Cradle of SL cricket – the Prima Under-15 Inter District Tournament for 11th year

Over 400 schools from island-wide will be in the fray in the upcoming Prima Under-15 Inter District Tournament organized by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) that harnesses the cream of the country’s schoolboy cricket talent and considered the feeding cradle to the mainstream national grid from September 1 to 15. A feature of this annual tournament that will be held for the 11th year will be the participation of all districts including Jaffna, Mannar, Kilinochchi, Vavuniya, Batticaloa, Trincomalee. It will cover approximately 39 teams with around 90 matches on the cards with six teams from Colombo District, three each from Kandy District and Galle District, two from Kurunegela District, and one each from the other districts competing. The district tournament from… Read More →

SL Stadia augmentation phase I completed; improved Stadia facilities & world Class Broadcast to be showcased


Dambulla, 19th August 2017, Sri Lanka Cricket today announced the completion of the first phase of its planned augmentation of Stadia across the Island in time for the first ODI between Sri Lanka and India commencing tomorrow (20) at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium. (RDICS) Accordingly, augmentation has been made not only to base facilities such as seating, hospitality, sanitation, and security, but also of in-stadia fan engagement and entertainment facilities to be on par with International standards The Stadiums will feature enhanced security, guaranteed reserved seating and international brands of refreshments, world-class LED and Giant screens to be enjoyed in a carnival atmosphere making for a fun, safe and pleasing environment for the entire family to enjoy the… Read More →

Expect 200 per cent support; All in the team know our fans expect us to win – ODI Skipper Upul Tharanga


Saying that the past performance in the Test series should be put in to the past, Sri Lanka ODI Captain, Upul Tharanga said that the 5-match ODI series against India was a ‘good time for us to show the whole world our capabilities.’ “Let’s face the new challenge with confidence. We have been bugged by injuries to players. But I believe we’ve a good squad, and as a team it is a good time to show the world our capabilities. Mainly all in the team know that our local cricket fans expect us to win”, the new ODI skipper expressed at a Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC)  media briefing on Wednesday ahead of the series commencing in Dambulla on Sunday. Tharanga… Read More →

ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රිකට් ක්‍රීඩක දක්ෂතා නැවත ලොවට පෙන්වනවා – උපුල් තරංග


ශ්‍රී ලාංකික ප්‍රේක්ෂකයන් පමණක් නොව ලොව පුරා විසිර සිටින ශ්‍රී ලාංකිකයන් ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රිකට් කණ්ඩායම සුවිශේෂි දස්කම් දක්වතැයි විශාල ලෙස බලාපොරොත්තු තබා සිටිනවා.  කණ්ඩායමට උපරිම දස්කම් දැක්වීමට ක්‍රිකට් ආයතනය ද උපරිම සහයක් අපට දෙනවා.  පසුගිය ඉන්දීය ටෙස්ට් තරගාවලිය අමතක කර එක්දින තරගාවලිය ජය ගැනීමට කණ්ඩායම් හැඟීමෙන් යුතුව උපරිම දක්ෂතා පෙන්වීමට අපේක්ෂා කරන බව ශ්‍රී ලංකා එක්දින හා 20 – 20 නායක උපුල් තරංග ප්‍රකාශ කරයි. එංගලන්තයේ පැවති චැම්පියන් කුසලාන තරගාවලියේ දී අප ලකුණු තුන්සියය ඉක්මවා හඹා ගොස් ඉන්දියාව පැරැදුවා.  මේ තරගාවලියේදීත් නැවත එය ඉටුකර තරගාවලිය ජය ගැනීම සියලු ක්‍රීඩකයනගේ පරමාර්ථයයි.  මෙය ඉටුකර ලෝවැසියනට ශ්‍රී ලංකා ක්‍රිකට් ක්‍රීඩකයනගේ දක්ෂතා නැවත වතාවක් පෙන්වීමට ක්‍රීඩකයන් අපේක්ෂාවෙන් සිටින බව ද උපුල් තරංග පවසයි.  ශ්‍රී ලංකා එක්දින නායකයා මේ අදහස් පල කලේ ශ්‍රී ලංකා –… Read More →

Tharanga confident in his Lions; Urges the nation to have patience & confidence

WhatsApp Image 2017-08-15 at 4.01.25 PM

Colombo, 15th August 2017; Issuing a statement through Sri Lanka Cricket today (15) Sri Lanka White-ball Captain Upul Tharanga has urged the nations’ cricketing fans to rally round the national team and have confidence in the Lankan Lions. “Every team goes through a rough patch” he said, “This is something that happens in cycles to every team and every nation no matter how great a cricketing nation they are. Sri Lanka dominated in all three formats for a good 18 years – don’t forget this now when we are going through a rough patch. Obviously there are some things we can’t openly discuss due to strategic reasons but there are certain areas behind the scenes that need to fall into… Read More →

