Sports Medicine & Player Management – a key role in Injury prevention


Colombo, 8th August 2017 A heavy investment in Sports medicine & Player Management over the past 6 months with the recruitment of specialized Trainers and Physios as well as implementation of state-of-the-art assessment and monitoring systems has begun to pay dividends in injury management of the National Performance Squad. Key players such as Suranga Lakmal (Fatigue) who sat out the 2nd Test against India and Rangana Herath (Back Stiffness) who will sit out the 3rd Test are being coined ‘unavailable for selection’ by the Sports Medicine Team (SMT) based on their chronic workloads leading up to the games and the scientific data that show an increased risk of injury accordingly. At a discussion held with NPS players, National Selectors and… Read More →

Recoup & Regroup – Strategy & Science will see results


Colombo, 7th August 2017 The Sri Lanka National team, it’s High Performance & Specialist resource team, the National Selectors and Officials of SLC spent a productive afternoon in Colombo today (7) at a Strategic session aimed at recouping and regrouping ahead of the 3rd Test in Pallakelle on the 12th August. Players, resource staff and officials alike shared in open discourse with respect to technical, strategic, medical, psychological and personal data and requirements of individual players, as well as the team. Speaking during the ‘Brain Storming’ President SLC was commending of the players in their fight back against India in the second innings of the SSC Test, and advised them to believe in themselves as a talented and capable team… Read More →

Gura clarifies

Asanka Gurusinha

Colombo, 6th August 2017 Sri Lanka’s Cricket Manager cum National selector Asanka Gurusinha has issued the following statement in response to the barrage of rumours circulating on social media streams claiming he has resigned; “I have received numerous calls throughout the day with regard to my purported resignation. I wish to clarify that I have not tendered any resignation, nor had any discussion with anyone with regard to resigning either as the Cricket Manager, nor as a Selector. The rumours are unfounded and serve only to negatively impact the morale of our National team by causing confusion and uncertainties and I request all our journalistic friends to not only refrain from publishing such conjecture, but to denounce such crass attempts… Read More →

Central Province clinch the Under 23 Inter Provincial Championship


Central Province U23 – 293 (76) Nimesha Gunasinghe 80, Nuwanidu Fernando 76, Lahiru Samarakoon 38, Lakshan Fernando 35, Ravin Sayer 32, Binura Fernando 4/39, Duvindu Thilakarathna 4/98 vs Western Province North U23 – 176 (45.2)Sammu Ashan 33, Sahan Arachchige 32, Charana Nanayakkara 32, Binura Fernando 24, Mohomad Shiraz 4/45, Charith Sudaraka 2/18 & F/O 208/4 (51.2) Salinda Ushan 87, Sammu Ashan 60, Pathum Nissanka 25, Wanindu Hasaranga 2/42 MATCH DRAWN (CP WON FIRST INNING POINTS & WON THE CHAMPIONSHIP) At CCC Grounds – 2 Day Match (Toss:WPN)

Sri Lanka announces squad for second Test against India

Dinesh Chandimal

Colombo, 01st August 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket today (01) announced the following Squad for the second Test against India due to be played from the 3rd – 7 th August at the SSC, Colombo. The squad which was ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayaskera MP, is as follows: Dinesh Chandimal – Captain, Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Malinda Pushpakumara, Lakshan Sandakan, Lahiru Thirimanne.

SLC Under 23 Inter Provincial Cricket tournament Finals get underway


Colombo, 31 st July 2017, Unbeaten Western Province North will meet Central Province in the final of the Under 23 Inter-Provincial Tournament, that begins today (31) at the CCC, Colombo 7. Central Province is led by Ron Chandraguptha and Western Province (North) is led by Binura Fernando. Of the 10 Teams which played in 2 groups in the first round of the tournament, the Central Province team were top of group ‘A’ having earned 47.240 points with a win and 3 drawns. Western Province (North) meanwhile come into the final undefeated with 67.450 points. The two-day game is set to get underway at 9.45 am today and will be telecast LIVE via SLC’s in-house broadcast unit on Dialog One. Western… Read More →

Gunaratne out for remainder of India tour


Colombo, 27th July 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket today confirmed the disappointing news that middle order batsman and all rounder Asela Gunaratne will not return to the side for the remainder of the India tour of Sri Lanka 2017. Man-of-the-Match for his match winning knock of 80* during Sri Lanka’s record breaking chase against Zimbabwe just last week, Gunaratne sustained an intra articular comminuted fracture to his left thumb whilst fielding during the first days play of the first test at Galle International Cricket Stadium yesterday (26) and underwent reconstructive surgery in Colombo last evening. Medical experts have indicated Gunaratne will be out of action for a minimum of 6-8 weeks, and will be returned to full mobility under a strictly… Read More →

Sri Lanka Cricket launches exciting new Arena Technology


Colombo, 26th July 2017 Sri Lanka Cricket today (26) in association with ITW Consulting, and Technology Frontiers Pvt Ltd. – an affiliate of Global Sports Commerce, launched the showcase of a world class technology during the first Test of the India Tour of Sri Lanka 2017. Fans attending the first Test in Galle were treated to the world-class experience of the latest in enhanced signage technology, which was placed in the ground ensuring fans attending the match didn’t miss any access to the latest statistics, celebrations and social media. The matches also witness the world’s largest sightscreen in HD along with 100% led HD quality systems, and usage of crowd facing LEDs for the first time in cricket fan engagement…. Read More →

Second- slip catch attempt fractures Gunaratne’s thumb


Galle, 26th July 2017. Sri Lanka cricket today (26) confirmed that middle order batsman and all rounder Asela Gunaratne has fractured his left thumb during the first days play of the first test between Sri Lanka and India at the Galle International Cricket Stadium a while ago. Gunaratne, who was fielding at second slip hurt his thumb, while attempting a catch of Shikhar Dhawan off the bowling of Lahiru Kumara and had been rushed into Colombo for specialist evaluation. Sri Lanka Cricket will issue an update no sooner one is available.

Sri Lanka announces squad for first Test against India


Colombo, 23rd July 2017: Sri Lanka Cricket today (23) announced the following Test Squad for the first Test against India due to be played on the 26th – 30th of July in Galle. The squad which was ratified by the Minister of Sport, Hon. Dayasiri Jayaskera MP, is as follows: Rangana Herath – Captain Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara, Nuwan Pradeep. In the absence of full-time Captain Dinesh Chandimal who is recovering from a bout of Pneumonia, the team will be led by veteran Spin-master Rangana Herath.