ICC bids for Women’s Cricket in Commonwealth Games

Cricket and the Commonwealth are inextricably linked and almost perfectly aligned with 910 million of cricket’s one billion plus adult fans, says ICC CEO David Richardson • Video interview of David Richardson available for free download and editorial use on the Online Media Zone The International Cricket Council (ICC) today confirmed it has submitted a bid for the inclusion of T20 women’s cricket into the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham 2022. The bid, which has been made in partnership with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), will see one of the world’s fastest growing women’s team sports apply to become part of the Commonwealth Games family. Cricket has made just one appearance at the Games previously, with men playing in 1998… Read More →

New Selection Panel appointed

Hon. Minister meets with the previous selection panel

Media Release  25th November, 2018 Minister of Sports Honorable Faiszer Musthapa met with Mr. Graeme Labrooy and the rest of the members of the previous National Selection Panel this afternoon at his office and thanked them for the services rendered towards Sri Lanka Cricket, as national selectors. In the meantime; Honorable Minister, as per the recommendations of the Cricket Advisory Committee appointed a new National Selection Panel. The following are the members of the new Panel. Asantha De Mel – Chairman Brendon Kuruppu Hemantha Wickramaratne Chaminda Mendis. The first task of the new selection panel will be to select the squad for the upcoming New Zealand tour.  

Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand 2018 – Tour Itinerary

Sri Lanka will depart for New Zealand on the 04th December, 2018 to take part in 02 Test Matches, 03 ODIs and one off T20I. Tour Schedule Date Activity Venue Saturday, 8 December 2018 Warm Up Match  McLean Park, Napier Sunday, 9 December 2018 Monday, 10 December 2018 Saturday, 15 December 2018 1st Test vs New Zealand Basin Reserve, Wellington Sunday, 16 December 2018 Monday, 17 December 2018 Tuesday, 18 December 2018 Wednesday, 19 December 2018 Wednesday, 26 December 2018 2nd Test vs New Zealand Hagley Oval, Christchurch Thursday, 27 December 2018 Friday, 28 December 2018 Saturday, 29 December 2018 Sunday, 30 December 2018 Thursday, 3 January 2019           1st ODI vs New Zealand Bay Oval, Mt. Maunganui D/N Saturday, 5 January… Read More →

Danushka Gunathilaka replaces injured Chandimal for third Test

Dinesh Chandimal, who missed the 2nd test due to an injury will not take part in the 3rd test match vs England, as he is still recovering from the injury. Accordingly, Dhanushka Gunathilake will come in as the replacement for Chandimal for the 3rd test match. Charith Asalanka; who was brought in for the 2nd test match in place of Chandimal, will not be a part of the squad for the next game. Suranga Lakmal will  captain the 3rd Test Match.

Nishan Peiris included in the Test squad

Nishan Peiris_001

  Akila Dananjaya Akila Dananjaya is scheduled to travel to Australia on the 20th November (tonight), 2018 to take part in the ‘’Bowling Action Assessment” The test will take place on the 23rd November at the National Cricket Center, Brisbane. ·         Nishan Peiris included in the test squad In place of Akila Dananjaya, the selectors have included Spinner Nishan Peiris into the Sri Lanka Test Squad to face England in the 3rd Test Match.

Sri Lanka Women beats Bangladesh Women in the World Cup T20 to stay alive in the tournament

ICC_Womens World T20_1067573686

Bangladesh missed out on their best chance of ensuring automatic qualification for the next edition of the tournament as their batting disintegrated in a chase of 98. Only two batters made it into double figures, as the batters undid some fine work from the bowlers, in particular Jahanara Alam. Shashikala Siriwardene took two wickets for Sri Lanka after top scoring with the bat, and skipper Chamari Athapaththu took three after failing. But the dents in Bangladesh’s chase were made by the left arm swing of Udeshika Prabhodani, who took two wickets in her first over. Then the spinners shared the spoils, bowling 75 dots in the innings as Bangladesh never recovered from those early blows. Earlier, Jahanara Alam’s three wickets… Read More →

Advisory Committee to SLC’s Interim Administration

Sri Lanka Cricket Front_D4W9635a

Media Release 12th November, 2018 Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce the appointment of an Advisory Committee to SLC’s Interim Administration, which came into effect from 09th November, 2018. The new committee will assist the Competent Authority, until an election is held to elect officer bearers to SLC. Appointed under the instructions of Minister of Sports Honorable Faiszer Musthapa, the committee, consist of Mr. Dinal Philips, PC; Mr. Samantha Rajapaksa, Mr. Mohamed Hisham Jamaldeen; Mr. Ranil Pathirana and Mr. Lasantha Wickremasinghe; as members. The new committee will provide guidelines for the SLC Management to continue its operations unhindered, whilst it will also focus on inculcating “Corporate and Operational Efficiency” to SLC operations, going forward. In the meantime, the recently appointed… Read More →

Dinesh Chandimal suffered a groin strain during the 1st day of the 1st test


Dinesh Chandimal  Skipper Dinesh Chandimal suffered a groin strain during the 1st day of the ongoing 1st test match played between Sri Lanka and England at the Galle Cricket Stadium.  He is currently under observation and is not yet ruled out of the game.  Galle Test Match Tickets sold out Tickets for all 5-days of the ongoing 01st test match; played at the Galle International Cricket Stadium is already sold out.

SLC appoints three committees

Media Release 05th November, 2018 Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce the appointment of the following three committees under the instructions of the Minister of Sports, Honorable Faiszer Musthapa; who made the decision in concurrence with the controlling clubs of the SLC, following a discussion, he had with them. Furthermore, SLC and its controlling clubs will continue the dialogue on this and include further members to the following committees; if deemed necessary. The following committee’s will function, until an Annual General Meeting of the SLC is conducted, and an elected body is constituted. CRICKET ADVISORY COMMITTEE Michael J De Soyza – (Singhalese Sports Club) Ken De Alwis – (Singhalese Sports Club) Chandika Hathurusinghe – National Cricket Coach of Sri Lanka… Read More →