Angelo Mathews Named as T20 Captain

At a Selection Committee meeting held, the following decisions were made by the National Selectors with regard to SL vs NZ Series and year ahead with regard to T20 Captain.The same has been approved by the minister.

* Anjelo Mathews to be the National Captain for T20 up to 31st October 2013 and Lasith Malinga as Vice Captain for the same period.

                     T20 TEAM for the SL vs Nz OnlyT20 

1.      Angelo Mathews (Captain)                       

2.      Nuwan Kulasekara (V.Capt NZ tour)            

3.      Dilshan Munaweera                                       

4.      T.M Dilshan                                                  

5.      Kumar Sangakkara                                      

6.      Dinesh Chandimal                                         

7.      Jeevan Mendis                                              

8.      Lahiru Thirimanne                                        

9.      Thisara Perera                                              

10.  Shaminda Eranga                                             

11.  Akila Dhananjaya                                         

12.  Sachithra Senanayake                                    

13.  Upul Tharanga                                                    

*Mahela and Malinga were rested for the T20 game.

*Ajantha Mendis was not considered due to injury for both tournaments.

  • Anil rajapaksha

    Mahela Jayawardana,T.M Dilshan,and Kumar sangakkara must retire from t20-20 team in my idia Banuka rajapakshe,kithruwan vithanage, and Ashan silva for include them

  • Madhawa

    I really don’t understand what in the world Upul Tharanga is doing in the T20 squad?! He is even considered as playing too slow even in ODIs! SL is going to be in trouble without Mahela as an opener in this T20, as he basically carried Sri Lanka’s batting in the WT20. Going forward in the future, I think SL’s opening combination should be Mahela & Munaweera, and Chandimal replacing Sanga as a keeper batsman.

  • nalin

    why isnt dilshan munaweera in the one day squad. he should be key player with his bowling and fielding.

  • Sahan

    My Congratulations for Mathews. I believe he will emerge as another successful captain for Sri Lanka. Because he is experienced, disciplined and having good leadership skills. Best of luck!
    It is good decision to give Mahela and Malinga a rest. I believe T.M Dilshan also should be given a rest. However it will be better if those three players were rested for the ODI series as well targeting the test series and the upcoming tough series in Australia.
    However batting order that I propose :-
    1) Dilshan Munaweera
    2) Upul Tharanga
    3) Lahiru Thirimanne
    4) Kumar Sangakkara
    5) Dinesh Chandimal
    6) Jeevan Mendis
    7) Angelo Mathews
    8) Thisara Perera
    9) Nuwan Kulasekara
    10)Sachithra Senanayake / Akila Dhananjaya
    11)Shaminda Eranga

    • AAA

      1) Dilshan Munaweera
      2) Dinesh Chandimal
      3) Kumar Sangakkara
      4) Upul Tharanga
      5) Jeevan Mendis
      6) Angelo Mathews
      7) Thisara Perera
      8) Lahiru Thirimanne
      9) Nuwan Kulasekara
      10)Sachithra Senanayake / Akila Dhananjaya
      11)Shaminda Eranga