Sri Lanka top order in a spot of bother

Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli (2L) celebrates with his teammates after he dismissed Sri Lankan cricketer Chamara Kapugedara (2R) during the first One Day International (ODI) cricket match between Sri Lanka and India at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium in Dambulla on August 20, 2017. / AFP PHOTO / LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI

Pallakelle, 25th August 2017 Sri Lanka’s top order are in a spot of bother following the keenly contested 2nd ODI against India yesterday, where the hosts put on a dazzling bowling performance through newly-wed Akila Dhanajaya who’s 6 wicket haul left the Indians tottering at a collapse to 131/7 from 110/1. Opener Dhanushka Gunathilaka who left the field around the 32nd over after landing heavily on his elbow in a dive, has been confirmed out of play for a period of approximately 10 days with an AC injury to his right shoulder. Meanwhile captain Tharanga has been handed a 2 game suspension by the ICC following a verdict of a slow over rate, being 3 overs short by the end… Read More →

ප්‍රථම එක්දින තරගය ඉන්දියාව ජයගනී


රංගිරි දඹුලු ජාත්‍යන්තර ක්‍රිකට් ක්‍රීඩාංගණයේ ඉරිදා (21) පැවැති ශ්‍රී ලංකා – ඉන්දියා ප්‍රථම එක්දින ක්‍රිකට් තරගයෙන් ඉන්දියාව කඩුලු නවයක පහසු ජයග්‍රහණයක් අත්කරගත්තේ ඕවර 21.1ක් ඉතිරිව තිබිය දීය.  ශ්‍රී ලංකා කණ්ඩායම ඕවර 43.2කදී සියලු ක්‍රීඩකයන් දැවී ලබාගත් ලකුණු 216ට පිළිතුරු ලෙසින් ඉන්දියාව ඕවර 28.5කදී ලකුණු 220ක් වාර්තා කළේ පිතිකරුවෙකු පමණක් දැවී යාමෙනි. මේ තරගයේද කාසියේ වාසිය හිමි කරගත් ඉන්දියාව තීරණය කළේ පළමුව පන්දුවට පහරදීම ශ්‍රී ලංකාවට ලබාදීමටය.  ඉරිදා නිවාඩු දිනයේ විවිධ වර්ණවලින් සැරසුණු විශාල ජනකායක් තරගය නැරැඹීමට පැමිණ සිටි අතර, ඔවුන් දිරිමත් කිරීමට කුඩා සංගීත කණ්ඩායම් කිහිපයක්ද විය.  ඔවුනගේ විනෝදාස්වාදය ලංකා ඉනිමේ ඕවර 17ක් 25ක් වනතුරු පැවැතිණි.  මුලදී ශ්‍රී ලංකාව පහසුවෙන් ලකුණු 300ක් කරායනු පෙනිණි. තරගයෙන් පසුව ඉන්දීය නායක විරාට් කෝලි ප්‍රකාශ කලේ තම කණ්ඩායමේ දඟපන්දු යවන්නන් තිදෙනාම යොදාගෙන අලුත් ක්‍රීඩකයනට… Read More →

SL Stadia augmentation phase I completed; improved Stadia facilities & world Class Broadcast to be showcased


Dambulla, 19th August 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket today announced the completion of the first phase of its planned augmentation of Stadia across the Island in time for the first ODI between Sri Lanka and India commencing tomorrow (20) at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium. (RDICS) Accordingly, augmentation has been made not only to base facilities such as seating, hospitality, sanitation, and security, but also of in-stadia fan engagement and entertainment facilities to be on par with International standards The Stadiums will feature enhanced security, guaranteed reserved seating and international brands of refreshments, world-class LED and Giant screens to be enjoyed in a carnival atmosphere making for a fun, safe and pleasing environment for the entire family to enjoy the… Read More →

Tharanga confident in his Lions; Urges the nation to have patience & confidence

WhatsApp Image 2017-08-15 at 4.01.25 PM

Colombo, 15th August 2017; Issuing a statement through Sri Lanka Cricket today (15) Sri Lanka White-ball Captain Upul Tharanga has urged the nations’ cricketing fans to rally round the national team and have confidence in the Lankan Lions. “Every team goes through a rough patch” he said, “This is something that happens in cycles to every team and every nation no matter how great a cricketing nation they are. Sri Lanka dominated in all three formats for a good 18 years – don’t forget this now when we are going through a rough patch. Obviously there are some things we can’t openly discuss due to strategic reasons but there are certain areas behind the scenes that need to fall into… Read More →

Sumathipala calls on Asian cricket chiefs to stand together for cricket -says Sri Lanka will travel to Pakistan later this year


13th August 2017 The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) concluded its 33rd Annual General Meeting at the Mövenpick, Colombo yesterday(12). The meeting which was chaired by newly appointed Chairman Mr. Najam Sethi – Chairman PCB, was attended by representatives of 19 countries, and was the second time the meetings were hosted in Colombo since the ACC Headquarters were established here in August 2016. Speaking at a Formal dinner held last evening Development Committee Chairman and host Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala welcomed the delegates and spoke about the changing global cricketing landscape – “Cricket is a game of change, chance and chase” he said. “the game today, and its following is very different to what it was 10 years ago and as administrators… Read More →

Sri Lanka announces squad for third Test against India


Colombo, 10th August 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket today (10) announced the following Squad for the third Test against India due to be played from the 12th – 16th August at the Pallakelle International Cricket Stadium, Kandy. The squad which was ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayaskera MP, is as follows: Dinesh Chandimal – Captain ,Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Gamage, Dilruwan Perera, Malinda Pushpakumara, Lakshan Sandakan.

Thailand National Women tour Sri Lanka

Unbeaten Navy clinch Womens L_O title_77f57297-e804-45a6-951d-196529233970

Colombo 9 th August 2017, The Thailand National Women’s team are currently in Sri Lanka for a planned two T20 series against the Sri Lanka Women’s Development squad. The games will be worked off at the Navy Grounds in Welisera and are to be played on the 9th and 11th of August respectively. The Sri Lanka Development Squad selected to play this tournament are as follows: Yasoda Mendis- Captain, Imalka Mendis, Hansima Karunaratne, Achini Kulasuriya, Sugandika Kumari, Madushika Mettananda, Nilakshi Silva, Rebecca Vandot, Lasanthi Madushani, Mihiri Madushani, Sathya Sandeepani, Hashani Wijeratne, Iresha Shamali, Ruby Rejintha, Sandani Tiwanka, K Pooja Rashmi, Kavishka Dilhani, Pumi Wathsala, Kavindi Parami, Umesha Timeshani. They will be coached by Rohitha Perera. In a landmark move that… Read More →