Kithruwan Vithanage Guides Sri Lanka U19s to Emphatic Win

Sri Lanka under 19s did well to win the finals of the tri nation trophy at the P.Sara stadium yesterday. The game against Pakistan as anticipated was a nail biter. Sri Lanka snatched victory from jaws of defeat thanks to an unbeaten knock of 75 by young Royalist Kitruwan Vithnanage who made a unbeaten 75 batting at number 5. The left hander hit three glorious sixes in an innings that had a blend of both attack and defense. The left hander came into bat with Sri Lanka struggling on 98 for 5 wickets and in pursuit of 210 for victory.

SLBC Live Ball by Ball Coverage of U19 Final

Sports Service of the Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation will relay a ball by ball commentary during the limited over encounter between Sri Lanka and Pakistan   from P.SARA stadium from 10 am onwards. The bilingual description will be broadcast on the appended frequencies. Colombo   87.6  Radella 91.8 Deniyaya 107.2 Hunasgiriya 96.4 Yatiyantota 96.4 & 102.6 Karagahathanne 104.5

Sri Lanka and Pakistan U19s play finals at the P SARA Stadium tomorrow.

Sri Lanka under 19s will play Pakistan under 19s in the tri- nation finals at the P SARA Stadium in a limited over encounter at 10 am tomorrow. Sri Lanka head the points table beating Bangladesh with a bonus point at Pallekele and winning their second encounter against Pakistan in a nail biting finish at the Moratuwa stadium last Saturday. Pakistan beat Bangladesh with a bonus point at Pallekele , lost to Sri Lanka in Moratwua and were denied of any positive results in two of their preliminary matches due bad weather. During the mid break Sri Lanka Cricket will distribute Cricket balls to schools who are playing in the schools under 19 tournament. We request the media coverage and… Read More →

SL U19′s beaten by Bangladesh

Bangladesh under 19s who were eliminated in the tri nation series, did well to beat hosts Sri Lanka who have already qualified to play the Pakistanis in the finals scheduled at the P. Sara stadium on Tuesday.

India Crowned as Top Nation in Tests

Sri Lanka was bowled out for 309 this morning. India wins the 3rd and the final test by an innings and 24 runs with 2 1/2 sessions still remaining. Whilst not taking anything away from the Indian’s for a very professional performance ,Sri Lanka will count them selves very unlucky mainly due appalling umpire errors.

Sri Lanka Live to Fight Another Day

Skipper Kumar Sangakara came up with a sterling batting performance to remain unbeaten on 133, to help his side to 274 for 6 wickets at close of play. The visitors still trail by 59 runs with only the tail Enders left in the hut to fight 3 full sessions tomorrow.

India make Highest ever Test Score with Dhoni Scoring 100

India declared their innings on 726 runs for 9 wickets with skipper MS Dhoni blasting an unbeaten century with 6 big sixes and 3 fours. India’s strong batting line up proved too strong for Sri Lanka’s bowling attack, who in fairness suffered the wrath of some very poor umpire decisions.

India Bat Sri Lanka Out of the Game

India came up with a cracking performance to give Sri Lanka, another leather hunt in Mumbhai today. Virendra Shewag scored the fastest test 250 in the history of the game to remain unbeaten on 284, which included 40 boundaries and 7 big sixes. Rahul Dravid gave the Indian hero of the day the able support to remain unbeaten on 62.

Rain saves Sri Lanka under 19s at Dambulla

Today in Dambulla Pakistan under 19 skipper Azeem Ghumman  won the toss against hosts Sri Lanka under 19s,and took lease of the perfect batting strip. The Pakistani batsman was at their best today. The Sri Lankan bowling in both pace and spin was far below par. The order of the day for Sri Lankan bowlers was much to be desired. They bowled short gave their counterparts plenty of loose deliveries to make merry on a placid pitch. Babar Azam made a brilliant 127 in 142 deliveries with 14 fours. The young opener was ably supported by Shazaib Ahmed who made a patient 50. Muzamil Nizam batted skill fully by taking the singles, making the two’s into threes and ended up… Read More →