Murali included for Aussie tour

Champion spinner Muttiah Muralidharan is selected to feature in the upcoming tour of Australia commencing on the 22nd of October. Sri Lanka will play 3ODI’s and a solitary T20 match against the Australians. Squad: 1.      Kumar Sangakkara  –           Captain 2.      Mahela Jayawardana –        V. Captain 3.      T.M. Dilshan 4.      Upul Tharanga 5.      Chamara Silva 6.      Jeewan Mendis 7.      Angelo Mathews   (subject to fitness, if not to be replaced by Thilina Kandamby) 8.      Chamara Kapugedara 9.      Thisara Perera 10.  Lasith Malinga 11.  Nuwan Kulasekera 12.  Dilhara Fernanado 13.  Muttiah Muralitharan 14.  Suraj Randiv 15.  Dhammika Prasad 16.  Dinesh Chandimal Standby Rangana Hearth Ajantha Mendis THilina Kandamby Thilina Thushara F. Maharoof

Level 1 Cricket Coaching course conducted in Jaffna

A Level I, ICC endorsed coaching course was held in the northern part of the Country at  St john’s College, Jaffna from 23rd to 26thSeptember 2010. This four day program was held under the guidance of the Coach Education Unit of Sri Lanka Cricket. The Coaching program was conducted by former fast bowler JC Gamage. 18 participated in this program, all participants showed great enthusiasm and it was successfully completed. Former National fast bowler and Jaffna Peninsula Provincial coach ‘Ravindra Pushpakumara’ was instrumental in identifying coaches’ from various schools through the district Cricket Association. Among that there were 2 Military officers Brigadier BCJAF Rodrigo and Lieutenant Colonel SPD Jayamahamudalige also took part in this course. The course content included batting, bowling, fielding, wicket keeping, role… Read More →

ICC women’s challenge tournament

The Hon. Minister of Sports  has granted approval for the following team to participate in the ICC Women’s challenge tournament to be worked off from 4th to 17th of October. 1.      Sashikala Siriwardena             –           Captain 2.      Dilhani Manodara                     –           Vice Captain/ WC 3.      Chamari Polgampola 4.      Eshani Lokusuriya 5.      Deepika Rasangika 6.      Sandamali Dolawatta 7.      Suvini De Alwis 8.      Chamani Seneviratne 9.      Sripali Weerakkody 10.  Udeshika Prabodini 11.   Lasanthi Madushani 12.  Hiruka Fernando 13.  Chamari Attapattu 14.  Saduni Abeywickrama Stand by  : 1.      Inoka Galagedara 2.      Rangika Fernando 3.      Shareena Ravikumar 4.      Chandi Wickremasinghe

Sri Lanka ‘A’ well placed against Pakistan ‘A

Sri Lanka ‘A’ were in a strong position at the end of the second days play of the second four day unofficial test match against the touring Pakistan ‘A’ team which continued at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Sooriyawewa, Hambantota yesterday. Pakistan ‘A’ chasing a victory target of 179 runs slumped to 85 for 4 with Jeevan Mendis claiming three wickets for 20 runs. Earlier the home side went on to make a modest 175 runs in their second innings with wicket keeper batsman Dinesh Chandimal hitting a top score of 46 runs. Sri Lanka ‘A’: 97 and 175 (D. Chandimal 46, T. Kandamby 32, J. Gunaratne 29, J. Khan 5 for 50). Pakistan ‘A’: 94 and 85… Read More →