ඉන්දියාව 3-0කින් තරගාවලිය ජයගනී


ශ්‍රී ලංකාව හා ඉන්දියාව අතර පැවැති පස්දින ටෙස්ට් ක්‍රිකට් තරගාවලිය මහනුවර පල්ලේකැලේ දී නිමාවට පත්වූයේ ඉන්දියාවට තරග 3-0කින් පහසු ජයග්‍රහණයක් අත්කරගැනීමෙනි.  මහනුවර පල්ලේකැලේ පැවැති තෙවැනි ටෙස්ට් තරගයේ තෙවන දින (14 වැනිදා) සවස තේ පානය වනවිට (සවස 2.45ට) තරගය නිමවූයේ ඉනිමකින් හා ලකුණු 171කින් ඉන්දියාව ජයගනිමිනි.  මේ තරගාවලියේ ප්‍රථම තරගය ඉන්දියාව ලකුණු 304කින්ද දෙවැනි තරගය ඔවුන් ඉනිමකින් හා ලකුණු 53කින්ද ජය ලැබීය. තරගාවලියේ වීරයා ලෙස නම් කැරුණේ ආරම්භක පිතිකරු ශිකර් ධවාන්ය.  තෙවන තරගයේ වීරයා වූයේ හර්දික් පාණ්ඩ්‍යාය.  ටෙස්ට් තරගාවලිය පුරාම ඉන්දියාව ඉදිරියෙන් සිටිනු දක්නට ලැබිණි.  තරුණ ක්‍රීඩකයන් රැසකින් සමන්විත ශ්‍රී ලංකා කණ්ඩායම ප්‍රථම හා දෙවන තරගවලදී වරින්වර තරගයට අවතීර්ණ වූවත් ඔවුනට එය රඳවා ගත හැකි නොවීය.  ලංකා කණ්ඩායම මේ වසර අවසානයේ ඉන්දියාවේ ටෙස්ට් තරගාවලියකට සහභාගි වීමට නියමිත අතර ඊට පෙර මනා… Read More →

India take Test series


India pulled off an innings and 171-run win in the third and final Test match against Sri Lanka at Pallekelle. The relatively new look young Sri Lankan outfit that took on the strong Indians, who are the No.1 Test team in world cricket, made 181 on the follow on with wicket-keeper batsman Niroshan Dickwella top scoring  with 41off 52 balls inclusive of five boundaries. Last man Lahiru Kumara was bowled by Ashwin for 10 a few minutes before tea. Sri Lanka, resuming on 19 for 1 wicket trailing by 333 runs with overnight batsmen Dimuth Karunaratne on 12, and night watchman Malinda Pushpakumara, had to cope with the tight spin-pace bowling of R. Aswin and Mohammed Shami. Karunaratne, the home… Read More →

Sumathipala calls on Asian cricket chiefs to stand together for cricket -says Sri Lanka will travel to Pakistan later this year


13th August 2017 The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) concluded its 33rd Annual General Meeting at the Mövenpick, Colombo yesterday(12). The meeting which was chaired by newly appointed Chairman Mr. Najam Sethi – Chairman PCB, was attended by representatives of 19 countries, and was the second time the meetings were hosted in Colombo since the ACC Headquarters were established here in August 2016. Speaking at a Formal dinner held last evening Development Committee Chairman and host Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala welcomed the delegates and spoke about the changing global cricketing landscape – “Cricket is a game of change, chance and chase” he said. “the game today, and its following is very different to what it was 10 years ago and as administrators… Read More →

Lanka need ‘Out of the Box’ tactics to beat India

Sri Lanka will go in to the third Test against India starting tomorrow Saturday at Pallekelle having drafted into the 15-member squad fast bowlers Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Gamage following the injury sidelining of Nuwan Pradeep. Chameera comes in for Pradeep, and Gamage for spin veteran Rangana Herath who is sidelined by a stiff back. Batsman Dhanushka Gunathilaka, who debuted at Galle for the indisposed captain Dinesh Chandimal. Reflectively, Sri Lanka, who will play for a consolation win, will need to have an out of the box strategy to get the better of the high riding Indians. Skipper Dinesh Chandimal has aired that ‘beating the No.1 Test team would be a big boost to Sri Lanka lifting itself from a… Read More →