Commandos to face Guardians in Super T20 Final

Colombo Galle

Colombo Commando’s will take on Galle Guardian’s in the Grand Final of the Super T20 Provincial Tournament. The Final will be played on Friday 5th February 2016 at R. Premadasa Stadium under flood lights. The proceedings will kick off with the Toss at 6.30 pm followed by the group photograph and the National Anthem. The two teams will set the field ablaze at 7 pm onwards. Fans have the opportunity of joining in with the celebrations and to witness this epic final Free of Charge.

Under 19: Mohsin stars in comfortable Pakistan U19 win


The Sri Lankan boys sat glum-faced on the outfield of the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Wednesday (February 3) as Roger Wijesuriya, their coach, gave them a thorough dressing down. “Avishka (Gunawardene, the former Sri Lankan batsman who is now the team’s assistant coach) cannot go to the middle and bat for you,” Wijesuriya told the boys. Sri Lanka should have chased down 213 against Pakistan to top Group B in the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2016. But as it turned out, leaking easy runs in the first half, poor shot selection while batting and tight bowling by Pakistan forced it to concede defeat by 23 runs after it was bowled out for 189. Pakistan thus finished on top of the… Read More →

Under 19: Sri Lanka U19 takes on Pakistan U19 to decide Group B winner


In Dhaka for the South Asian Speakers’ Summit on Achieving SDGs on Monday, Thilanga Sumathipala, Sri Lanka Cricket’s president, dropped by at the hotel to pay a surprise visit to the Sri Lanka Under-19 cricket team, and it left the teenagers surprised and motivated. “It was a surprise for the entire team and the time he spent with the boys was a morale booster and surely added value for them to perform better in the upcoming matches,” said Ranjith Madurusinghe, the team manager. Not long after that visit, the boys had another taste of life when they met 30 differently abled children from Parents Forum for Differently Abled (PDFA). One look at the Sri Lankan camp tells you how jovial… Read More →

SLC President visits the Under 19 Team in Bangladesh


President of Sri Lanka Cricket, Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala personally visited the Under 19 team and its Officials in Bangladesh on 31st January 2016. The President spoke to the youngsters and wished them all success for the quarter finals of the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup. Team Manager Ranjith Madurusinghe stated that “it was a surprise for the entire team and the time he spent with the boys was a morale booster and surely added value in order for them to perform better in the upcoming matches”.

Under 19: Asalanka the star as Sri Lanka U19 enters quarter-finals


Sri Lanka has had problems stemming the rush of wickets so far at the ICC Under-19 World Cup. It didn’t prove costly in the warm-ups or against Canada in the opener, but in its second Group B clash, against Afghanistan, it got a real fright. A total of 184, thanks to captain Charith Asalanka’s 91-ball 71, is all Sri Lanka could put up at Sylhet International Stadium on Saturday (January 30), but small though it was, once Afghanistan’s innings got underway, it was evident that even that was a good number. The bowlers came up with a tidy showing as the opposition was shot out for 151 in 44.5 overs. Sri Lanka, which had won its first game by 196 runs, registered a 33-run… Read More →

Romesh Kaluwitharana appointed to Technical Committee of ACC

Romesh Kaluwitharana

Media Release Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce its decision to nominate Romesh Kaluwitharana to the Technical Committee of the Asia Cricket Council for Asia Cup 2016. A man who is passionate about the game, Kaluwitharana is the former Sri Lanka A Team Head Coach.  Having played for Colts Cricket Club, Galle Cricket Club and Sebastian’s Cricket and Athletic Club, he has played 49 test matches and 189 ODIs for Sri Lanka. Romesh played a vital role as a wicket keeper / batsman in the 1996 World Cup winning team.  Romesh Kaluwitharana is delighted to accept this new appointment in the Technical Committee of the ACC

Graham Ford rejoins Sri Lanka Cricket


Media Release Sri Lanka Cricket has embarked on a significant initiative of securing a professional coach to serve the National Team and is proud to announce that Graham Ford will rejoin Sri Lanka Cricket as the Head Coach with effect from 1st February 2016.  As per the vision of the newly appointed Executive Committee, it was priority to head hunt and appoint a reputed coach to serve Sri Lanka Cricket until the World Cup in 2019 in England. Bringing back a coach of Graham Ford’s caliber is part of the new Executive Committee’s plan towards restoring Sri Lanka Cricket back to its glory days.  He will be entrusted with the National Team for a period of 45 months to build… Read More →

All-Round Sri Lanka U19 Overpowers Canada U19


  Sri Lanka opened its ICC Under-19 World Cup 2016 campaign with an authoritative, dominant performance against Canada to seal an mammoth 196-run victory at the Sylhet District Stadium on Thursday (January 28). There were four half-centurions in the line-up as Sri Lanka posted 315 for 6. In response, Canada was bundled out for 119 as Sri Lanka sealed victory with minimum fuss.Canada might have hoped to emulate Nepal, who sprung the first upset of the tournament, beating the much-fancied New Zealand in Fatullah earlier in the day. However, Sri Lanka was merciless, and wasn’t willing to budge an inch. It chose to bat and was on the front foot almost throughout the match, even accounting for its tendency to lose quick wickets. Arslan… Read More →

Sri Lanka T20 squad for India tour

Sri Lanka T20 Team

Media Release At a Selection Committee meeting held on even date, the National Selectors named the following players for the above tour. 1.    Dinesh Chandimal (Captain) 2.    T M Dilshan 3.    Seekuge Prasanna 4.    Milinda Siriwardena 5.    Dhanushka Gunathilaka 6.    Thisara Perera 7.    Dasun Shanaka 8.    Asela Gunaratne 9.    Chamara Kapugedara 10. Dushmantha Chameera 11. Dilhara Fernando 12. Kasun Rajitha 13. Binura Fernando 14. Sachithra Senanayake 15. Jeffrey Vandersay  The Sports Minister Hon. Dayasiri Jayasekara has approved the above Squad. Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekera, Rangana Herath & Nuwan Pradeep were not available for selection due to injuries. The Squad for the forthcoming Asia Cup and the ICC World T20 will be selected by the National Selectors after the conclusion… Read More →

Under 19: No room for complacency as Sri Lanka U19 aims to top table

Under 19 team in Bangladesh

Sri Lanka has taken good care to ensure that its preparation would be thorough in pursuit of a maiden trophy in the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2016. It started way back in October 2014, when it beat Australia by a 6-1 margin at home. There was a 2-3 loss to Bangladesh in January thereafter, a 3-0 victory over Pakistan at home and a loss to India in the final of a tri-series that also involved England. It has had matches aplenty under its belt, and enough time to settle on a combination. However, its tournament gets going at the Sylhet Divisional Stadium on Thursday (January 28) in what can very likely be a banana peel against Canada, who are all set to make… Read More →

Under 19: Sri Lanka downed Nepal by 65 runs in warm-up game


Shammu Ashan shone again with the bat as Sri Lanka downed Nepal by 65 runs. Ashan, who made 66 against New Zealandon Saturday, hit 81 off 74 balls with four sixes and as many boundaries to lift Sri Lanka to 230-9 in 45 overs. Nepal was shot out for 165 in reply with Sri Lanka captain Charith Asalanka taking two wickets for 11 runs. Dipendra Airee played a lone hand for Nepal with an unbeaten 33. Scores in brief: Sri Lanka beat Nepal by 65 runs at BKSP-2 Sri Lanka 230-9, 45 overs (Shammu Ashan 81) Nepal 165 all out, 42.1 overs (Dipendra Airee 33 not out; Charith Asalanka 2-11)