Dialog Powers Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup Bid

Asia Cup T20 2016 Team Sponsorship Announcement View Full

Sri Lanka’s premier telecommunications service provider, Dialog Axiata PLC, will sponsor the Sri Lankan cricket team at the Asia Cup 2016, commencing in Dhaka, Bangladesh next week.

Defending Champions, Sri Lanka, will take on the winner of the tournament qualifying rounds in the opening game on 25th February, before they meet hosts Bangladesh on Sunday 28th, and India and Pakistan on 1st and 4th March respectively before the knockout stage.

Hon. Thilanga Sumathipala (MP), President of Sri Lanka Cricket said: “’In Sri Lanka, cricket has always been more than just simply a sport – it unites this island, and it embodies the spirit of sportsmanship. Our team, with its fans around the world has never failed to give everything they’ve got toward the game, and we have no doubt that the upcoming Asian Cup will not be an exception. I want to extend my heartfelt gratitude to Dialog Axiata for extending their backing beyond the sponsorship agreement to support our cricket team’s campaign to defend the Asia Cup title in Bangladesh.”

Group Chief Executive of Dialog Axiata PLC, Dr. Hans Wijayasuriya, said: “We are privileged to once again partner with Sri Lanka Cricket as we prime to defend our position as Champions in the region. As a long-standing partner of the sport in Sri Lanka, we are singularly proud of the exemplary performance of our national team on and off the field. We wish the team success during their campaign to bring back the Asia Cup”

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan in a hard fought final at the Asia Cup 2014 to become Asian Champions for the fifth time at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka, Bangladesh. The Sri Lankan contingent for the Asia Cup 2016 will be led by Lasith Malinga who will be setting his eyes on ‘Bringing the Cup back’.

The inaugural Asia Cup was played in 1984 at the Sharjah CA Stadium, UAE with Indian taking top honours beating Sri Lanka in the finals. In 1986 Sri Lanka won their first Asia Cup beating Pakistan at the SSC Grounds, Colombo. Sri Lanka won again in 1997, 2004, 2008 and 2014.