Country’s elite domestic championship to get underway

The Provincial Tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket, is the country’s elite domestic championship, with all 76 contracted players, taking part in three versions of the game. The quality of cricket will be as good as any competitive domestic tournament conducted by established test playing nations. The provincial tournament is a great opportunity for young hopefuls to not only play alongside national stars, but prove their capabilities to the national selectors.

Five provincial teams consisting of national players and the rest of the contracted players will play in the four day league , while a  sixth team consisting of tier “B” players and various players sourced by SLC will  form a Combined X1,who will  take part in the  two limited over versions, namely the T20 and the fifty over championship.

The 50 over championship will be conducted from 6th of February to the 21st. Six teams inclusive of 5 provincial’s sides and 1 combined team will compete. Matches will be played at eight venues. Welegedera stadium in Kurunegala, The Galle International stadium down south, Colts Cricket Club, Moratuwa Stadium, NCC, Moors, P’ Sara Stadium and the newly constructed Pallekele Stadium will host these games.

The T20 championship will get underway from 24th February to 7th March. This tournament will help the players to prepare for the ICC World cup T20, scheduled to get underway in the West Indies by end April. Sri Lanka Cricket will spread this championship to the outstation venues; thereby giving a great opportunity for cricket fans from rural area’s to watch our National players, and the future stars of Sri Lanka Cricket perform live in their provinces. Venues hosting the T20 version are Pallekele stadium and Dharmaraja grounds in the hill capital, Welegedera stadium in Kurunegala, Galle International Stadium down South and The Moratuwa stadium. Moratuwa with a big cricket fan base will host the finals.

The league championship starts from 18th March to 9th May, with a two week intermediate rest for players. Five teams will play in the league; the combined X1 captained by Hans Fernando will not play in the four day tournament. Three outstation venue’s namely Pallekelle, Welegedera, and Galle will play host for these matches while in the metropolis Colts, NCC, P’Sara and Moors will host same.

The six teams are evenly matches in terms of strength.

BASNAHIRA NORTH will be captained by THILINA KANDAMBY, with ANGELO MATHEWS as his deputy.

BASNAHIRA SOUTH will be captained by TM DILSHAN with CHAMARA SILVA as vice captain.

RUHUNA will be led by UPUL THARANGA with DINESH CHANDIMAL as vice captain.

WAYAMBA is captained by JEHAN MUBARAK with MAHELA UDAWATTE as vice captain.

KADURATA is led by national captain KUMAR SANGAKKARA, his deputy is also the national vice Captain MUTTIA MURALIDHARAN.

With all the top contracted players taking part in Sri Lanka Cricket’s foremost domestic tournament sponsors and franchise holders are given a great opportunity to be a part of this great tournament spanning over three and a half months of competitive cricket.

Any interested franchise holders or sponsors can contact head of marketing Mr. Charith Senanayake for further details and assistance

  • Pradeep

    This is great news for Sri Lankan cricket..!! Are we going to see all Sri Lankan elite cricketers playing for this? will this go live on TV? If not, please give us online updates..!

  • Milan

    Great Move….SLC…