1st unofficial ODI: Sri Lanka A v Pakistan A at Matara


A ton from Kusal Perera and a half-century from Ashan Priyanjan guided Sri Lanka A to an eight-wicket win over Pakistan A in the first unofficial ODI at Uyanwatte Stadium on Sunday. Pakistan A 203 (Fawad Alam 58, D Chameera 3/34, T Kaushal 2/35) v Sri Lanka A 204/2 (Kusal Perera 114*, Ashan Priyanjan 57*, Zia-ul-Haq 1-36, Mir Hamza 1-55) Sri Lanka A won by 8 wickets and take 1-0 lead in 3 match series.

Pakistan A team tour of Sri Lanka 2015 – Press Conference

Fawad Alam and Ashan Priyanjan

The Pakistan ‘A’ team has arrived in Sri Lanka for their month-long  tour and the official press conference took place on Thursday evening at JAIC Hilton.  Pakistan ‘A’ team will play three one-day encounters followed by three four-day unofficial Test matches. Itinerary April 23: Arrival in SL April 26: 1st One-day Match at Matara Uyawatta April 29: 2nd One-day Match at Hambantota, MRICS May 2: 3rd One-day Match at Colombo, RPICS May 6-9: 1st Four day Match at Colombo, RPICS May 13-16: 2nd Four day Match at Kandy, PICS May 20-23: 3rd Four day Match at Dambulla, RDICS May 24: Departure  

Fawad to lead Pakistan A in Sri Lanka


Fawad Alam will lead the Pakistan A one-day and four-day squad on their month-long tour of Sri Lanka. Pakistan A are scheduled to play three one-day and as many four-day games between April 26 and May 23. Pakistan ‘A’ Squad–4 day Matches: Shaan Masood, Khurram Manzoor, Umar Siddiq, Umar Amin (vice-captain), Ali Waqas, Usman Salahuddin, Ali Asad, Immad Wasim, Fawad Alam (captain), Zafar Gohar, Shahzaib Ahmed, Adnan Akmal (wicket-keeper), Mir Hamza, Bilawal Bhatti, Shehzad Azam, Imran Khan.  Standbyes: Zia-ul-Haq, Saad Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Naeemuddin. Pakistan ‘A’ – One-day Squad: Khurram Manzoor, Umer Siddiq, Mukhtar Ahmed, Umar Amin (vice-captain), Fawad Alam (captain), Ali Waqas, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Israrullah, Immad Wasim, Zafar Gohar, Shahzaib Ahmed, Mir Hamza, Bilawal Bhatti, Ehsan Adil, Tabish… Read More →

Sangakkara wins outstanding contribution to Sport award

Image Courtesy: Getty Images

Sri Lankan batsman Kumar Sangakkara has picked up an Outstanding Contribution to Sport award at the fifth annual Asian Awards in London last Friday. Sangakkara was presented with his award by former England footballer Gary Lineker at the global celebration of Pan-Asian excellence at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel. The 37-year-old Sangakkara is the second Sri Lankan to win the award after Muttiah Muralitharan who won it in 2011. The Asian Awards recognise and reward outstanding achievements across 11 categories and are open to individuals born (or with direct family origins in) throughout Asia including India, China, Pakistan, Japan, etc. The phenomenal cricketer was chosen as the wicketkeeper in the ICC Team of Cricket World Cup 2015. Sangakkara was also named… Read More →

Sri Lanka ‘A’ Squad for the Pakistan ‘A’ Tour to Sri Lanka


Media Release At a Selection Committee meeting held the following selections were made by the National Selectors with regard to the Sri Lanka ‘A’ Squad for the above captioned tour. ODI Squad: Dhanushka Gunathilake Dhananjaya De Silva Kusal Janith Perera Shehan Jayasuriya Ashan Priyanjana Kithuruwan Vithanage Milinda Siriwardena Asela Guneratne Lahiru Madhushanka P.H.T. Kaushal Lakshan Sandakan Lahiru Gamage Dushmanta Chameera Binura Fernando Nisala Tharaka Stand By: Denuwan Rajakaruna Nilanka Premartne Udara Jayasundara   Test Squad: Dhananjaya De Silva Udara Jayasundara Madhawa Warnapura Ashan Priyanjan Kithuruwan Vithanage Roshen Silva Kusal Janith Perera P.H.T. Kaushal Malinda Pushpakumara Lahiru Gamage Dushmantha Chameera Vishnu Fernando Nisala Tharaka Kasun Madhshanka Asela Gunaratne Stand By: Denuwan Rajakaruna Geoffrey Vandersay Romesh Buddhika The Hon.Minister has approved the above.

