Results of ICC Chief Executives’ Committee in Dubai

The ICC Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) met in Dubai for its fourth and last meeting of the year to discuss a range of issues relating to the playing and the business of cricket, some of which will be considered by the ICC Board when it will hold its first of four meetings of 2010 in February in Dubai.

The results of the meeting are as follows:

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Following on the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 match schedule announcement in Mumbai on 9 November, the CEC supported a request from the Central Organising Committee that, where possible, host countries should play their quarter-finals and semi-finals in their home country. Where two co-hosts are involved, the higher-ranked side from the group stage will host the match. This recommendation will now be considered by the Board.

FTP Post 2012 and context for Test and ODI

The CEC received feedback from the joint ICC/MCC Cricket Committee meeting and continued with its ongoing discussions in creating context for Test and ODI cricket. A committee comprising David Richardson, David Collier, James Sutherland, Nishantha Ranatunga and N Srinivasan has been formed to draft a discussion paper for the CEC to consider at its next meeting.

Online piracy

Following the recent summit in Hyderabad, the CEC endorsed ICC’s move to work with its stakeholders in forming a coalition to actively address and counteract online piracy.

Women’s cricket

The CEC approved the Women’s Committee’s recommendation that the top four women’s sides from the ICC World Twenty20 2010 in the West Indies will earn direct qualification for the ICC World Twenty20 in 2012 in Sri Lanka while the remaining four teams will come through a qualification process.

ODI status

The CEC granted ODI status to the Olympic Stadium in Sydney and temporary ODI status to Kon. UD CC in Amsterdam for the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League to be staged in July next year.

The CEC also received an update report on the decision review system (DRS) which was implemented in the Dunedin and Brisbane Tests and will also be used in South Africa.

Note: The first ICC Board meeting of 2010 will take place in February in Dubai.

The CEC meeting comprised the chief executives of the 10 Test-playing Members and three representatives from the ICC Associate and Affiliate Members. It was chaired by the ICC Chief Executive and also attended by the ICC President while the Chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee couldn’t attend due to personal reasons.

Haroon Lorgat                                                ICC Chief Executive (chairman)

David Morgan                                     ICC President

James Sutherland                                Australia

Nizam Uddin Chowdhury                  Bangladesh

David Collier                                      England

N Srinivasan                                        India

Dr Justin Vaughan                              New Zealand

Wasim Bari                                         Pakistan

Gerald Majola                                     South Africa

Nishantha Ranatunga                          Sri Lanka

Dr Ernest Hilaire                                 West Indies

Ozias Bvute                                        Zimbabwe

Associate and Affiliate Member representatives

John Cribbin (Hong Kong)

Warren Deutrom (Ireland)

Francois Erasmus (Namibia)