Asoka de Silva honoured for reaching 100-ODI landmark

Asoka de Silva of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires was today honoured for completing a century of ODIs, a landmark reached during the recently concluded series between Australia and Pakistan which took place Down Under.

De Silva became only the 12th umpire to reach the milestone when he stood in the fifth ODI that was staged in Perth on 31 January. 

To mark the achievement, ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat presented a crystal plaque to the umpire on behalf of the ICC before the start of the Twenty20 International between Pakistan and England at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai Sports City. 

De Silva, who also represented Sri Lanka in 10 Tests and 28 ODIs between 1985 and 1992, reflecting on his achievement, said: “I am humbled and honoured to have completed a century of ODIs as an umpire. 

“When I look at the umpires who are on this list, it makes me really proud as the group includes some of the most iconic names of this noble profession. 

“It would have been nice to have played more and therefore been more successful at international cricket but umpiring is another way of experiencing our great game while my cricketing background has helped me immensely in my umpiring career. 

“It has been a fascinating journey so far as I have been privileged to be part of a very strong, committed and professional group of umpires. And to stand in matches that feature the best cricketers of this era, is something I love and thoroughly enjoy.” 

De Silva was inducted into the elite panel along with Steve Davis in April 2008 after having previously served on the panel between 2002 and 2004. While de Silva has umpired in 12 Tests and 24 ODIs since his return to the panel, Davis is just six ODIs away from becoming the fourth Australian and 13th overall to stand in 100 ODIs.

Most appearances by umpires (as of 18 February 2010):

Umpire                       ODIs

Rudi Koertsen (SA)    202

Steve Bucknor (WI)    181

David Shepherd (Eng)            172

Daryl Harper (Aus)     161

Simon Taufel (Aus)     147

Billy Bowden (NZ)     141

Darrell Hair (Aus)       139

Aleem Dar (Pak)         127

Russell Tiffin (Zim)    111

David Orchard (SA)   107

Steve Dunn (NZ)        100

Asoka de Silva (SL)   100

  • Ajith Abeygunawardena

    Congratulations Asoka for been the first Sri Lankan Umpire to reach this milestone.

    We are proud of you.

    Keep up the Good work and maintain your consistency at all times.

    Good Luck & Best Wishes for the future.

  • Kevin

    Great to see Sri Lankan umpires shining all the way..!! Cheers and good luck..!

  • sisira

    good luck. asok. your can go head……