Governors Trophy concept to elevate lesser known teams


The novel Governors Trophy mooted by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) replacing the Sara Trophy Tournament, is viewed as a window to promoting up and coming talent to the domestic mainstream. It would basically pave the way for more teams to compete. The Governors Trophy allows 24 teams to compete in a departure from the hitherto 14 teams that competed in the Sara trophy.

 A brain child of SLC President, Thilanga Sumathipala, the Governors Trophy concept would pave the way for lesser known teams to be elevated to the Premier League Tier B and from there to club cricket. This would be by virtue of the winning team from the Premier League Tier B being elevated to club status.

Altogether 24 teams comprising 250 players competed in this tournament that commenced on January 14. It generated tremendous enthusiasm during a three month long period. Four teams – Nugegoda S&WCC, Customs, Ambepussa CC and Moratuwa SC reached the final round. Played on a points basis, the last eight teams to emerge were Customs, Old Dharmapalians, Kandy YCC, Moratuwa SC,  Nugegoda S&WCC, , Ambepussa Singha, Leo CC and Ambalangoda Singha with matches of one day’s duration. The eight teams were thereafter pitted on a T20 format from April 1 to 19 from which four teams Nugegoda, Customs, Ambepussa and Moratuwa SC made it to the final round played over two days.

The winners from the last four will be decided on a league point’s basis. Matches will be over two day’s duration. The winning team will receive the champions trophy and prize money amounting to Rs.300, 000/=, and the runners-up a trophy and prize money of Rs.150, 000/=.

By Srian Obeyesekere

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-