Vinothan John named chairman of Women’s Selection, Vanessa appointed team manager


Media Release Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce that the following have been appointed to the National Selection Committee – Women’s Cricket with effect from 10th of April 2015. Vinothan John- Chairman Varuna Waragoda Uvais Karanain The above names were proposed by the Interim Committee and have been ratified by Hon. Navin Dissanayake Minister of Tourism & Sports. In addition to the above, former National Captain of the Women’s Team of Sri Lanka, Ms. Vanessa De Silva has been appointed as the Manager of the Women’s National Team for the forthcoming in bound tour of West Indies.

Jeryl Woutersz appointed new Sri Lanka team manager

Media Release Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce that Jeryl (Jerry) Woutersz have been appointed as the National Team Manager with effect from 1st of May 2015. A former first class cricketer, Jeryl (Jerry)  Woutersz  has been appointed for the In Bound Tours of Pakistan & India to Sri Lanka.

Badureliya SC clinches SLC Premier Twenty20 title

Badureliya SC

Badureliya SC 176/4 (20) Gihan Rupasinghe 74*, Milinda Siriwardena 66, Upul Bandara 2/28, Binura Fernando 2/32 Vs SSC 166/9 (20) Chamara Kapugedara 36, Thilina Kandamby 35, Dasun Shanaka 28, Kasun Rajitha 4/26, Andy Solomans 4/32 Badureliya Sports Club innings (20 overs maximum) R B 4s 6s SR DNA Athulathmudali c Kandamby b Fernando 0 1 0 0 0.00 RJI Udayanga c Vandersay b Fernando 7 9 1 0 77.77 RJMGM Rupasinghe not out 74 56 6 2 132.14 WAS Niroshan† c Senanayake b Jayasena 11 12 0 1 91.66 TAM Siriwardana* c Vandersay b Jayasena 66 37 4 5 178.37 MSS Jayawickrama not out 13 5 1 1 260.00 Extras (lb 2, w 3) 5 Total (4 wickets; 20 overs) 176… Read More →

Kumar Sangakkara named cricketer of the year by Wisden


Sri Lanka great Kumar Sangakkara has been named the cricketer of the year in the 2015 Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack. Sangakkara joined India’s Virender Sehwag as the only two players to be named as Wisden’s Leading Cricketer in the World for a second occasion. The 37-year-old left-hand batsman and wicketkeeper won the award after a stellar 2014 that saw him score an all-time record 2,868 international runs in the calendar year, including a triple century. His feats, which added to an already brilliant career, included a man-of-the-match performance in Sri Lanka’s World Twenty20 final win over India last year. Sangakkara also scored his first Test hundred at Lord’s last season, a century that came during Sri Lanka’s Test series win over England…. Read More →

Kapila Wijegoonewardene named chairman of selectors

Kapila Wijegunawardene

Media Release Sri Lanka Cricket is pleased to announce that the following have been appointed to the National Selection Committee with effect from the 8th of April 2015. Kapila Wijegoonewardene – Chairman Amal Silva Brendon Kuruppu Hemantha Wickramaratne The above names were proposed by the Interim Committee and have been ratified by Hon. Navin Dissanayake Minister of Tourism & Sports.

SLPA CC wins Premier League Championship

Sri Lanka Ports Authority Cricket Club

The Sri Lanka Ports Authority Cricket Club (SLPACC) won the Premier League Championship organised by Sri Lanka Cricket. SLPACC recorded outright victories in the first round with CCC, SSC, SARASANS and Chilaw Marians and also won by first inning with the matches between Moors and SL Army teams. SLPACC lost only to the Bloomfield in the Super Eight and recorded outright victories with Tamil Union and Baduraliya team. In the deciding math for the championship SLPA CC beat formidable NCC by 193 runs. Asahn Priyanjana and Dhanajaya De Silva made scores exceeding 700 runs in the series and spinner Malinda Pusphpakumara ended the tournament on a high note taking record breaking tally of 70 wickets in 10 wickets. Tharindu Kaushal, who completed… Read More →