Buoyed Sri Lanka squad take wing for three test matches vs. West Indies


A buoyed Sri Lanka test squad to the West Indies led by Dinesh Chandimal will take wing at 12 midnight today. Sri Lanka will play three test matches against the West Indies with the first test starting on June 6 at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad. The second test will commence on June 14 at the Darren Sammy National Cricket stadium, Gros Islet, St. Lucia, and the third test on June 23 at the Kensington Oval. The tour will begin with a 3-day practice match starting on May 30 at the Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad.

The squad comprises of a well-oiled composition of seven specialist batsmen, five specialist pace bowlers and four spinners. The Sri Lankans have reportedly trained hard on their homework and brimming in confidence. Skipper Dinesh Chandimal expressed confidence on the eve of departure stating that ‘we will play to our optimum for success on this tour.’

Dinesh Chandimal with Chief Selector Graeme Labrooy

Forty-year old veteran spinner Rangana Herath, with 89 test appearances, is the only surviving member to have toured the Caribbean before.

Specialist batsman Dhananjaya de Silva withdrew from the squad following the tragic death of his father Ranjan de Silva.

Sri Lanka last toured the West Indies in March and April 2008 to play two test matches and three limited overs Internationals. The 2-match test series was drawn 1-all. West Indies won the 3-match ODI series 2-0 with one match rained off. Sri Lanka was captained by Mahela Jayawardene and the West Indies by Chris Gayle.


Dinesh Chandimal – Captain, Mahela Udawatte, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Janith Perera, Roshen Silva

Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella (wicket-keeper), Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando.

Head coach– Chandika Hathurusinghe, Team Manager – Asanka Gurusinha.

By Srian Obeyesekere

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-