Major League Tier A Tournament : NCC and SSC outright wins, Chilaw Marians – BRC tie

The second week’s league matches of the 2017-18 Major League Tier A Tournament saw NCC register a 10-wickt win over Tamil Union in a Group B match while SSC beat Saracens by 7 wickets. The match between Chilaw Marians and BRC was tied in a high scoring affair at the FTZ grounds Katunayake while the three drawn matches were between           Ragama CC and Colts CC, Moors versus CCC and Ports Authority versus Army.


Two noteworthy features was the appearance of ace Sri Lanka fast bowler Dhammika Prasad back on the blocks from long injury lay off claiming 4 wickets for SSC and of course, a pleasing 177 runs by Kusal Mendis for CCC versus  Moors versus CCC in a Group A match.It was his second successive ton in two weeks.

NCC maximized ideal home conditions hosting Tamil Union who were put in to bat and bundled out for 117 with Sri Lanka fast bowler Lasith Malinga leading the way with 2 wickets for 24 supported by two wicket apiece by S. Kumara, C. Karunaratne, L. Ambuldeniya and T. Kaushal. Only No. 7 batsman D.M. Sarathchandra made a noteworthy score of 33 off 58 balls inclusive of 4 boundaries and a six.

Tamil Union did well to restrict the strong NCC to 234 spearheaded by P.M. Liyanagamage’s impressive 5 for 69.. Opening batsman L.U. Igalagamage top scored with 45 from 78 containing 4 boundaries and a six. He shared in a 57-run alliance for the first wicket with Sandun Weerakkody who made 34  off 37 hitting 4 boundaries and a six. Mahela Udawatte bolstered the innings with 38 containing 5 boundaries.

Tamil Union fared better in the second innings totaling 221 anchored by a fine 71 by opener D.T. Hewanthantri off 135 balls and containing 7 hits to the ropes, and B.M.A.J. Mendis 67 off 103 containing 6 boundaries and 4 sixes.. Kaushal claimed 4 for 86 for a match haul of 6 wickets as NCC knocked off the105-run target in style with Sandun Weerakkody unbeaten on 52 off 32 with 5 boundaries and 2 sixes and L.U. Igalagamage 51 off 33 with 7 boundaries and a six.

Chief scores:

NCC beat Tamil Union by 10 wkts.

Tamil Union 1st innings117 (38.3 overs). (D.M.Sarathchandra 33, S.L. Malinga 2/24, C.B.R.L.S. Kumara 2/21, C. Karunaratne 2/19, L. Imbuldeniya 2/25, P.H.T. Kaushal 2/19)  and 221 67.1 overs) (D.T. Hewanthantri  71, K.P.S.P. Karunanayake 25. D.M. Sarathchandra n.o. 15, P.H.T. Kaushal 4/86).

NCC 1st innings 234 all out (75 overs). L. U. Igalagamage 45, M. Udawatte 38,  D.S. Weerakkody 34, A. Amarasinghe 29, C.B.R.L.S. Kumara 27, P.H.T. Kausal 24, C. Karunaratne 20,P.M. Liyanagamage 5/69) and 105/0 (D.S. Weerakkody n.o.  52, L.U. Igalagamage n.o.51).

NCC won by 10 wkts.

SSC’s 7-wicket Group B  triumph against Saracens was built around a massive first innings total of 444 for 4 wickets declared on superb centuries by Sammu Ashan, the former Ananda College find who struck 107 off 166 balls studded with 11 boundaries and 2 sixes and Milinda Siriwardena an unbeaten 137 off 178 with 8 boundaries and 7 sixes. Sri Lanka opener Dimuth Karunaratne made 83 off 107 with 12 boundaries. Saracens could muster only 238 with N.H.G. Cooray top scoring with a plucky unbeaten 90 off 146 with 11 boundaries and a six. Sri Lanka ace paceman Dhammika Prasad, back from a long sidelined injury, was in the action with 4 for 66. Following on Saracens was dismissed for 258 with P. Maduwantha made 63 off 113 hitting 6 boundaries.  M. Jaleel made 58 off 79 containing 10 hits to the ropes and G.K. Amarasinghe 42 off 68 with 7 boundaries.  Sri Lanka off spinner Jeffrey Vandersay claimed 4 for 72. SSC coasted home on 55 for 3 with Sammu Ashan capping it with an unbeaten 31 off 19 balls clobbering 3 sixes.

