26) confirmed that middle order batsman and all rounder Asela Gunaratne has fractured his left thumb during the first days play of the first test between Sri Lanka and India at the Galle International Cricket Stadium a while ago. Gunaratne, who was fielding at second slip hurt his thumb, while attempting a catch of Shikhar Dhawan off the bowling of Lahiru Kumara and had been rushed into Colombo for specialist evaluation. Sri Lanka Cricket will issue an update no sooner one is available.

Sri Lanka announces squad for first Test against India


Colombo, 23rd July 2017: Sri Lanka Cricket today (23) announced the following Test Squad for the first Test against India due to be played on the 26th – 30th of July in Galle. The squad which was ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayaskera MP, is as follows: Rangana Herath – Captain Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara, Nuwan Pradeep. In the absence of full-time Captain Dinesh Chandimal who is recovering from a bout of Pneumonia, the team will be led by veteran Spin-master Rangana Herath.

Vaas to guide the pacies

Sri Lankan cricketer Lasith Malinga (R) and bowling coach Chaminda Vaas speak during a practice session at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Pallekele on July 25, 2013. The third ODI between South Africa and Sri Lanka will be played on July 26 in Pallekele .  AFP PHOTO/ Ishara S. KODIKARA / AFP PHOTO / Ishara S.KODIKARA

Colombo 21st July 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket today (21) announced that ace paceman Chaminda Vaas has been drafted into the National side to guide the pace attack for the India tour of Sri Lanka. The series opener takes place in Galle on the 26th – 30th of July. The former new ball seamer has been at the helm of the National programme working with the feeder squads since August last year and joins the National team as Specialist Fast Bowling Coach ahead of the India tour.

Chandimal hospitalised

Dinesh Chandimal

Colombo, 21st July 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket today (21) confirmed that Test Captain Dinesh Chandimal has been hospitalised following a diagnosis of Pneumonia this morning. The newly appointed captain, who led his side to a historic Test victory, chasing the highest ever total on Asian soil earlier this week contracted a viral influenza that has been dogging the Sri Lankan team over the past few weeks and was recommended a rest period of 3-5 days yesterday, but was hospitalised this morning when increased symptoms showed a development of Pneumonia. Chandimal will miss the 1st Test against India in Galle on the 26th – 30th July, and in his absence the team will be led by veteran Spin master Rangana Herath.

Herath climbs to second position among Test bowlers

Rangana Herath

In the latest rankings update, Herath has leapfrogged Ravichandran Ashwin to move within 32 points of Ravindra Jadeja Sri Lanka spinner Rangana Herath has climbed to second position in the MRF Tyres ICC Player Rankings for Test Bowlers after grabbing his eighth 10-wicket match haul and helping win the one-off Test against Zimbabwe in Colombo by four wickets on Tuesday. In the latest rankings update, which also includes performances in the second Test between England and South Africa which the latter won by 340 runs at Trent Bridge on Monday to level the four-match series 1-1, Herath has leapfrogged Ravichandran Ashwin to move within 32 points of Ravindra Jadeja, making it a 1-2 for left-arm spinners. The 39-year-old Herath, who is the… Read More →

Bowling action of Sri Lanka’s Shaminda Eranga found to be legal

Shaminda Eranga

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today confirmed that the bowling action of Sri Lanka’s Shaminda Eranga has been found to be legal, and the player can now resume bowling in international cricket. Eranga underwent a re-assessment of his bowling action at the ICC accredited testing centre in Chennai with the assessment concluding that the amount of elbow extension in his standard deliveries was within the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under the ICC Regulations for the Review of Bowlers Reported with Suspected Illegal Bowling Actions. The umpires are still at liberty to report Eranga in the future if they believe he is displaying a suspect action or that he is not reproducing the action that has been declared legal during this assessment. To… Read More →

Under 23 Provincial Tournament 2017 – 15th – 16th July Match results

 UNDER 23 INTER PROVINCIAL CRICKET TOURNAMENT 2017 – GROUP A Western Province Central 249 (53.2) Himasha Liyanage 75, Akeel Inham 53, Mohammed Shiraz 4/55, Lakshan Fernando 4/60 & 226/6 (59) Manilka de Silva 67, Janith Liyanage 59*, Sadeera Samarawickerama 51, Mohammed Shiraz 2/66, Charith Sudaraka 2/70, Lakshan Fernando 2/52 Vs Central Province 298 (77.4) Ron Chandraguptha 99, Thanuka Dabare 70, Janith Liyanage 3/63, Lasith Embuldeniya 2/57, Sahan Nanayakkara 3/58 MATCH DRAWN (CENTRAL PROVINCE WON FIRST-INNINGS POINTS) 2-day match at CCC ground (Toss: Central Province won & chose to field)  UNDER 23 INTER PROVINCIAL CRICKET TOURNAMENT 2017 – GROUP B Uva Province 163 (45.1) Navindu Nirmal 64, Meedum Dineth 37, Binura Fernando 5/20 & 121 (43.3) Lisula Lakshan 54, Nishan Pieris 5/27, Duvindu Thilakarathne 4/38 Vs Western Province North 292 (76.5) Shammu Ashan 108, Pathum… Read More →