England to start ICC World Twenty20 title defence against qualifier in Colombo

ICC Media Release The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the match schedule and unveiled the event logo of the ICC World Twenty20 2012, which will be staged in Sri Lanka from 18 September to 7 October. Reigning champion England will start its title defence at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo exactly one year from today, on 21 September, against one of the two qualifiers for the tournament. Stuart Broad’s side will complete its opening group commitments two days later against 2007 champion India at the same venue. Australia, chasing the one global trophy to have eluded them, will go head-to-head with the other qualifier in Colombo on 19 September, part of a double-header that also features India and… Read More →

Ruhuna Squad for Nokia Champions League T20 2011

Ruhuna Squad: 1. Mahela Udawatte 2. Dinesh Chandimal 3. Sanath Jayasuriya 4. Janaka Gunaratne 5. Milinda Siriwardena 6. Amal Athulathmudali 7. Chinthaka Perera 8. Shalika Karunanayake 9. T.M Sampath 10. Asanka Alankara de Silva 11. M.S.Kamileen 12. Omesh Wijesiriwardana 13. Yasoda Lanka 14. Kusal Janitha Perrera 15. Arosh Janoda 16. Lasantha Jayakody Officials R.Jayantha de Silva                    – Manager Janaka Edirisinghe                      – Physiotherapist Thanuja Niroshan                        – Computer Analyst Manoj Abeywickrama                 – Fielding Coach Darshana Weerasinghe               – Trainer Sumitrhra Warnakulasuriya      – Coach Chaminda Mendis                        – Selector

Kumar Sangakkara claims the LG People’s Choice Award

ICC Media Release Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara has become the second-ever recipient of the LG People’s Choice Award at the LG ICC Awards in London. Sangakkara was voted to the award by the general public and beat off strong competition for the award from South Africa’s Hashim Amla, England’s Jonathan Trott, West Indies’ Chris Gayle and India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The award, which was introduced last year at the LG ICC Awards in Bengaluru, was chosen by cricket fans around the world who, over the course of four weeks had the opportunity to vote for their favourite player. Sangakkara was unable to collect the award in person due to current playing commitments in the Sri Lanka Test series against… Read More →

SLRC & SLBC to cover Aussie tour

Sri Lanka Cricket wishes to announce that the Local TV Broadcasting rights for the Australian Tour of Sri Lanka has been awarded to Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation for a record figure of Rs. 22 Million.(Rupees Twenty two Million). This is the highest bid ever for Local TV broadcasting rights received by Sri Lanka Cricket. Originally, the offer made by Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation was for Rs. 17 Million (Rupees Seventeen Million) and the offer received from  Carlton Sports Network  Rs. 20.1 Million. (Rupees Twenty Million one hundred thousand) At this stage, His Excellency the President and the Hon. Minister of Sports intervened and wanted Sri Lanka Cricket to award this to Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation. Sri Lanka Cricket also wishes… Read More →

Women’s Division-I Tournament 2011/12 – Score Updates

Southern Ladies vs Colts Women Played At  Colts Grounds- Colombo – 21 /07/2011 Southern Ladies Women – Batted First -  157  in 45.5 overs-all out – (Batting – Shereena Ravikumar 51 ,Lakshika De Silva 19,Nadeeka Nidharshani 14) (Bowling – Nadisha Mendis 2 for 31 , Roshenka Philip 3 for 32) Colts  Women – 64 in 25.4 overs all out ( Batting – Chamitri Vidyaratne 29,Lalani Priyadharshani 20 ) (Bowling – Shareena Ravikumar 2 for 25,Lakshi De Silva 3 for 16,) Southern Ladies won by 93 runs – Good All round performance by Shareena Ravikumar. Air Force SC vs CCC Played At CCC  Grounds 27/07/2011 Air Force  SC – Batted First – 262  for 7 in 50 overs – (Batting –… Read More →