Chief scores:

SSC 1st innings 444/4 decl. (94 overs).( Sammu Ashan 107, Milinda Siriwardena n.o. 137, Dimuth Karunaratne 83, J.K. Silva 42, K. Kulasekera n.o. 39) and 55/3 (6.4 overs). (S. Ashan n.o. 31).

Saracens 238 all out (61 overs). (N.H.G. Cooray 90, S.S.M. Perera 33  A.D. Solomons 27, M. Jaleel 25, Dhammika Prasad 4/66) and 258 all out (71.3 overs). (P. Maduwantha 63, M. Jaleel 58, G.K. Amarasinghe 42, Rizwan Haider 33, J. Vandersay 4/72, N.V.R. Perera 2/24, T.A.M. Siriwardena 2/48).

SSC won by 7 wkts.

It was excite ng fare in the BRC versus Chilaw Marians Group B match at the FTZ grounds Katunayake ending in a tie. Batting first Chilaw Marians made 293 and 117. BRC replied with 316 and 94 with significantly both sides flopping in the second innings. Individual honours were shared by Chilaw Marians off spinner Malinda Pushpakumara and S.C. Serasinghe with match bags of 10 for 153 and 8 for 107 with Serasinghe topping it with a superb all-round performance on the back of two half centuries; the other being BRC’s Buddika’s century.

Chief scores:

Chilaw Marians 1st innings 293 all out. (87.2 overs).

 (S.C. Serasinghe 63, I. Udana 50, S. Randiv 6/90). and 117 all out (43.4 overs). (S.C. Serasinghe 53, D.H.A.P. Tharanga 28, H.H. Ramanayake 5/34, E.M.C.D.. Edirisinghe 3/17.

BRC 316 all out (81.1 overs).

(M.L.R. Buddika 123, T.N. Sampath 96, P.M. Pushpakumara 5/102, S.C. Serasinghe 4/76). and 94 all out (H.E. Vithana n.o. 35, M.L.R. Buddika 23, Pushpakumara 5/51, Serasinghe 4/31)

Match tied.

Moors versus CCC. Match drawn.

Moors 1st innings 444/6 decl. (118.4 overs)

(K.P.A. Perera 121, S.D. Wotharanawasam 62, T.A. Sandakan 2/100). And 26/1.

CCC 388 all out(101.4 overs).

(B.K.G.. Mendis 177, W.M.K. Bandara 60, K.T. Ratnayake 5/118, S.A. Fernando 3/98).

Match drawn.

Ragama CC vs. Colts CC Match drawn.

Ragama CC 1st innings 401/9 decl. (106.1 overs).

(R.S.S.S. de Zoysa 86, H.A. Jayasuriya 62, S. Fernando 55, A.R.S. Silva 36, B.K.E.L. Milantha 33, N.T. Gamage 5/110, K. Anjula 2/82).

Colts 190 all out. (60.3 overs). ( W.I.A. Fernando 30, P.A.R.P. Perera 24, A.J.A.D.D.L.A. Jayasinghe 24, K. Anjula 24, P.V.R. de Silva 23, M.M.M.S. Cooray 22, M.A. Aponso 4/47, H.I.A. Jayaratne 2/28, K.P.C.M. Peiris 2/25). And 73/2 (14 overs)

(P.A.R.P. Perera n.o. 37, A.J.A.D.D.L.A. Jayasinghe n.o. 19).

Ports Authority versus Army Match Drawn.

Army 1st innings 224 all out (98 overs).

(L.K. Franscisco 57, A.K.N. de Silva 40, Adeel Malik 2/30, N.C. Komasaru 3/28). And 143/5 (43 overs) (A.K.N. de Silva n.o. 46, K.D.V. Vimukthi 27)

Ports Authority 272 (35.3 overs).

(K.Y. de Silva 76, P.C. Wickramasinghe 61, N.K. Liyanapathirana 3/72, S. Ridma 2/13)

By Srian Obeyesekere