SLC records net income growth of Rs. 400 million for 2016

President SLC Presents the Minister of Sports the financial acounts for 2016

Sri Lanka Cricket’s (unaudited) financial statements for the year 2016 have demonstrated a steady upward trend characterized by greater accountability, transparency and financial discipline. “We had a very successful first year in office. 2016 saw a combination of unprecedented milestone and well met challenges. When we took over, we were up against a budgeted cash deficit of Rs. 320 million for 2016 as envisaged by the Interim Committee. We saw this as a challenge and spearheaded initiatives to increase our revenue whilst curtailing our expenditure,” President of Sri Lanka Cricket Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala said. He added that the organization had to take drastic measures to curtail expenses whilst prioritizing the national team and investing in avenues that would pay dividends… Read More →

Sri Lanka ‘A’ team OD squad against England Lions

Sri Lanka A Squad

7 th March 2017, Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of the 14 players who will form the OD squad which will play the 4th and 5th One-day games against the England Lions. The team captained by right-handed batsman Ashan Priyanjan will consist of the following players: Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Ron Chandraguptha, Sadeera Samarawickrama (WK), Angelo Perera, Charith Asalanka, Irosh Samarakkody, Lahiru Madushanka, Dhusmantha Chameera, Vikum Sanjaya, Dasun Shanaka, Chathuranga de Silva, Sanjaya Chathuranga, Ramith Rambukwella. The England Lions tour of Sri Lanka began on 17th February. The 4th One-day (OD) is scheduled to take place at CCC on 9th March while the 5 th and final OD will also be at the same venue on 11th March.

Sri Lanka A Team squad to face England Lions series announced

1 st March 2017, Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of 15 players who will form the Sri Lankan ‘A’ Team squad for the first three ODI matches against England Lions which begins tomorrow. The list includes: Milinda Siriwardana (Captain), Kusal Janith Perera (WK), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sandun Weerakkody, Shehan Jayasuriya, Charith Asalanka, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Thisara Perera, Lahiru Madushanka, Vikum Sanjaya, Asitha Fernando, Amila Aponso, Jeffrey Vandersay, Malinda Pushpakumara. The Sri Lankan A team will play five ODI’s against the England Lions. The first match is scheduled for 2nd March at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, the second is on the 4th at the same venue, the third match will be on 6th at Kurunegala Cricket Stadium. The… Read More →

Sri Lanka President XI Team squad for Bangladesh series announced

Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of 15 players who will play the warm-up match against the Bangladesh National Team. The Bangladesh National Team is currently in the country and will play their first test match against Sri Lanka on March 7th . The 15 players who have been selected are: Batsman: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Irosh Samarakkody, Ron Chandraguptha, Avishka Fernando, Leo Fransisco (WK), Kamindu Mendis, Wanidu Hasaranga, Roshene Silva, Kavinda Kulasekera, Romesh Buddhika. Fast bowlers: Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Samarakoon, Uditha Madushanka. Spin bowlers: Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Ambuldeniya. The team will play two-day match on the 2nd and 3rd at Moratuwa.

Gurusinha to fortify the ranks of SLC professional expertise

asanka gurusinghe

Colombo, 28th February 2017: Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce the appointment of former Sri Lanka No.3 batsman Asanka Gurusinha as the Manager Cricket for the National Team of Sri Lanka. Gurusinha’s gutsy lone battles when the stakes were piled high against Sri Lanka need no introduction, and his solid half century together with Aravinda de Silva were the catalyst of Sri Lanka’s 1996 World Cup victory. Gurusinha, a marketer by profession, was awarded the title of Deshabandu in 1996, for his role in the World Cup victory, and has since been domiciled in Australia for the past many years. Gurusinha is a Level 3 certified Cricket Coach with many years of experience, and most recently served as the… Read More →

Sri Lanka squad against Bangladesh test series announced

Herath (1)

 #amatterofpride 28th February 2017, Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of the 15 players who will form the test squad for the two test series against Bangladesh when the tour starts on the 7th of March. Accordingly seven batsmen, four fast bowlers and four spin bowlers have been enlisted to the team. Making his debut to the national team is left-arm orthodox spinner Malinda Pushpakumara who led the Sri Lankan A team to victory with a three wicket win over the England Lions in the 2 nd unofficial test match at Dambulla yesterday (27). The list (subject to the ratification of the Minister of Sports, Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekera) is as follows: Rangana Herath (Captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella,… Read More →

Rangana to captain Sri Lanka against Bangladesh test series


Malinda Pushpakumara gets maiden call to the National Team 27th February 2017, Colombo: Veteran left-arm spinner Rangana Herath has been named as the Test captain to lead the Sri Lankan team for two test series against Bangladesh. Herath led the Sri Lankan team to victory in November last year, with a clean sweep of 2-0 against Zimbabwe in his first series as captain. While the spinner has retired from the shorter format of the game, he has taken on the challenge of leading the team through the two test series against the Bangladeshi team. Meanwhile, slow left-arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara has been included in the test squad. Pushpakumara first represented the Sri Lanka A team in 2012 when he faced… Read More →

PHOTOS: President lays foundation stone for Monarawila Cricket Ground


Opening of refurbished nets – As part of the long term development plan for Cricket in the Island the SLC lead by president Thilanga Sumathipala opens refurbished Cricket nets in Ratnapura. Monarawila district office / grounds – Moving forward to strengthen and provide opportunity for players throughout the island SLC with the guidance of President Thilanga Sumathipala laid the foundation stone for the Monarawila District Office and commenced construction work on the Monarawila Cricket grounds.  

A formidable Test Team in the offing

Sri Lanka Test Team

The National Selections Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket is set to meet on Tuesday (28) to decide on a formidable team that would play the first two test matches against the Bangladesh tour of Sri Lanka 2017 which begins on March 7th . Accordingly it has been announced that Angleo Mathews will not be able to play the first two test matches. The first test match is scheduled to be held in Galle while the second is to be held at the P.Saravanamuttu Stadium. Angelo Mathews would likely be available to play the One-day International and T20 matches thereafter. Despite his absence, the selections committee is confident that the lessons learned from the South African series will help in putting… Read More →