“Lets celebrate the passion that transcends all boundaries” – Thisara Perera

Sri Lanka T20 captain Thisara Perera extended a formal invitation to the India national team last afternoon for the Tri-nation T20 Series “Nidahas Trophy 2018”
The Nidahas Trophy 2018 – played in celebration of Sri Lanka’s 70th year of independence, coincidentally, Sri Lanka Cricket’s 70th year as well – was announced in March this year at a joint press conference of the heads of the participating countries, India, Bangladesh and host Sri Lanka.
The fixture, will see the 3 countries play seven (7) T20s in Colombo at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium from the 8th to 20th of March 2018.

Nidahas Trophy 2018
Extending the invitation, the Sri Lanka captain said “our neighbours, friends and brothers India [and Bangladesh] share in the significance of this occasion as Asian Nations who won hard fought Indipendance. The Nidahas Trophy celebrates the passion that brings us all together through every diversity, and I am privileged to extend this invitation to the Indian team on behalf of Sri Lanka”
Formally accepting the invitation on behalf of the Indian team, ODI Captain Rohit Sharma said he was happy to accept and was looking forward to playing in Sri Lanka.
Speaking at the event that announced the Tournament earlier this year BCCI CEO, Rahul Johri said “We are privileged to be a part of Sri Lanka’s 70th year celebrations, there is no closer friend to the BCCI than Sri Lanka [and Bangladesh] and when Mr. Sumathipala first floated this invitation, there was almost instant agreement that the Indian Team would participate for this reason”
SLC President, Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala, [who incidentally was the instigator of both this 2018 edition as well as the Nidahas Trophy 1998 – played in celebration of Sri Lanka’s and Sri Lanka Cricket’s 50th year] stated
“70 years is a long journey, and one that needs to be commemorated and celebrated. We are happy that our closest neighbours, who share more or less the same journey of independence are joining us in this celebration, which we believe will be a milestone and an augur of the great things to come in the annals of cricket.”
The matches will be worked off from the 8th of March to the 20th of March, with each team meeting each other twice, culminating in the final to be played on the 20th.
All games are to be played in Colombo, at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.