Inquiry against Mr. A.R.M. Aroos


Further to the earlier Press Release on 11th of July 2013, the following Eminent legal personalities met at SLC on Saturday 13th July 2013 and the commenced the work on the inquiry into the allegations leveled against Mr. A.R.M Aroos.

Mr. R.J. De Silva, Mr. Kalinga Indatissa PC, Mr. Kapila Liyanagamage, Mr. Chinthaka Rankothge  is the prosecuting Officer.

The statement from the complainant Ms. Shahikala Siriwardane was recorded by the committee. She will be called upon again to give evidence after her tour to Ireland for the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifiers which begins on the 20th of July 2013 and goes on until the 2nd of August 2013.

The above disciplinary committee will forward their findings to the executive Committee before the end of August for the final decision.



Further to the Press Release on ‘Executive Committee Decisions’, please note that  the following Eminent legal personalities have been appointed to inquire into the allegations leveled against Mr. A.R.M Aroos.

Mr. R.J. De Silva – Chairman

Mr. Kalinga Indatissa PC

Mr. Kapila Liyanagamage

Mr. Chinthaka Rankothge  will be the Prosecuting Officer.

The above committee will meet as soon as possible for the said formal inquiry.


Earlier Press Release:

Alleged Complain against Mr. A.R.M. AroosBased on a complain made by the Women’s Cricket Captain to the CEO of SLC,  a preliminary inquiry was held by Mr. Hemachandra Dias former Senior Superintendent of Police. in the said report it was recommended to hold a formal disciplinary Inquiry against Mr. was decided by the Exco to appoint a panel to inquire into the incident and forward their report to the disciplinary Committee at their earliest.

When the matter was taken up at the exco, Mr. Aroos tabled his resignation from all positions held with regard to Women’s Cricket. Further he stepped aside temporally from his position of Chairman – Umpires Committee until the allegation against him are cleared and the final decision is taken by the Exco. The Exco appointed Mr. Channa Weerakkody to be the Manager of the Womens team for the forth coming tour of Ireland. Further Exco appointed Mr. Srinath Silva (Executive Committee Member) as the Acting Chairman of the Umpires Committee until further notice.