Thirimanne and Sangakkara make hay

Opening batsman Lahiru Thirimanne warmed up for his likely Test debut next week with a century as he and Kumar Sangakkara enjoyed valuable time in the middle on the first day of Sri Lanka’s tour match against Essex at Chelmsford.

Dilshan promises to keep calm and carry on

Courtesy: International Cricket Council Sri Lanka captain Tillakaratne Dilshan said there was no point in reading the riot act after a stunning collapse to 82 all out saw his side lose the first Test against England. A rain-affected match appeared destined for a draw after England declared their first innings on 496 for five – a lead of just 96 – with only 51 overs left on Monday’s fifth and final day at Sophia Gardens. But what had seemed a moribund match was sparked into life by England fast bowler Chris Tremlett who, maintaining an accurate line and length at sharp pace ripped through the top order on his way to four for 40. Off-spinner Graeme Swann (four for 16)… Read More →

Fernando & Pradeep see Lankans tame Lions

Dilhara Fernando took three wickets for four runs as Sri Lanka completed their preparations for next week’s first Test against England with a morale-boosting 38-run win over the England Lions on Sunday. Sri Lanka, who’d already beaten Middlesex, won on the fourth and final day after being made to follow-on. England Test call-up Eoin Morgan and Ravi Bopara, left out of the 12-man squad named earlier Sunday for the first of a three-Test series starting in Cardiff on Thursday, both fell victim to paceman Fernando, who finished with figures of three for 33. Nuwan Pradeep took four for 29 as Sri Lanka bowled out the Lions for 183 in the hosts’ second innings. Earlier the Lions dismissed Sri Lanka for… Read More →

Sri Lanka National Team for the upcoming tour of England

Following team has been approved by the Hon Minister of Sports for the Sri Lanka’s tour of England in May 2011. 1.  T. M. Dilshan                     (Captain) 2. Tharanga Paranavithana 3. Lahiru Thirimanna 4. Kumar Sangakkara 5. Mahela Jayawardana 6. Thilan Samaraweera 7. Dinesh Chandimal 8. Prasanna Jayawardena        (WC) 9. Tissara Perera 10. Suraj Randiv 11. Ajantha Mendis 12.Rangana Hearath 13.Dilhara Fernando 14.Chanaka Welagedara 15.Suranga Lakmal 16.Nuwan Pradeep the upcoming tour of England