Siriwardana guides Lankan ladies to victory

Sri Lanka skipper Shashikala Siriwardena top-scored with an unbeaten 78-ball 67 to help her side post a competitive 220 for six in their 50 overs against Pakistan. At the Witrand Cricket Club, Pakistan appeared to be cruising to the target at 147 for two in 31.5 overs when tragedy struck. Bismah Maroof (24: 50b) holed out and the floodgates were opened. Maroof and top-scorer Nain Abidi (54: 92b, 2×4) had put on 60 for the third wicket. From there on it was a steady procession as Pakistan eight wickets for 47 runs to be bowled out for 189 to be handed a 31-run defeat. Shashikala Siriwardana was the wrecker-in-chief with the ball as well as she picked up 3-31.

Murali included for Aussie tour

Champion spinner Muttiah Muralidharan is selected to feature in the upcoming tour of Australia commencing on the 22nd of October. Sri Lanka will play 3ODI’s and a solitary T20 match against the Australians. Squad: 1.      Kumar Sangakkara  –           Captain 2.      Mahela Jayawardana -        V. Captain 3.      T.M. Dilshan 4.      Upul Tharanga 5.      Chamara Silva 6.      Jeewan Mendis 7.      Angelo Mathews   (subject to fitness, if not to be replaced by Thilina Kandamby) 8.      Chamara Kapugedara 9.      Thisara Perera 10.  Lasith Malinga 11.  Nuwan Kulasekera 12.  Dilhara Fernanado 13.  Muttiah Muralitharan 14.  Suraj Randiv 15.  Dhammika Prasad 16.  Dinesh Chandimal Standby Rangana Hearth Ajantha Mendis THilina Kandamby Thilina Thushara F. Maharoof