North Western Province and Western Province North win opening matches



The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) sponsored Under-19 Provincial Tournament 2018 sees latent talent at the grassroots level from eight provinces in the fray from June 12. In all, there are ten teams including three from the Western Province.

The teams are Western Province North, Western Province South and Western Province Central, North Western Province, North Central Province, Northern Province, Eastern Province, Uva Province, Southern Province and Central Province. The two teams with the most number of points from each group will make it to the finals on June 23.

Central Province vs North Western Province - Under 19 Provincial Tournament 2018

Meanwhile, in Tuesday’s tournament opener North Western Province crushed Central Province by 7 wickets at Marians Cricket Grounds, Katunayake. Having bowled out Central Province for 150 in 42.5 overs, North Western Province sped to 151 for 3 off 35.1 overs.

In the other match, Western Province North recovered from 75 for 6 wickets to upstage Northern Province by one wicket at Thurstan College grounds. Western Province North made 123 for 9 in 34.9 overs in reply to Northern Province’s 122 in 47.3 overs.

By Srian Obeyesekere

-The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of Sri Lanka Cricket-