Dilshan’s thumb injury casts shadow

No sooner had Sri Lanka captain Tillakaratne Dilshan been named man-of-the-match in the drawn second Test against England at Lord’s on Tuesday he was doubting his prospects of playing in the series climax.

Dilshan promises to keep calm and carry on

Courtesy: International Cricket Council Sri Lanka captain Tillakaratne Dilshan said there was no point in reading the riot act after a stunning collapse to 82 all out saw his side lose the first Test against England. A rain-affected match appeared destined for a draw after England declared their first innings on 496 for five – a lead of just 96 – with only 51 overs left on Monday’s fifth and final day at Sophia Gardens. But what had seemed a moribund match was sparked into life by England fast bowler Chris Tremlett who, maintaining an accurate line and length at sharp pace ripped through the top order on his way to four for 40. Off-spinner Graeme Swann (four for 16)… Read More →

Farveez Mahroof included in the Test squad

Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to inform the Public and the Media the inclusion of all rounder Farveez Mahroof for the forthcoming Test series against England which gets underway on the 26th of May at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff at Wales. 26 year old Farveez Mahroof an all rounder made his Test debut against Zimbabwe in 2004, and has represented the National team in 20 Tests so far. Mahroof has aggregated 1345 Test runs and captured 24 Test Wickets in his Test career. He last represented Sri Lanka in the Test arena against Australia in 2007. The National selectors have re called the all rounder for National duty to the Test arena after laps of four years. We wish him… Read More →

Fernando & Pradeep see Lankans tame Lions

Dilhara Fernando took three wickets for four runs as Sri Lanka completed their preparations for next week’s first Test against England with a morale-boosting 38-run win over the England Lions on Sunday. Sri Lanka, who’d already beaten Middlesex, won on the fourth and final day after being made to follow-on. England Test call-up Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara, left out of the 12-man squad named earlier Sunday for the first of a three-Test series starting in Cardiff on Thursday, both fell victim to paceman Fernando, who finished with figures of three for 33. Nuwan Pradeep took four for 29 as Sri Lanka bowled out the Lions for 183 in the hosts’ second innings. Earlier the Lions dismissed Sri Lanka for… Read More →

Sri Lanka National Team for the upcoming tour of England

Following team has been approved by the Hon Minister of Sports for the Sri Lanka’s tour of England in May 2011. 1.  T. M. Dilshan                     (Captain) 2. Tharanga Paranavithana 3. Lahiru Thirimanna 4. Kumar Sangakkara 5. Mahela Jayawardana 6. Thilan Samaraweera 7. Dinesh Chandimal 8. Prasanna Jayawardena        (WC) 9. Tissara Perera 10. Suraj Randiv 11. Ajantha Mendis 12.Rangana Hearath 13.Dilhara Fernando 14.Chanaka Welagedara 15.Suranga Lakmal 16.Nuwan Pradeep the upcoming tour of England