Selection Committee for Women’s Cricket Announced

The Hon. Minister of Sports & Public Recreation, under regulation No.17 made under the sports Law No. 25 of 1973 and published in Gazette Extra – Ordinary No.110/3 of 07/05/1974 and amended thereafter, has appointed the following as the members of selection committee for Sri Lanka Women’s Cricket up to 30/04/2010.

1. Mr. Gulam Razick    – Chairman

Ø  Captain Zahira college 1st eleven in 1963- 1964

Ø  Played first class cricket for Moors for 25 yrs.

Ø  Captain Moors in first class cricket

Ø  Won the inaugural single wicket cricket tournament in 1965.Beating P.I.Peiris of SSC in the finals

Ø  Represented Ceylon in the Gopalan Trophy from 1966,1967 and 1969 as an all-rounder.

Ø  Ceylon Test cap in 1969 against England.

2. Ms. Clara Thatil Rathnasingham    – Member

Ø  Represented Sri Lanka Women’s Cricket Team in 1978.

Ø  Played for NCC from 1977 to 1979.

Ø  Played for Colts from 1980 to 1991.

3. Ms. Nirupa Peiris      – Member

Ø  Represented Colombo Colts Cricket Club in 1990.

Ø  Captained Colombo Colts cricket club in 1999. Represented Colombo Colts team at all tournaments.

Ø  Played against the “Uttar Pradesh” Indian Ladies Cricket team in April 2000

Ø  Member of the 2000 Sri Lanka Ladies Cricket pool under Coach Guy De Alwis.

Ø  Appointed as Chairman of the Women’s Crickets development committee under the chairman ship of Hon. Arjuna Ranatunga 2009.

  1. Ms. Indika Kankanmalage   – Member

Ø   Member of the Sri Lankan Women’s Cricket team.

Ø  Participated in many international Matches.

Ø  Toured India, New Zealand, and West Indies.

India in 1999

New Zealand in 2000 (for World Cup)

West Indies in 2003

Ø  Represented Sri Lanka against the following country.

Pakistan (2003)

Australia (2004)

India (2004)

  1. Mr. A.R.M. Arooze   – Member

Ø  Captained Moors Sports Club in Division One Cricket1990/1991.

Ø  Captained Moors Sports Club under 25 in the Bristol Trophy

Tournament conducted by BCCSL.

Ø  Chairman Umpires Committee of the BCCSL from 1994 to 1999.

Ø  Secretary to the Umpires Committee from 2001 to 2008 May.

Ø  Qualified Level one Cricket Coach (Conducted by BCCSL).

Ø  Former Selection Committee Chairman of the Colombo District Cricket

Association and Present Vice President of the CDCA

Ø  Former Chairman Selection Committee for the Women’s Cricket,

Past 8 Years

Ø  Present Ground Secretary for the Past 22 years for the Moors Sports Club

Brian Thomas

Media Manager

Sri Lanka Cricket