Sangakkara pilots Lanka to victory

Skipper Kumar Sangakkara hammered 110 off 95 balls as Sri Lanka blazed to a score of 301 on their way to a 112-run win over Queensland in their opening Australian tour match on Friday. The Sri Lankans, building up to their three-match one-day international series with Australia next month, were spearheaded by Sangakkara and Chamara Silva (75) at the Gabba. The tourists then dismissed Queensland for 189 off 36.1 overs with paceman Dilhara Fernando taking 4-41 off 6.1 overs and fellow fast bowler Dammika Prasad snaring 3-43 off eight overs. Sangakkara was heartened by the way his team started on one of Australia’s bounciest wickets but said they had plenty of important work ahead of them with a one-dayer and… Read More →

Murali included for Aussie tour

Champion spinner Muttiah Muralidharan is selected to feature in the upcoming tour of Australia commencing on the 22nd of October. Sri Lanka will play 3ODI’s and a solitary T20 match against the Australians. Squad: 1.      Kumar Sangakkara  –           Captain 2.      Mahela Jayawardana –        V. Captain 3.      T.M. Dilshan 4.      Upul Tharanga 5.      Chamara Silva 6.      Jeewan Mendis 7.      Angelo Mathews   (subject to fitness, if not to be replaced by Thilina Kandamby) 8.      Chamara Kapugedara 9.      Thisara Perera 10.  Lasith Malinga 11.  Nuwan Kulasekera 12.  Dilhara Fernanado 13.  Muttiah Muralitharan 14.  Suraj Randiv 15.  Dhammika Prasad 16.  Dinesh Chandimal Standby Rangana Hearth Ajantha Mendis THilina Kandamby Thilina Thushara F. Maharoof