Have to focus on everyone, not just Gayle: Jayawardena


Courtesy: International Cricket Council Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardena says his team has to be wary of the entire West Indies team and not just Chris Gayle if it is to win the ICC World Twenty20 2012 final. Especially after his pyrotechnics against Australia in the semi-final on Friday night, Gayle is the cynosure as the West Indies goes into the final against the host nation on Sunday night. Gayle smashed an unbeaten 75 off 41 deliveries at the R. Premadasa Stadium to turbo-charge the West Indies to 205-4, a total that was 74 runs beyond the reach of Australia, but Jayawardena said there was more to the West Indies than just Gayle. “That”s not the way we have gone… Read More →

Sri Lanka fined for maintaining a slow over-rate against West Indies

ICC Media Release The Sri Lanka team has been fined for maintaining a slow over-rate during the side’s ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 Super Eight fixture against West Indies on Saturday. Javagal Srinath of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees imposed the fines after Mahela Jayawardena’s side was ruled to be one over short of its target at the end of the match when time allowances were taken into consideration. In accordance with ICC Code of Conduct regulations governing minor over-rate offences, players are fined 10 per cent of their match fees for every over their side fails to bowl in the allotted time, with the captain fined double that amount. As such, Jayawardena was fined 20… Read More →

ACC Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup 2012 – 22nd October – 01st Nov 2012


At a Selection Committee meeting held the following squads were selected to participate in the above series to be held in China on the above stated dates. T20 Squad – Womens Team  1.      Shashikala Siriwardane (Capt) 2.      Sandamali Dolawatha (V.Capt) 3.      Chamari Athapattu 4.      Inoka Galegedara 5.      Dilani Manodara 6.      Eshani Lokusuriya 7.      Chamani Seneviratne 8.      Sripali Weerakkody 9.      Udeshika Prabodini 10.  Prasadini Weerakkody 11.  Deepika Rasangika 12.  Inoka Ranaweera 13.  Maduri Samuddika 14.  Yashoda Mendis 15.  Sereena Ravikumara   STAND BY 16.  Oshadi Ranasinghe 17.  Nilakshi Silva 18.  Chandima Gunaratne 19.  Lashanthi Madushani 20.  Chamari Polagampola

SLC / CSN – Jointly launches series of ‘Cricket Educational Coaching’ Programs on TV


SLC National Coaching Department in association with CSN Television Network recently launched its first ever television series with regard to Cricket Educational Coaching programs. This would benefit cricketers of all Schools/Clubs and Academies in Districts & Provinces to understand the game better & also the Coaching Fraternity throughout the Country.

Sri Lankan Team with children from the charity ‘Room to Read’

ICC World Twenty20 2012 CSR Activities

The ICC piloted a partnership with the educational non-profit Room to Read during the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2011 and the success of this initiative convinced both parties to extend the relationship through to 2015. Room to Read works to One of the early fruits of this partnership, has been the development of local language cricket books to promote literacy, the first of which features local star Angelo Mathews. The book titled, Little Angelo’s Big Day in Cricket, is available in both Sinhalese and Tamil and will be distributed to youngsters throughout Sri Lanka as part of the ICC World Twenty 20’s commitment to the local community. In India, Virat Kohli has taken a stand as the brand ambassador for… Read More →

First Ever “Level 2” Coaching Course conducted by SLC

Mahel @ SLC Coaching Clinic

Sri Lanka Cricket’s National Coaching Department recently conducted its first ever Level 2 Cricket Coaching Course successfully with twenty participating in the said course. The Course duration spanned over 7 days, five days of educational material & two days were allocated for assessments. The first course of its kind catered to candidates from Clubs tear (A & B) /District & Provincial Coaches. In the past SLC obtained the services of Cricket Australia to conduct such programs at a costly amount, also many interested individuals in the Country have travelled overseas to participate in such Courses & had to bear a very high cost. The current National Coaching Department Coaches were used as presenters during the course in many different aspects… Read More →

Mahindra bags Title Sponsorship rights of Sri Lanka Premier League

Mahindra Sri Lanka Premier League to kick off on August 11, 2012 Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. (M&M Ltd.), India’s leading SUV manufacturer has partnered with the Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL), a cricket league, as their Title Sponsors. The prestigious League kicks off from August 11 and will be played over three weeks at two venues – Colombo and Kandy. The inaugural edition of this League will feature seven provincial teams in a round-robin league format, with the winners having the distinction of playing in the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) as one of the teams in the qualifiers. Upali Dharmadasa, President of Sri Lanka Cricket said: “Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) is proud and honoured to have on board, one of… Read More →