Perera, Dilshan propel Sri Lanka

New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka 2013 - T20I Champions

Half-centuries from Kusal Perera and Tillakaratne Dilshan powered Sri Lanka to a comprehensive eight-wicket victory over New Zealand in the second Twenty20 International in Pallekele on Thursday (November 21). Sri Lanka secured a 1-0 series win after the first T20I was abandoned due to rain. Sri Lanka overhauled New Zealand’s 142 for 7 with 13 balls to spare, with Perera slamming a 37-ball 57 and Dilshan remaining unbeaten on 59 off 49 balls. Mahela Jayawardene fell leg before to Mitchell McClenaghan for three in the second over before Dilshan and Perera put on a 96-run stand for the second wicket. Dilshan hit eight boundaries while Perera’s knock was studded with six fours and two sixes. Luke Ronchi’s cameo of 34… Read More →

Rain washes out Pallekele T20I

Bad weather forced the first Twenty20 International between Sri Lanka and New Zealand to be abandoned without a ball being bowled

Bad weather forced the first Twenty20 International between Sri Lanka and New Zealand to be abandoned without a ball being bowled in Pallekele on Tuesday (November 19). Heavy rain through the day drenched Pallekele International Stadium and the umpires, Ruchira Palliyaguruge and Raveendra Wimalasiri, were forced to delay the toss. However, with the rain showing no sign of relenting, the umpires had no option but to call off the match at 8.45pm. So far, every match in the limited-overs series has been interrupted by rain. The three-match One-Day International series ended in a 1-1 draw after Sri Lanka won the third ODI by 36 runs on the Duckworth-Lewis Method, following New Zealand’s four-wicket victory in the second ODI, also by… Read More →

Sri Lanka squad for the T20I series against New Zealand


At a selection committee meeting held the following 15 player squad was selected for the T20I series against New Zealand. Dinesh Chandimal (Captain) Lasith Malinga (Vice Captain) T.M Dilshan Kusal Janith Perera Kumar Sangakkara Mahela Jayawardane Angelo Mathews Lahiru Thirimanne Sachithra Senanayake Ajantha Mendis Seekkuge Prasanna Ramith Rambukwella Suranga Lakmal Thisara Perera Nuwan Kulasekara Minister of Sports Hon. Mahindananda Aluthgamage has approved the above Squad.

New Zealand fined for maintaining a slow over-rate against Sri Lanka


New Zealand has been fined for maintaining a slow over-rate during its third and final One-Day International against Sri Lanka in Dambulla on Saturday. Chris Broad of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees imposed the fines after New Zealand was ruled to be one over short of its target, after time allowances were taken into consideration. In accordance with the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, and in particular the regulations contained therein governing minor over-rate offences, players are fined 10 per cent of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time, with the captain fined double that amount. As such, Kyle Mills was fined 20 per… Read More →

Spinners help Sri Lanka square series


Sri Lanka’s spinners reined in New Zealand’s batsmen to win the rain-affected third and final One-Day International in Dambulla on Saturday(November 16) and level the series at 1-1. The start of the match was delayed by 90 minutes due to rain, and another interruption meant the game was scheduled as a 33-overs-a-side affair. Sri Lanka made 211 for 8 in that time, with New Zealand being set a Duckworth-Lewis target of 216 in 33 overs. New Zealand was on 126 for 6 in 25 overs, when bad light forced the umpires to call off play, giving Sri Lanka a 36-run win. Rangana Herath, the left-arm spinner, claimed three wickets while Sachithra Senanayake, the offspinner, had two scalps, as New Zealand slumped to… Read More →

Sri Lanka Squad for the 3rd ODI against New Zealand

At a Selection Committee meeting held, the following players were selected by the National Selectors for the 3rd ODI of The Dialog Cup Series. 1.            Angelo Mathews (Capt) 2.            T.M Dilshan 3.            Dimuth Karunaratne 4.            Kusal Janith Perera 5.            Kumar Sangakkara 6.            Mahela Jayawardane 7.            Dinesh Chandimal (V.Capt) 8.            Lahiru Thirimanne 9.            Thisara Perera 10.          Nuwan Kulasekara 11.          Lasith Malinga 12.          Suranga Lakmal 13.          Rangana Herath 14.          Sachithra Senanayake 15.          Ajantha Mendis 16.          Ashan Priyanjana This has been approved by the Hon.Minister.

Nathan McCullum stars in last-ball win


New Zealand beat Sri Lanka by four wickets in the rain-truncated second One-Day International in Hambantota on Tuesday (November 12) thanks to Nathan McCullum’s late heroics. New Zealand was set a revised and fairly steep Duckworth-Lewis target of 198 in 23 overs, but McCullum smashed 25 runs in the final over off Rangana Herath to steer New Zealand home with an unbeaten nine-ball 32. New Zealand’s reply had begun on the wrong foot when Nuwan Kulasekara dismissed Anton Devcich and Rob Nicol off successive balls in the second over. Both batsmen were caught behind, while Kumar Sangakkara, the wicketkeeper, also stumped Grant Elliott off Sachithra Senanayake to reduce New Zealand to 34 for 3. However, Tom Latham and Luke Ronchi… Read More →

Rain plays spoilsport in Hambantota


Heavy rain forced the first One-Day International between New Zealand and Sri Lanka to be abandoned in Hambantota on Sunday (November 10), cutting short an impressive display by Sri Lanka. New Zealand was 13 for 1 from 4.2 overs in reply to Sri Lanka’s 288 for 9, when play was called off. Earlier in the day, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews all hit half-centuries to give Sri Lanka a formidable total. Kyle Mills, the New Zealand captain, gave his team an electrifying start after winning the toss and electing to field, when he trapped Dimuth Karunaratne lbw with the first delivery of the innings. Dilshan and Sangakkara, however, steadied the innings with a second-wicket partnership of 137. Sangakkara… Read More →

New Zeland Tour of Sri Lanka 2013 – Ticket Prices


Hambantota (ODIs D/N) 10th & 12th Dambulla (ODI – Day) 16th Kandy (T20Is) 19th & 21st Corporate Box Level 3 – Rs 750 Corporate Box Level 4 – Rs 1500 Grandstand Level 2 Corporate Box – Rs 1500 Corporate Box Level 5 – Rs 500 Grandstand Level 3 – Rs 750 Grandstand Top Level Corporate Box – Rs 1000 Grandstand Level  5 – Rs 300 Grandstand Level 5 – Rs 500 Grandstand Top Level  A – Rs 500 Grandstand Level  1 – Rs 200 Block A & B – Rs 200 A Lower – Rs 300 Grandstand Level  7 – Rs 400 Block C,D,E,F,H – Rs 100 B Lower – Rs 300 East & West Seating – Rs 100 Sigiriya… Read More →

New Zealand Tour of Sri Lanka 2013 – Tour Schedule


Date and Time Match Details and Series Sun, Nov 10th 1st ODI – Sri Lanka vs New Zealand MRICS – Hambantota Tue, Nov 12th 2nd ODI – Sri Lanka vs New Zealand MRICS – Hambantota Sat, Nov 16th 3rd  ODI – Sri Lanka vs New Zealand RDICS, Dambulla Tue, Nov 19th 1st T20I – Sri Lanka vs New Zealand PICS, Kandy Thu, Nov 21st 2nd  T20I – Sri Lanka vs New Zealand PICS, Kandy Click here for ONLINE TICKETS