Decisive matches rained off



Rain put a spoke to both the decisive Super Four Provincial Tournament matches between Colombo and Galle and Kandy and Dambulla which were abandoned on Thursday.

Galle having elected to take first lease after winning the toss were 155 for 2 wickets in 30 overs when rain set in at the R. Premadasa Stadium.


Opening batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksa set the run tempo for Galle scoring 59 off 56 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries and 3 sixes sharing in a 123-run alliance for the second wicket off 128 balls. Sadeera Samarawickrema was unbeaten on 72 off 94 containing 8 boundaries. Rajapaksa set the tempo going on the offensive by his penchant to go over the top intent on blunting the Colombo bowling attack. Samarawickrema, played a contrasting knock of flamboyance mainly stroking the ball along the ground as the right hander blossomed in confidence. He put on an unfinished 21 for the third wicket with former Ananda College star batsman Sammu Ashan unbeaten on 16 off 28 balls. The match was reduced to 47 overs after a late start due to overnight rain that had affected the outfield. The outpour took the gloss off the match that was set for an interesting contest.

Sadeera and Bhanuka_D3S9446x


Meanwhile, Dambulla, put into bat, totaled 257 for 7 wickets in 49 overs at a run rate of 5.24 an over with Ashan Priyanjan continuing his fine form in top scoring with 73 off 77 balls hitting 6 boundaries and 2 sixes at the P. Saravanamuththu Stadium. Sachithra Serasinghe chipped in with 41 off 66 with 5 boundaries as the duo posted 55 for the third wicket. After Serasinghe’s departure Priyanjan continued to attack accounting for 33 of the 42-run fourth wicket partnership with Milinda Siriwardena who made 9. Thilina Sampath with 42 off 52 with a boundary and 2 sixes and Lahiru Madushanka unbeaten on 34 beefed up the total.

The final will be a repeat of Galle versus Colombo on Sunday May 20 at the Premadasa Stadium with the two sides placed first and second on the points table respectively.

Ashan Priyanjan_DSC_2841

Chief Scores:

At the R. Premadasa Stadium – Colombo vs. Galle No result. 2 points each shared.

Galle 155/2 (30 Overs) Run Rate 5.16

(S. Samarawickrama n.o. 72, P.B.B. Rajapaksa 59, S. Ashan n.o. 16).

At the P. Saravanamuththu Stadium – Kandy vs. Dambulla No result. 2 points each shared

Dambulla 257/7 49 Overs Run Rate 5.24

(S.M.A. Priyanjan 73, T.N. Sampath 42, S.C. Serasinghe 42, L.D. Madushanka n.o. 34, K.I.C. Asalanka 2/32, B.M.A.J. Mendis 2/34).

Kandy 17 for no loss 1.1 Overs.

(M.D. Gunathilaka n.o. 13, P. Nissanka n.o.4).

By Srian Obeyesekere

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-

new nike air max 2019