Sri Lanka ODI & T20I squads for Bangladesh Series

SLC Logo

ODI Squad ( 3 games) Angelo Mathews (Capt) Dinesh Chandimal (V.Capt) T.M Dilshan Kusal Janith Perera Kumar Sangakkara Ashan Priyanjan Kithruwan Vithanage Angelo Perera Lasith Malinga Thisara Perera Nuwan Kulasekara Suranga Lakmal Sachithra Senanayake Ajantha Mendis Seekkuge Prasanna *Mahela Jayawardena and Rangana Herath have been rested for the ODI Games.  T20 Squad (2 games ) Dinesh Chandimal (Capt) Lasith Malinga (V.Capt) T.M Dilshan Kusal Janith Perera Kumar Sangakkara Mahela Jayawardena Angelo Mathews Thisara Perera Angelo Perera Nuwan Kulasekara Suranga Lakmal Sachithra Senanayake Ajantha Mendis Rangana Herath Seekkuge Prasanna This has been approved by the Hon.Minister.

Perera spins Sri Lanka to massive innings win over Bangladesh

Off-spinner Dilruwan Perera picked up five wickets as Sri Lanka thumped fragile Bangladesh by an innings and 248 runs in the first Test in Dhaka on Thursday. Bangladesh, trailing by a huge 498-run margin on first innings, were bowled out for 250 in their second knock after lunch on the fourth day at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium. Perera, a 31-year-old playing in his second Test, finished with five for 109 while seamer Suranga Lakmal took three as the hosts were dismissed in 51.5 overs with a day to spare. Bangladesh, who resumed the day at 35-1, failed to cope with Sri Lanka’s pace and spin assault and lost their last nine wickets for 215 runs despite the even-paced pitch. The hosts… Read More →

Jayawardena leads Sri Lankan run fest

Mahela Jayawardenaand Kithruwan Vithanage

Mahela Jayawardena became the sixth-highest run getter in Test cricket with an unbeaten double century as Sri Lanka compounded Bangladesh’s misery on the third day of the first Test in Mirpur on Wednesday (January 29). Jayawardena made a 272-ball 203, his seventh double century in 33 three-figure knocks, as Sri Lanka declared its first innings at 730 for 6 at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium. That gave Sri Lanka a lead of 498 runs and Bangladesh had managed to get only 35 of those for the loss of one wicket by close of play. Rangana Herath, brought on after just three overs, struck with his third delivery when he forced Tamim Iqbal to mistime a catch to point. When play was called off,… Read More →

Ashan Priyanjan named as Prasanna’s replacement

Ashan Priyanjan

At a Selection Committee meeting held on today, Ashan Priyanjan was nominated in place of Prasanna Jayewardene, by the National Selectors for the Test Squad of the Bangladesh Tour, due to Prasanna Jayawardane having to return to Sri Lanka owing to the demise of his father. This replacement has been approved by the Hon. Minister of Sports.

Sri Lanka dominates opening day


Sri Lanka ended the first day of the first Test against Bangladesh in a strong position, reaching 60 without loss after bowling out the hosts for 232 at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium in Dhaka on Monday (January 27). Shaminda Eranga and Suranga Lakmal shared seven wickets between them after Sri Lanka had won the toss and put Bangladesh in, and Dimuth Karunaratne (28) and Kaushal Silva (30) stayed unseparated till stumps as Sri Lanka ended the day 172 runs behind. The day started with Shamsur Rahman, the debutant opener, putting on 35 runs with Tamim Iqbal, before Eranga dismissed Iqbal for six. In a space of 24 runs, Bangladesh then lost four wickets. Marshall Ayub was lbw to Angelo Mathews, Lakmal… Read More →

Sri Lanka announces test squad for Bangladesh series

Media Release At a Selection Committee meeting held the following selections were made by the National Selectors for the Test Squad of the Bangladesh Tour which will commence from the 27th January 2014 in Bangladesh. Angelo Mathews (Captain) Dinesh Chandimal (Vice Captain) Dimuth Karunaratne Kaushal Silva Kumar Sangakkara Mahela Jayawardena Prasanna Jayawardena Kithruwan Vithanage Rangana Herath Dilruwan Perera Suranga Lakmal Shaminda Eranga Nuwan Pradeep Vishwa Fernando Ajantha Mendis Lahiru Thirimanne will be subject to fitness as he has been injured during the previous tournament. He will be replaced by Kithruwan Vithanage in case he is ruled out by the medical staff. Update: Kithruwan Vithanage will be replacing Lahiru Thirimanne in the test squad as Lahiru Thirimanne has still not recovered from… Read More →