Media accreditation closes for the ICC Women’s World Cup India 2013 on 2 January


ICC to only entertain applications which have been approved by editors or employers

Media are reminded that the media accreditation process for the ICC Women’s World Cup India 2013 will close on 2 January 2013. Members of the media are invited to send the below information to

  • Name
  • Job Title (please clarify if you are a print journalist, Non-Rights Holder (NRH) Reporter, NRH Radio Reporter, NRH Cameraperson or photographer)
  • Organisation (please clarify if it is a newspaper, magazine, radio, television or a website)
  • Country
  • Matches intended to cover
  • A passport-style photograph in jpeg form
  • A letter from your editor confirming that you will be covering the event for your respected organisation

By sending the information requested above, it will be understood that the applicant has agreed and accepted the ICC Women’s World Cup India 2013 Accreditation Terms and Conditions for Media which are availablehere.

Please note that Non-Rights Holder Camerapersons will not have access to the televised venues during the tournament, namely Cricket Club of India (CCI) and Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Broadcast rights-holders: All television rights-holders/official television broadcasters for the ICC Women’s World Cup India 2013 should contact Sunil Manoharan at and all other rights-holders (radio and news access) should contact Lara Richards, ICC Media Rights and Broadcast Officer,, for details on the accreditation process.

The match schedule can be accessed here.

In due course, journalists will be informed about the status of their application. The closing date for applications is Wednesday 2 January 2013.

The pre-event media activities will take place on 27 January. Further details will be announced in due course.


About the ICC Women’s World Cup

The Women’s World Cup has been running for longer than the men’s version and was first staged in England in 1973, when it was won by the hosts, which beat Australia by 118 runs in the final at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Since then there have been a further eight tournaments with Australia winning five of them (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005), England winning twice (1993 and 2009) and New Zealand (2000) triumphing once.

The tournament has been staged twice each in England (1973 and 1993), India (1978 and 1997) , New Zealand (1982 and 2000) and Australia (1988 and 2009) as well as South Africa (2005).

The tournament has grown in stature after International Women’s Cricket Council merged with International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2005. It was staged under the aegis of the ICC for the first time in 2009.