Nidahas Trophy 2018 fixtures announced

Sri Lanka Cricket today announced the fixtures of the Tri-nation T20 Series “Nidahas Trophy 2018”.

The Nidahas Trophy 2018 – played in celebration of Sri Lanka’s 70th year of independence, coincidentally, Sri Lanka Cricket’s 70th year as well – was announced in March this year at a joint press conference that gathered the heads of the participating countries, India, Bangladesh and host Sri Lanka.

Details of the fixtures have now been confirmed. The 3 countries will play 7 T20s in Colombo at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium from the 8th to 20th of March 2018.

Speaking at the launch, Bangladesh Cricket Board President, Nazmul Hassan Papon, stated that “the support and contribution of Sri Lanka [and India] in Bangladesh’s cricketing journey could not be overemphasized, and that this invitation was a clear testament to what a good friend Sri Lanka has been to Bangladesh’s Cricket.” He added, “This Tournament too, would no doubt continue to strengthen the bonds between the 3 nations”

BCCI CEO, Rahul Johri said, “We are privileged to be a part of Sri Lanka’s 70th year celebrations, there is no closer friend to the BCCI than Sri Lanka [and Bangladesh] and when Mr. Sumathipala first floated this invitation, there was almost instant agreement that the Indian Team would participate for this reason.”

SLC President, Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala, [the visionary behind this 2018 edition as well as the Nidahas Trophy 1998 – played in celebration of Sri Lanka’s and Sri Lanka Cricket’s 50th year stated:

“70 years is a long journey, and one that needs to be commemorated and celebrated. We are happy that our closest neighbours, who share more or less the same journey of independence are joining us in this celebration, which we believe will be a milestone and an augur of the great things to come in the annals of cricket.”

The Nidahas Trophy matches will be all night matches starting at 7pm and played from the 8th of March to the 20th of March, with each team meeting each other twice, culminating in the final to be played on the 20th. All games will be played in Colombo, at the R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, as T20I matches.

cheap nike free run 5.0