Don Bradman inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame






Dubai, 19 November 2009

Grandson says: “He would have been very honoured… we are delighted
to receive the cap on his behalf”
Photographs of the presentation available from Getty Images

One of the best-known names in world sport, the late Don Bradman, was formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame at the Bradman Oration at the Melbourne Cricket Ground today (Thursday).

The Hall of Fame, run in association with the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA), recognises some of the truly great players from cricket’s long and illustrious history. And there are probably no more deserving inductees than Bradman, who dominated the sport like no other batsman before or since.

A commemorative cap was presented to Bradman’s grandson, Tom, by International Cricket Council (ICC) Director and Cricket Australia Chairman Jack Clarke while Greg Chappell, another ICC Cricket Hall of Famer who delivered the keynote speech of the evening, looked on.

“He would have been very honoured to be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame,” said Tom Bradman.

“The induction recognises and contributes to a legacy of which we, the Bradman family, are extremely proud and we are delighted to receive the cap on his behalf.”

Bradman’s statistics alone are enough to explain why he is perhaps the greatest batsman of all time as he becomes the latest inductee into the Hall of Fame in this centenary year of the ICC.

He played 52 Test matches for Australia scoring 6,996 runs at an amazing average of 99.94. He scored 29 centuries and 13 half-centuries, thus averaging one significant score for every 1.9 innings played.

In first-class cricket he made 28,067 runs, hitting 117 centuries with an average of 95.14.

Alongside fellow Hall of Fame member WG Grace, Bradman is one of the most recognised names in cricketing history, a name synonymous with Australian cricket and stellar batting. He became a beloved Australian hero and a cultural icon, managing to transcend sport into the consciousness of the entire nation.

Born in 1908 in Cootamundra, New South Wales, he made his Test debut on 30 November 1928 in Brisbane against England, as side he faced 37 times during his Test-playing career.

Bradman still holds the record for the best batting average for an Australian against England scoring 5,028 runs at an average of 89.78.

Known affectionately as the Don, he passed away in 2001, with many of his Test batting records still unsurpassed in the 53 previous years since his retirement.

One of his most well-known Ashes battles took place at Headingley against England in the third Test match where he made a remarkable total of 334 off 448 balls, an innings that included 46 fours.

Bradman played during the same era as a number of the other ICC Cricket Hall of Famers including Australia’s Ray Lindwall, Bill O’Reilly, Keith Miller, Clarrie Grimmett, Neil Harvey and England’s Wally Hammond, Jack Hobbs, Harold Larwood, Denis Compton and Len Hutton.

He captained Australia in 24 matches between 1936 and 1948, winning 15 of those games of which 11 were won against England in the Ashes series played during that time frame.

The cap presentation ceremony is a key part of the celebrations to mark the ICC’s centenary year as it acknowledges the greats of the game and the contributions they have made to ensure cricket is a great sport with a great spirit.

*ICC Cricket Hall of Fame – initial inductees (55):

Sydney Barnes, Bishan Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, George Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O’Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame – new inductees for 2009

Wasim Akram, Clarrie Grimmett, Herbert Sutcliffe, Victor Trumper and Steve Waugh.

For more information on the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame please visit
About the ICC centenary year

ICC President David Morgan and Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat officially launched the ICC centenary year in Sydney, Australia on 2 January by announcing the formation of the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame, in association with FICA.

The ICC’s centenary year of 2009 is a global celebration with events taking place around the world to reflect all that is great about the game.

On the field these events include the ICC Women’s World Cup (won by England), the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier (won by Ireland), the ICC World Twenty20 event for men and women (won by Pakistan and England respectively) and the ICC Champions Trophy (won by Australia).

And off the field there will be the opening of the ICC Global Cricket Academy and the inauguration of the ICC’s new headquarters, both of which are in Dubai.

The ICC will also be celebrating the contribution of volunteers across the world through the award of 1,000 centenary medals and will announce new developments to its social responsibility partnership on HIV/AIDS.

During the course of 2009, each of the ICC’s 104 Members has been hosting activities inspired by the special spirit of cricket as part of the global Catch the Spirit centenary celebration.

To promote this theme and the launch of the ICC’s centenary year website,, stars of the international game have named their “Catch the Spirit” moments which best encapsulate the spirit of cricket.

Among those stars that can be seen on the website, Yuvraj Singh of India speaks of his experiences in Pakistan – India matches and South Africa’s Jacques Kallis reflects on his side’s famous chase of 438 to beat Australia in an ODI in Johannesburg.


For more information in ICC centenary year and Catch the Spirit, go to:

To read the Catch the Spirit blog, go to:

James Fitzgerald
ICC – Communications Officer
Tel: +971 4 382 8872
Mob: +971 50 640 1223

PO Box 500 070
Dubai, UAE
Tel: +971 4 382 8800
Fax: +971 4 382 8600