Sri Lankan ‘A’ Squad to play against the New Zealand ‘A’

At a selection meeting held on the 22nd of August 2013 the following were selected to represent the Sri Lankan ‘A’ against the New Zealand ‘A’ 1.       Udara Jayasundara 2.       Kusal Janith Perera 3.       Mahela Udawatte 4.       Shehan Jayasuriya 5.       Kithruwan Vithanage 6.       Ashen Priyanjana 7.       Anjelo Perera 8.       Danushka Gunathillake 9.       Sachithra Serasingha 10.   Kaushal Silva 11.   Niroshan Dickwella 12.   Madhawa Lakmal 13.   Lahiru Gamage 14.   Nuwan Pradeep 15.   Vimukthi Perera 16.   Lahiru Jayaratne 17.   Ishan Jayaratne 18.   Malinga Pushpakumara 19.   P.H.T Kaushal 20.   Chathuranga De Silva 21.   Seekkuge Prasanna 22.   Akila Dhananjaya   Match Fixtures Date and Time Match Details and Series Sep 17th –  20th 1st 4 Day Match – Sri Lanka A vs New Zealand A Pallekele Cricket Stadium, Kandy Sep 23rd – 26th 2nd 4 Day Match – Sri Lanka A vs New Zealand A Rangiri Dambulla Cricket Stadium, Dambulla… Read More →

3rd OD: West Indies A wins by 67 runs to take the series 2-1

ST. GEORGE’S , Grenada – A three-wicket new-ball burst from paceman Shannon Gabriel, and tight off-spin from Shane Shillingford , undermined Sri Lanka A and spurred West Indies A to a series winning performance in their third and final ODI at the Grenada National Stadium on Thursday. Chasing 197 for victory, after West Indies batted first and posted 196 for 8 off 50 overs, Sri Lanka were dismissed for 129 , off 40.3 overs, as Gabriel captured three for 14 and Shillingford 3 for 33. Sri Lanka struggled against tight bowling by the West Indies, who seemed geared up to defend a modest total, and were pegged back with the early dismissal of opener Niroshan Dickwella. The Sri Lankan captain… Read More →

2nd OD: West Indies A defeated SL A by 90 runs

West Indies A defeated Sri Lanka A by 90 runs in their second ODI at the Grenada National Stadium on Tuesday. SCORES: WEST INDIES A:  240 for 9  (Nkrumah Bonner 61; Lendl Simmons 40; Narsingh Deonarine 34; Andre Fletcher 30;  Chathuranga De Silva 3-43; Suranga Lakmal 2-59. SRI LANKA A: 147 (47.1 overs) (Dimuth Karunarathne 51,  Niroshan Dickwella 41; Narsingh Deonarine 3-25; Nikita Miller 2-32; Sheldon Cottrell 2-25). RESULT: West Indies A won by 90 runs. ST. GEORGE’S, Grenada – West Indies A bounced back to square the one-day series against Sri Lanka A, posting a convincing 90-run victory at the Grenada National Stadium on Tuesday. Following a four-wicket win by the visitors in the first game of the three-match… Read More →

1st OD – Sri Lanka A beat WIA by four wickets

ST.GEORGE’S, Grenada – An aggressive half century from Seekkuge Prasanna upstaged a century by opener Lendl Simmons as West Indies A lost the momentum and toppled to a four wicket defeat against Sri Lanka A in their first ODI at the national stadium here Sunday. Prasanna smashed a busy unbeaten 51 to hasten a run rate that slowed down after a number of wickets fell on the heels of a solid opening stand that gave the visitors an impressive start. Parasanna cracked a boundary to bring up his half century and  carried Sri Lanka A to 287 for six after West Indies A had posted a competitive 282 for nine in 50 overs. He faced just 17 balls, batted for… Read More →

2nd T20: West Indies A strolled to a comfortable five-wicket victory

2nd T20 2

Kingstown, St Vincent – West Indies strolled to a comfortable five-wicket victory with more than eight overs to spare at an overcast Arnos Vale. Having bowled out for the Sri Lankans for a meagre score of 81 in 18.5 overs, Lendl Simmons charged West Indies to victory with cameo knocks by Smith himself and Andre Russell along the way. Though the victory left Smith please, he felt Sri Lanka didn’t play as well as they could have. He said after the game, “I really thought they would have given us a better fight but having said that our boys bowled well and we also fielded well so it was good.” Sri Lanka A’s batting fell away at regular intervals with… Read More →

1st T20: Match abandoned – Sri Lanka ‘A’ in West Indies

Sri Lanka 'A' Team for the 1st T20 against West Indies 'A'

After the 2nd ‘Test’ had been washed out at Arnos Vale, West Indies A and Sri Lanka A returned to the ground on Tuesday in hope that the first Twenty20 would come off. But things looked bleak from the morning. St Vincent awoke to heavy rainfall that lasted for much of the first half of the day. The weather eased two hours before the game, allowing the groundstaff to mop up and get the ground ready for the 2PM ECT start, but above, grey clouds and a consistent drizzle always threatened proceedings. It turned out to be the case after West Indies A won the toss and elected to field. There was enough time for journalists to pen that Sheldon… Read More →

Five OD players to join Sri Lanka A in the West Indies

The Selection Committee named, the following four (4) players to be recalled from the Sri Lanka ‘Á’ tour of West Indies and the named five (5) players to join the remaining squad for the one days and the T20 games. 4 Players to be Recalled 1.      Kaushal Silva 2.      M.Pushpakumara 3.      P.H.D Kaushal 4.      Lahiru Gamage   5 Players to Join the Squad 1.      Dilruwan Perera 2.      Thilina Kandambi 3.      Ramith Rambukwella 4.      Seekuge Prassanna 5.      Lahiru Jayaratnenike air max 1 sale